We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trail Rider's Inn Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful motel”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My friend Johanna and I arrived late afternoon in Tombstone on Friday 4th May 2012.

We decided to find a motel in the town, went to see a few and then discovered
Trail Riders.

What a shock I had when I started talking to owner Lauren to find out that she was a
fellow Brit.

Throughout our 4000 mile + Road Trip, it was the equal best motel that we stayed
at.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    64
    18
    17
    16
See reviews for
81
127
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My "Go To" option when I need a place to stay in the area. Great owners. Accommodating an helpful. Clean efficient rooms. And cool pool to relax by. Easy walk to restaurants and attractions. Quiet side street location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayJArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I booked a room for our honeymoon. When we arrived at the hotel Lauren the owner greeted us and offered us the suite that was available because we had just gotten married. She not only made us feel welcome, but made us feel like we had arrived home. She has a wonderful personality, kind hearted, and goes out of her way to help. For example, my husband and I wanted to by a copy of the movie Tombstone after we went out for dinner. Unfortunatley the whole town was closed for the night and there was no where to buy the movie. When we told her this she immediatley offered to go look for her own personal copy for us to borrow. She is truly a wonderful woman that made the stay enjoyable. Along with that the hotel and rooms were amazing. In was truley the best choice we could have made. The room was clean and well taken care of. We had our own personal porch and a wonderful pool and spa. If you are planning on staying in Tombstone, AZ this is the best decission you could make. I will be returning to Tombstone and will not stay anywhere except the Trail Riders Inn. My stay at this hotel was by far better than any hotel in my life. No five star resort could ever come close to the hospitality, cleanliness, and personality that place has. Also, every local we talked to recomended this place. And there is no doubt they know what they are talking about. I would and will recomend this place to everyone. Like I said Lauren and this hotel made our honeymoon extra special. Don't look any further. This by far is the BEST HOTEL EVER!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 16. This was an amazing room with a true old west feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atthabasca, alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

On a trip to Tombstone we first booked into a chain hotel and found out pool wasn't usable so phoned and got rooms at Trailriders. There was four of us and we stayed for three nights. rooms were very clean and well put together but the best part was Richie the manager he was amazing and made our stay so enjoyable. Will stay there again when return to tombstone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ttarrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
263 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Doing business with Trail Rider's Inn is a laidback affair. When I made a reservation I wasn't given a confirmation number or anything which made me a tad nervous. When I called en route to let them know we were running late they said they'd leave a light on for us and the key in the room, which was nice. We arrived moments before the office closed for the night but the owner ran my credit card, gave me a key and suggested we rush over to have dinner before all the restaurants closed for the night.

We rushed out to have dinner without looking at the room first. When we returned we found a nice, clean room that could have served as an oven. No one had turned on the tiny AC unit and it had been over 102 that day.

The room boasted a tiny television with two channels, a tiny refrigerator and a tiny microwave. Those things really didn't matter. The two beds were comfortable and the plumbing worked great. Unfortunately, there is no air conditioning in the bathroom. At all.

Most of our evening was spent in sweaty discomfort. Even with a ceiling fan the room would not cool down. I soon understood why so many folks were sitting outside on the porch.

The property is quaint in a 50's motorcourt sort of way. They have a great pool. The owners are very nice and obviously work hard. They were busy cleaning rooms when we prepared to leave the next morning so I just left our room key on the counter.

They offer a sort of continental breakfast set out on the porch each morning which consists of hardboiled eggs, donuts, fresh fruit, juice and coffee. It is a nice extra.

Overall, the room is a good value for the money. I could wish they would turn on the air conditioning before guests arrive but I suppose they are trying to save money too. I would recommend the Trail Rider Inn - in the winter!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

On a trip to Tombstone, my husband and I called the #1 rated hotel from TripAdvisor, which was full. We called #2, Trail Rider's Inn, and they had one room left. When we arrived, the staff was very helpful and showed us the room just to be sure we wanted it ... it was room "6 1/2". I am not sure what the other rooms look like, but "6 1/2" was probably named appropriately, as it was a fairly small room. However, it had enough room for the two of us so we took it. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very friendly (an English gentleman and his father) and the second night we stayed was at a discount. The pool was nice and the grounds were tidy. The bathroom did not have a bathtub, just a stand-up shower, which some people may not like (but I think this is only in our small room) and liquid soap was provided, although no shampoo, which was OK by me because I bring my own. The location was also very convenient-- about a two minute walk to "downtown". Overall it was an enjoyable stay and I can see why this place is rated so high!

Room Tip: Room 6 1/2 is smaller than the others, just a heads up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Very, surprised by this quaint motel. I found it on the internet and was a little leery to book but took a chance and was really glad we did. Large, clean comfortable rooms and the owners were really friendly! The pool was a nice place to rest after a day of touring Tombstone. Would differently stay there again and highly recommend you do too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tombstone hotels
0.9 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
0.8 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
505 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
#6 of 9 in Tombstone
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Larian Motel
Larian Motel
#1 of 9 in Tombstone
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allen Street Inn
Allen Street Inn
#3 of 13 in Tombstone
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trail Rider's Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail Rider's Inn Motel

Property: Trail Rider's Inn Motel
Address: 13N and 7th Street, Tombstone, AZ 85638
Location: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tombstone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tombstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trail Rider's Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trail Rider's Inn is a very quaint and peaceful hotel within walking distance of the OK Corral, and all of the Wyatt Earp and Doc Holliday history of the 1880's. Ask our friendly staff all types of historical questions and let us whisk you away to a different time of the cowboys. Featuring swimming pool, hot tub, and quiet clean rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Trail Rider's Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trail Rider`s Hotel Tombstone
Trail Riders Hotel
Trail Riders Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing