We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for visiting Tombstone, could use a revamp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night here to visit Tombstone. The room was clean although somewhat dated. The bed was comfortable and the room a reasonable size. The picture on the TV was barely watchable, the walls paper thin and the person in the room next door was in and out of the room for most of the night with their door making a noise like a ghost train every time they opened it. The bath didnt drain properly so I ended up in a couple if inches of water trying to shower. The breakfast was free and cook to order so nice and fresh, and there were options which was nice until the chef made an appearance which nearly put us off our food. The man on the front desk when we arrive was friendly, very knowledgeable about the area and helpful. Hotel was in a great location for visiting Tombstone which was what we wanted.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nicklross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 527 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

Do not pass this one up. We really liked this place. Very clean. Very quiet. Very reasonably priced. The view is great. Nice garden right outside our ground level floor to sit and gaze at the dessert. Enjoyed the fire pit that evening too. Complementary full hot breakfast is very good. Staff is very friendly. We stayed one night, and wanted to stay another, but had to go. Another couple we met while staying there did decide to stay. They liked it so much too.

Tombstone is just around the corner. Fun place to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

First and most importantly, the room was quiet and the beds very comfortable. The room was clean and in good condition, although the bathroom, while adequate, was somewhat tired.

Breakfast was a little out of the ordinary in that it is cooked to order, thus taking a longer than you might want, and is not exactly top notch. While it would not deter us from staying here again, it is an area that could be improved.

We found the location to be perfect, just out of town and with some great views.
Overall we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jilrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This motel is located about half a mile out of Tombstone on the north side and is a good choice if you are looking for a place near, but not in, Tombstone.

Rooms are large and well furnished and, as the name suggests, each room has a nice view (but not over the town).

The bed was hard but comfortable. Unfortunately the sheets were very rough and not up to normal hotel standards.

Breakfast is table service rather than buffet and the food was well prepared.

Nothing special but not a bad choice if the price is okay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSMKMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel is a wonderful place not only for visiting Tombstone ,but also to relax. We were only booked in for one night ,but after checking the area and our room we quickly asked to extend our stay.
Complimentary breakfast was a little unusual in so much as you chose five items and extras if required were $1.75 a piece. All waitress served and coffee refills were complimentary.
The pool was very inviting - even if it was bracingly cool when we used it - and nothing a hot shower didn't cure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SussexMartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

When we checked in, a big mention was made of the hot breakfast, however when we looked at the menu the following morning, it was a choice of 5 items one of which was the drink . Having chosen, we had a very long wait and when it arrived the cooked part was almost cold and generally unappetising. It was a very poor breakfast poorly served (the porridge starter and the cooked dish came together!).
The room was fine but had a very strong smell of bleach. I checked with the people in the next couple of rooms who were also standing outside with door wide open to get rid of the smell (which was partially successful). We did have a view of distant hills, but just below us was a busy road, so there was almost constant traffic noise. Room and shower were clean but we would stay nearer to the town and off the main road on another occasion.
One of the staff in reception was friendly and helpful offering suggestions of good places to go to see wildlife in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 97Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The Landmark Lookout Lodge is a refreshing break from the big chains. Excellent location just outside Tombstone moments away from Boothill Graveyard and the other sites in town. The included breakfast is perfect and not at all like the buffets supplied by the big chains. Beautiful views and landscaping are only overshadowed by the hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UncleRonRiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tombstone
0.1 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
1.7 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
317 reviews
21.5 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#8 of 11 in Bisbee
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Larian Motel
Larian Motel
#1 of 9 in Tombstone
822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
#6 of 9 in Tombstone
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Lookout Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Lookout Lodge

Address: 781 North Highway 80, Tombstone, AZ 85638
Location: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tombstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tombstone
Price Range: $100 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Landmark Lookout Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landmark Lookout Lodge is located near the OK Corral, Tombstone Visitor Center, Boothill Cemetery, Cochise College, Bisbee Queen Mine Tours, Fort Huachuca and Kartchner Caverns State Park. The Landmark Lookout Lodge offers guests an outdoor pool, free full breakfast served from 7am to 10am, free high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, wakeup service, free parking with room for large vehicles and small pets are accepted with additional charges. Guest rooms offer cable TV with extra stations, free high speed wireless internet access, mini-fridge, hair dryer, free local calls, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, iron/board and electronic door locks. Requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Landmark Lookout Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Lookout Hotel Tombstone
Best Western Lookout Hotel
Best Western Tombstone
Tombstone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing