We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cuna del Angel(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Alturas(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Rio Mar(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$115
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Diuwak(Dominical)
$74
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roca Verde(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rio Lindo Resort(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfall Villas(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Albergue Alma de Hatillo(Dominical)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
106
13
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
13
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageswe enjoyed walkingroca verdefelt like homeexcellent hostsdominical areathe pacific oceanfront porchair conditioningminute drivea great place to staydianedogsiguanashammockshousepool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 121 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This place is the prettiest beach I have ever seen in any tropical place. I have been coming here (once or twice/year) for 15 years now and have stayed here at Coconut Grove for the last 12 years. The owners Richard and Diane are like family because they are so kind and accommodating. The property is a slice of paradise. The landscape is where the rain forest mountains pour into the ocean and the property is always in immaculate condition. We like the beach houses as they have all the amenities: full kitchens,AC,TV and internet. Just 1/2 south of the property is a great beach (Dominicalito) for surfing or just hanging out. There are plenty of great tours to go on in this region of CR and the owners are more than happy to help you out with setting them. Richard and Diane are a great source of info for anything one might need. The rancho is also very nice and clean with a pool, BBQ grill, hammocks, and tables for a perfect place to just hang out with friends and relax. The place is simply paradise in one of the prettiest countries in the world. Cheers!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDieg0Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place is awesome! Very clean place. Reasonable rates. Wonderful hosts, very friendly, will book any excursions for you. Would LOVE to go back! BEAUTIFUL!!!! Right on the beach. NIce pool with hammocks everywhere for an afternoon nap. Miss this place already!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARS1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I really don't know where to start.... We just loved this place! My family - husband, myself and 9 year old son - stayed at Coconut Grove for a week. We just returned home yesterday, and were longingly looking at photos today. This gorgeous complex of small cottages and houses is off the coastal highway just south of Dominical, and as soon as you pull into the drive, you know you've arrived someplace special. We stayed in the larger of the two houses, which is also the closest to the beach. Only a short path and a few coconut palms stand between you and beautiful, nearly deserted Playa Dominicalito. The house itself is simply but attractively furnished, and great attention has been paid to detail and cleanliness. The owners, Richard and Diane, treat you as welcome friends, and were happy to help arrange tours, loan a boogie board, or just stop for a chat. They have several rescued dogs who are not at all a nuisance - very friendly, and with the exception of one very sweet girl who came to visit us most days, all were usually with Richard or Diane. The pool was clean and inviting, especially since the surf here wasn't great for swimming. The property was landscaped with beautiful tropical plants, lovingly tended by the resident gardener, and loaded with iguanas and birds. The house had air conditioning, which we used at night to help us sleep, but we turned it off at dawn so we could hear the chorus of surf and birds. My husband summed it up when we first got there, and he took a look around and said, "I hoped it would be like this".

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoGal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our daughter for a few nights on our way to the Osa. We rented the house closest to the beach. First off, the owner (Richard) was fantastic. He dropped by on occasion to check on us, was a wealth of knowledge, and even played in the band up the road (with a personal invite to come listen). The house was simple, yet provided all the necessary amenities and comforts we expected. We LOVED sitting on the back porch of the house and watching the birds come and go to the feeder, as well as the giant iguanas that would frequent the nearby trees. This place is amazing and highly recommended!

Room Tip: The large beach house....affordable and beautiful!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We booked a cottage based on the good reviews on tripadvisor, but when we pulled into the driveway we were still awe-struck. This place is a bargain! The property is well maintained. There is a line of trees between the houses and the beach, but you can see the beach. There is an air conditioner, but we kept the windows and doors open. From our back porch (facing the beach) we could see tons of birds and iguanas.

We had four adults so we stayed in the large house, which is the closest one to the beach but not by much. It was clean and well stocked. The owners were very helpful with any questions and gave suggestions on local restaurants (and where to avoid). There are quite a few dogs on the property, but they are all friendly.

The beach right in front of the houses is rocky and difficult to swim in, but it's beautiful and perfect for walking along the beach or tide-pooling at low tide. There is a good area for swimming just a short walk down the beach. Unfortunately you cannot walk into Dominical via the beach because the beach ends in a jagged cliff.

The town of Dominical is basically one dirt road. It's a very relaxed surf town. The perfect place to enjoy a meal and a great view of the beach! Hopefully I will have the chance to return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews