We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location. Beautiful beach.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location. Beautiful beach.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

Location is perfect. Just a short distance from Dominical. The owners, Richard and Diane were so kind. Made you feel like family. The little cottage we stayed in was quaint. Loved relaxing in the hammock!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Almka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
64
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

Coconut Grove was everything that I exspected. The location is great a central location
for exploring the Southern Zone of Costa Rica. The size of the complex is small and that was a good thing, never a crowd of people to deal with at the pool. All the units where booked while we where their and did not feel crowded at all. The ground are very clean
and beautiful. One of the owners dogs adopted us and visited us daily by the way theirs a dog for every room on the site. The owners Richard and Diane are the greatest ! very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. I can say that I have ture freinds in Costa Rica now. Can't wait to get back down there and will soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martydonna60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

We found the Coconut Grove by talking to the locals...a real hidden gem!!!
They have cottages and houses, and just a stroll away, through their beatiful garden, is the most beatuiful beach in Costa Rica.
From our cottage porch, we watched the birds and wildlife go by, like staying in a park.
It was perfect for our stay, I only wish we had more vaction time, to stay longer.

David/AK

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MololoAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faribault, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We have been vacationing at Coconut Grove for the past 10 years. It is truly a slice of paradise - one of the nicest places you will find in the Dominical area. You're only yards from the beach with a very well kept pool also available. I love my morning walks on the beach. There's a ranchero and grill next to the pool where a meal can be prepared/served or you can just hang in the hammocks out of the sun for an afternoon siesta. The cabins/beach houses are very comfortable and stocked well to meet your needs while on vacation. There's plenty of activities to be found in the area - canopy rides, horseback riding, jungle treks, to name a few. We do a lot of deep sea fishing - some out of Dominical and some out of Sierpe south from there. We've had some extraordinary years and some not so good. But you cannot beat the experience, regardless. Richard and Diane Abraham go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. We no more than get home and I'm planning our next year's trip!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy_and_Mike_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

This was our sixth annual visit to Diane and Richard's paradise site in Dominical. Astonishing sunsets. Miles of lonely beach walking. Our cabin sits at the foot of the rainforest where the sand begins. We fall asleep to the sound of waves on the shore.
Local restaurants and music offer up great flavours and happiness. We have already booked again for next year. Get there soon! Costa Rica is changing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Zorba222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

This was our second trip to Coconut Grove and will not be our last. The owners Richard and Diane treat you as family and it feels like you are right at home. It is a very laid back place that is perfect for relaxing and walking the beach. But a short drive in either direction on coastal highway takes you to the small surf town of Dominical, Manuel Antonio National Park, ATV tours, zip line tour, SCUBA diving or some great waterfalls. There is a small market right up the street and a larger market in Uvita a few kilometers down the road.
The accommodations at Coconut Grove are simple but very comfortable. We recommend the large house. It has a full kitchen, sleeps six. It has a great patio on the back with a hammock, rocking chairs and table if you want to eat outside. You can sit on the patio and watch Toucans, Iguanas, hawks and all kind of other birds. There is a bird feeder right off the patio that draws all sorts of wildlife if stocked with a few bananas. Best of all the beach is only short walk from the patio. It is a great place start the day with a cup of coffee and a stroll. There are very few people on the beach and seems as if it is all your own. At high tide the body surfing is great! At low tide the beach is wide, sandy and a wonderful place to walk. The pool overlooks the beach and has a nice rancho with 2 hammocks, bar and gas grill. We cooked some local lobster and it was terrific.
If you are looking for a secluded, comfortable spot that has lots of stuff to do right around the corner, this is the spot.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_Chris_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

I'm really late in writing this review as my friend and I spent 7 days at Coconut Grove back in March/April 2010 but I had to eventually take the time to write a review because Coconut Grove truly is a fantastic place to stay. Dominical was our first stop on a 3 week long vacation and Coconut Grove was a great way to kick off our holiday as we were both in need of relaxation. Our cute little cabin was fully equipped with everything you could possibly need, bbq was available for evening meals and relaxing by the pool and mingling with travellers such as our selves as well as the owners was always a great part of our day. But I think my favourite thing about staying at Coconut Grove -other than the great location, beautiful scenery and very chill pool area...was the owners Diane and Richard. Being two girls travelling on our own they really looked after us and sort of took us under their wing. They were so much fun to hang out with and I intend to take another trip back to Dominical soon just so I can hang with them again. Thanks so much for a fantastic time, great stories and lots of laughs...and I'm sure I'll be seeing you again some time soon, Pura Vida!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deensie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
1.1 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.1 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
5.1 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
1.4 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 13 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages

Property: Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages
Address: Dominical Beach, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages is located on one of Costa Rica's most picturesque and private beaches on the Southern Pacific Coast. Find us on Facebook, search for Costa Rica Coconut Grove for more information. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Dominical
Coconut Grove Oceanfront Cottages Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing