We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Nice Motel”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This motel is located about half a mile out of Tombstone on the north side and is a good choice if you are looking for a place near, but not in, Tombstone.

Rooms are large and well furnished and, as the name suggests, each room has a nice view (but not over the town).

The bed was hard but comfortable. Unfortunately the sheets were very rough and not up to normal hotel standards.

Breakfast is table service rather than buffet and the food was well prepared.

Nothing special but not a bad choice if the price is okay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSMKMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    176
    45
    17
    22
See reviews for
147
216
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel is a wonderful place not only for visiting Tombstone ,but also to relax. We were only booked in for one night ,but after checking the area and our room we quickly asked to extend our stay.
Complimentary breakfast was a little unusual in so much as you chose five items and extras if required were $1.75 a piece. All waitress served and coffee refills were complimentary.
The pool was very inviting - even if it was bracingly cool when we used it - and nothing a hot shower didn't cure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexMartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

When we checked in, a big mention was made of the hot breakfast, however when we looked at the menu the following morning, it was a choice of 5 items one of which was the drink . Having chosen, we had a very long wait and when it arrived the cooked part was almost cold and generally unappetising. It was a very poor breakfast poorly served (the porridge starter and the cooked dish came together!).
The room was fine but had a very strong smell of bleach. I checked with the people in the next couple of rooms who were also standing outside with door wide open to get rid of the smell (which was partially successful). We did have a view of distant hills, but just below us was a busy road, so there was almost constant traffic noise. Room and shower were clean but we would stay nearer to the town and off the main road on another occasion.
One of the staff in reception was friendly and helpful offering suggestions of good places to go to see wildlife in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 97Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The Landmark Lookout Lodge is a refreshing break from the big chains. Excellent location just outside Tombstone moments away from Boothill Graveyard and the other sites in town. The included breakfast is perfect and not at all like the buffets supplied by the big chains. Beautiful views and landscaping are only overshadowed by the hosts.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleRonRiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My nephew and I stayed here for 3 days and we enjoyed our stay here. It's on a hill so it has a beautiful view of the surrounding hills and mountains, it's just down the road from Tombstone so it is a great location. We enjoyed the outdoor fire pit at night, the complimentary breakfast was very good, there were a few tiny bugs on the wall in the shower but overall the room was clean. The hotel clerk, Chris, was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the history of the area and about different sights to see. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel staff was cold and the rooms overpriced for location. There are better motels in Tombstone right next to the action. The room smelled of cigarette smoke and mildew. Waste of money. I recommend The Tombstone Motel. Sad waste of money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nich0leu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Landmark Lookout Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear nichOleu
We were shocked to see the review of your recent stay at the Landmark Lookout Lodge.
I apologize for the disappointment you experienced. I’m very sorry that we didn’t have an opportunity to resolve any issues during your stay. Had we known, we would have made every effort to correct it immediately.
All of our rooms are no-smoking. The registering guests agree to a $300 charge if evidence of smoking in a room is found. This has never been an issue.
We do have the best value in Tombstone, with a full cooked to order breakfast, free WiFi, outdoor pool and the friendliest, most professional employees ready to offer their assistance.
As you see from our many excellent Trip Advisor reviews, our guests love our hotel, and rave about our superb staff. We proudly hold the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence.
We apologize for your stay being a less than what keeps our regular guests returning and we invite you as our guest to come back and have the “ perfect” Landmark Lookout Lodge experience.
Sincerely,
John Bruce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roy wa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We love this little motel the staff are great very respectful and had mNy ideas for what to do in the area. Very informative and had allot of knowledge of the history of tombstone and hey the breakfast pretty darn good free and they actually cook it up for ya ! can't complain about that
And it's just up the street from tombstone. Rooms are clean and comfy

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank madmanroywa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley R, General Manager at Landmark Lookout Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Madmanroywa,

Thanks so much for your great review! I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay and that our staff was able to provide some info on fun places to do and see and also provide some info on the history of Tombstone. We take pride in knowing the history of Tombstone- just makes it that much more fun for our many visitors. So happy that you were able to take advantage of our terrific breakfast as well.

Please come back and see us the next time you find yourself in Tombstone. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours Truly,

John Bruce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tombstone
0.1 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
1.7 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
305 reviews
17.5 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#8 of 11 in Bisbee
747 reviews
0.7 mi away
Larian Motel
Larian Motel
#1 of 9 in Tombstone
811 reviews
0.5 mi away
Katie's Cozy Cabins
Katie's Cozy Cabins
#2 of 6 in Tombstone
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Lookout Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Lookout Lodge

Property: Landmark Lookout Lodge
Address: 781 North Highway 80, Tombstone, AZ 85638
Location: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tombstone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tombstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Landmark Lookout Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landmark Lookout Lodge is located near the OK Corral, Tombstone Visitor Center, Boothill Cemetery, Cochise College, Bisbee Queen Mine Tours, Fort Huachuca and Kartchner Caverns State Park. The Landmark Lookout Lodge offers guests an outdoor pool, free full breakfast served from 7am to 10am, free high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, wakeup service, free parking with room for large vehicles and small pets are accepted with additional charges. Guest rooms offer cable TV with extra stations, free high speed wireless internet access, mini-fridge, hair dryer, free local calls, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, iron/board and electronic door locks. Requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Landmark Lookout Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Lookout Hotel Tombstone
Best Western Lookout Hotel
Best Western Tombstone
Tombstone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing