We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Home Away From Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“My Home Away From Home”
Reviewed May 3, 2008

Richard and Diane (and all the pups!),

I am just now getting around to posting a review. I just wanted to write and say how much we loved Coconut Grove and I am currently planning a trip next year with some girlfriends!
I wouldn't stay anywhere else. You were wonderful hosts and I can't wait to come back next year!
It's been 2 months and I am constantly talking about my trip still! Even though we only stayed for a few nights, we will always consider Coconut Grove to be our home away from home.

Thanks again!
Katrina

  • Liked — The hospitality, location...everything!
  • Disliked — nothing, i loved everything about coconut grove!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klg1824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
65
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agoura, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. It is about 2 kms from the township of Dominical and a beautiful, quiet location right on the beach. Everyone has there own cabina with fans and bathrooms. There is a swimming pool/ BBQ/ Bar area and a great place to watch the sunset on the beach. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the on-site grounds-keeper is especially nice. A pet chicken will entertain you and there are gazillions of reptiles (Iguana type animals) all over the grounds.
You will not be sorry you stayed here. Very clean, safe, friendly, and enjoyable.

  • Liked — Close to the beach, safe, your own cabina, friendly owners
  • Disliked — It wasn't on the Caribbean coast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Shasta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2008

The owners of Coconut Grove, Richard and Diane, were very welcoming and accommodating. They made us feel right at home and we really enjoyed our private little cottage set right off the beach surrounded by lush tropical vegetation. The grounds keeper, Ricardo, kept the area well groomed and added a bit of local color to our stay at Coconut Grove. He is the local shaman, apparently and has a very big heart! The pool was immaculately maintained each morning by Richard and it was a highlight of our stay there. We took advantage of the pool morning, noon and night. A plus as the weather in March is rather hot and humid. There is a lovely tropical, rustic thatch roofed hut poolside where there are two large hammocks great for reading or snoozing.
We would definitely return to Coconut Grove if ever in the area again.

  • Liked — the proximity to the pool and ocean
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeeMtShasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2008

My girlfriend and I just got back from Costa Rica and we had an amazing time. We visited four different locations throughout our trip--Monte Verde (great time), Manuel Antonio (so so), Dominical (the best) and Orosi Valley/Turrialba (wouldn't go back)--Dominical was our favorite place. We stayed at Coconut Grove in Dominical and it was amazing. If you're into a nice, clean, quiet space to stay then Coconut Grove is your place. There are 3 smaller cabins and two bigger houses--we stayed in the smaller of the two houses and really enjoyed it. There is enough space to relax indoors if you would like. There's a small covered (open air w/ a roof) porch with a table and hammock for relaxing and also has air conditioning if it gets too hot at night. You basically have about 1/2 to 1 mile of beautiful private beach that you can walk to right from any of the cabins or houses. There is a nice trail/walkway that leads you there (MAYBE a 2 minute walk). There's a pool and accompanying lounging area that you can use. Really clean and private. You can see the beach from the pool.

The owners, Richard and Diane, are fantastic people. They live on the same property opposite the cabins/houses with their 5 dogs, all of which are extremely friendly. They couldn't have been more accomodating.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Luv2xcelr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.8 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.1 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
2.2 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages

Property: Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages
Address: Dominical Beach, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages is located on one of Costa Rica's most picturesque and private beaches on the Southern Pacific Coast. Find us on Facebook, search for Costa Rica Coconut Grove for more information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Dominical
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing