We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very friendly relaxing place to hang your boots.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trail Rider's Inn Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very friendly relaxing place to hang your boots.”
Reviewed November 17, 2009

This is a very relaxed easy going and friendly place to stay when visiting Tombestone.
The room we stayed in was comfortable it had everything we needed. The only things
we would have liked would have been a coffee maker in the room and a larger T.V.
but apart from that the Motel is very well situated to enjoy the atmosphere of Tombestone
without using the car.The owners we found were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyshepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    64
    18
    17
    16
See reviews for
81
126
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Stopped here for four nights and have got no complaints. Room small but comfortable, size of the room was my own fault as when I booked I said I would be alone. It has a slightly dated but cosy feel. I have also stayed at the Larian and I would say The Trailriders has a slight edge.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bwss42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

If the owners rebut this, they will say it is because they did not refund our second night. However, let me say we had already packed our car to leave before they said it was 24 hours for a cancellation because we didn't care - we were leaving that place.

First of all, when we arrived, the desk person was very disorganized and seemed to have alcohol on his breath. (We drink - but not when we are working). Then we went to the room, and turned on the light - only to find two light bulbs out in the overhead ceiling fan. By now, the office was already closed. We tried the light over one of the beds - it also didn't work. The remote to the TV - didn't work. The WiFi access - didn't work. Then after my husband took a shower, I moved what I thought was the washcloth he used - instead it was a DRIED DIRTY CLOTH from a previous visitor. Last but not least with temps in the 40s, the heater didn't work. After a cold sleepless night on a squeaky lumpy bed, we decided to shorten our stay in Tombstone.

When we brought this to the attention of the owner Paul the next morning, he was too busy visiting with other guests to seriously address the concerns. He stated the heater wasn't lit yet due to the temparatures not being low enough and the wifi was iffy at best. Should I mention the locals we had breakfast with were all wearing at least a sweater that morning?

While we were seeing the sites the owner's wife called and told us the batteries were out in the remote, and they were getting the heaters lit that day, and the room would be refunded for the second night if they were able to book a guest. She said Paul was rather busy when we came in to tell him about our concerns (yes - visiting). .She never mentioned the dirty wash cloth or multiple lights being out.

We stayed at two other 1940s motels on this trip and they were fantastic. Too bad Trail Riders is not one of those types of stops.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRTxTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Run to any other available motel! We entered our room to find garbage and food crumbs left by a previous occupant on one of the beds. There were two softsoap dispensers. The one in the shower was empty, the one next to the sink smelled something awful. No shampoo, no hairdryer. Spiderwebs in corners of the room. A bottle left in the refrigerator by previous occupant. TV remote control did not work; I took it to the office, the person on duty replaced the batteries. Walked back to my room, remote still did not work. Opened my door to go back to the office, and the people working were sitting lined up outside the office with friends, smoking. I told him the remote still didn't work, and he was not interested in getting up or leaving his cigarette to help out. The cigarette smoke drifted in to our room - pretty disgusting if you're a non-smoker. We opened the back curtain to a view of garbage, tools and junk. All of this, and the earliest check out time we have ever seen - 10:00 am. Great if you're on vacation - NOT. There are better places to spend your hard earned money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FERGSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Originally booked it as I saw they had a hot tub and swimming pool. I thought both would be nice after a 9 hour drive, having back problems :-) The microwave and mini fridge are heaven sent! Very friendly staff and clean rooms. Will definitely be coming back to Tombstone and definitely staying here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecelticsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We did not stay at your motel. While we were in Tombstone, we walked to the various motels checking them out. Yours looked like a very nice place stay and with people sitting out front, had a homey feel to it . Till we heard the words coming out of the one gentleman's mouth. Very bad language. We went to one of the other places. Roamer7300

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank roamer7300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2009

I always stay at this wonderful motel,reviews say this is not a motel but a B and B.due to the fact there reception is not open 24 hrs it can not be listed as a motel.Other motels are listed as motels even though they do not have 24 hr reception,I walked to 2 motels at 11.00pm and offices were closed.please do not let this put you off,Everything is wonderful there at Trailriders.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willo0786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tombstone hotels
0.9 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.8 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
#6 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Larian Motel
Larian Motel
#1 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Budget Host Inn Tombstone
Budget Host Inn Tombstone
#7 of 9 in Tombstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trail Rider's Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail Rider's Inn Motel

Property: Trail Rider's Inn Motel
Address: 13N and 7th Street, Tombstone, AZ 85638
Location: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tombstone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tombstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trail Rider's Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trail Rider's Inn is a very quaint and peaceful hotel within walking distance of the OK Corral, and all of the Wyatt Earp and Doc Holliday history of the 1880's. Ask our friendly staff all types of historical questions and let us whisk you away to a different time of the cowboys. Featuring swimming pool, hot tub, and quiet clean rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Trail Rider's Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trail Rider`s Hotel Tombstone
Trail Riders Hotel
Trail Riders Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing