We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Mnodern Hotel in a Quiet Spot Near Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had kind of expected The Grand Hotel to be a restored old hotel, but this one is nice and new, a few minutes outside of Tombstone which actually turned out to be kind of nice. Although you can't walk over to the gunfights, it's a lot more peaceful than staying right in town.

Pleasant helpful people. A good enough, but kind of generic, breakfast bar, and the price sure is right (it's included).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rick628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Hi Rick628! Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay with us! I do appreciate the kind words about our modern facility and will be sure to pass them along to our team. Please let me know if you have suggestions on how we can improve our breakfast service as we certainly want all areas of every stay to be top-notch. Travel safely and I hope we see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

870 - 876 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel really does live up to its name! It was quite, the room was very clean and nice. The service was friendly but best of all, the breakfast was amazing! When you get full from a hotels breakfast, you know its good and the service was kept it clean and well stocked and the ladies were on top of refilling everything. The hotel is right down the street from Boothill which comes before the actual town of Tombstone. Perfect location. If we ever are in the area again, we will be staying here!! We stayed on the 1st floor. It was quite but it was a little bit of a walk from the entrance but its ok it was very nice but I recommend a luggage cart like we did. April is the perfect month to visit and during a weekday. It was quite and not too hot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e5wife01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hi e5wife01! Thank you for staying with us! I appreciate the details that you included in your review and I hope they prove helpful to other travelers. I know my team will be pleased to hear that they made such a positive impression on you and I hope we do see you again in Tombstone. Travel safely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

hotel very nice well located ,staff very friendly and helpfull.
very nice swimming pool ,good breakfast,large parking area,very quite for
sleeping, very good experience I recomend this hotel to all.
the only lack is the lift for the first floor



  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Magnani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hello Magnani M! Thank you for writing a review and for your kind words which I will share with my team. I do appreciate that you pointed out some of the amenities you enjoyed and I was pleased to hear that our team was friendly and helpful. If you return in the future, please know that we are more than happy to assist with carrying luggage for you due to our lack of an elevator. Please let us know if you have any ideas for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I were given a very spacious room on the second floor. There's a nice view out the back of the hotel to watch the sunset. The breakfast was average buffet food, nothing special but started your day off pretty well. The one big problem was that the room was never really cleaned very well in the 5 days we spent there. The cleaning staff changed daily. On the 5th and final day there were two college age young men "cleaning" the rooms. In my experience, college age boys whether in a dorm or at home, are not particularly interested in cleanliness. The sink was obviously not cleaned around the faucets every day. There were mineral deposits growing each day. There was a couple of dirty spots on the bathroom tile when we arrived that remained until I cleaned the spots myself. Dust on the lamps and a small frig on top of an end table with the lamp on top of it on our arrival. Made us wonder if the room was cleaned at all before our arrival. The hotel is about a mile and a half from the center of town. The hotel was in a quiet location, near boot hill. I also heard that the hotel was in the process of being sold so that might account for the poor housekeeping but it was pretty poor service.

Room Tip: There are two floors, no elevator. If mobility is a problem, ask for first floor. They also have a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stringerOakLawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hi stirngerOakLawn! Thank you for staying with us! I do appreciate that you filled out a review and sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered. We did discuss your concerns with the HK team and they are working on improving some of their operational practices. We welcome any suggestions you may have for us in other areas so feel free to call the hotel and speak with a member of our management team. I do hope you return to the area and that we have an opportunity to regain your confidence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is just 20 minutes from Sierra Vista AZ where I had to go for business. Tombstone Grand Hotel is located just outside the town of Tombstone and had very nice rooms, pool/spa area and one of the best free breakfasts that I can remember in a long time for any hotel that I have stayed in. Dollar for dollar I would recommend the Tombstone Grand Hotel's accomodations over most all other Sierra Vista accomodations that are rated lower and comparable prices. The only thing missing in Tombstone are fast food establishments and traffic lights. But who wouldn't want to stay nearby the OK Corral and Boot Hill Cemetery ?

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank One_Hungry_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Hi One_Hungry_Traveler! Thank you for sharing your experience at the Grand! I really appreciate that you mentioned your happiness with our breakfast service - we have worked with our team and guests to develop a menu that satisfies! I will pass along your comments to my team and I know they will be interested to know if you have any ideas for us so please feel free to contact us anytime with suggestions. I hope we see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We came back to Tombstone to have our wedding and it went very well. The hotel staff was great and the rooms clean. we will return in the future.
Your wifi had some issues for a couple of days butother then that we were really happy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

HI Russell S! Thank you for staying with us! I do apologize for any issues that you encountered with the Internet service while you were at the property. We did just have our network infrastructure reset to improve the service and hopefully you have an opportunity in the future to return and let us know if we have improved! I will pass along your kind words about the team and the hotel cleanliness to our staff. I hope we see you soon - travel safely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

After having stayed at this facility for almost two years on a very regular basis in the last six months I have seem the service decline rapidly. Every time I have come tbe last two times it seems the entire staff has been replaced after seeing the same people all the time. What a disappointment to see this nice facility go down bill.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mary Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

HI Mary Lee B and thank you for taking time to write a review! I do apologize if you experienced any issues while at the hotel and do understand your concern in regard to the staff. As you might imagine, we are dedicated to providing the very best team we can for our guests, and unfortunately this does at times require us to make changes. Our current team, which is a mix of dedicated longer-term employees and some key new members brought in several months ago, have proven themselves to be just what we need to ensure top-notch service to our guests. Please feel free to call the hotel and discuss your concerns directly with our management team. I do hope we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tombstone
0.1 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
539 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
330 reviews
17.4 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 23 in Sierra Vista
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#8 of 11 in Bisbee
76 reviews
21.5 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
#6 of 9 in Tombstone
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tombstone Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tombstone Grand Hotel

Address: 580 W Randolph Way, PO Box 1730, Tombstone, AZ 85638-2603 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Location: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tombstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tombstone
#4 Family Hotel in Tombstone
Price Range: $85 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tombstone Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on top of a hill overlooking historical Tombstone, The Tombstone Grand Hotel is an ideal vacation spot in the West's most western town. The hotel offers panoramic views from almost every guest room. Stroll down to the Boot Hill Cemetery and see how the old time cowboys lived and died in Tombstone. Then make your way to Allen Street and the rest of Tombstone, where the Wild West comes alive again. From the Birdcage Theater to the OK Corral, Tombstone has it all and The Tombstone Grand Hotel will provide you with a wonderful place to stay! Our friendly knowledgeable staff will ensure your stay will be both pleasant and relaxing, as well as providing concierge services for restaurants and attractions throughout the Tombstone area. If you are here on business the hotel offers high speed Internet access in every room along with wireless access in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Tombstone Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tombstone
Holiday Inn Express Tombstone
Holiday Inn Tombstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing