We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tombstone Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
GreenLeadersBronze level
El Mirage, Arizona
1 review
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Clean, friendly staff, easy check in and out! I would recommend a stay here!
The hotel staff was very friendly, in the morning they did not big us to clean up we just told them when we were checking out and they said they would come back! The woman who checked us in was amazing and so friendly!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hello Nicole S! Thank you for the kind words in regard to your recent stay and I will ensure that my team reads your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your experience and your time in Tombstone. We are always looking to improve, so please let us know if you have any suggestions! Travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    273
    138
    67
    55
See reviews for
364
369
38
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We spent a night here with family on a Spring Break trip through Arizona. The hotel is a very nice, clean facility, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and very good. And our daughter was sworn in as a Tombstone deputy, complete with her own badge, which was a fun touch.

With all of that said, lots of problems and inconsistencies keep this from being a great place to stay:

The pool was cold (and dirty with leaves) and the spa was out of order (none of which was mentioned at check-in, or even when we asked for towels for a trip to the pool).

The pool towels we were given were threadbare and stained -- not a huge deal, just shabby.

The Internet was down when we arrived, making check-in an adventure. They had no idea what our rate was, no way to retrieve our reservation, and wrote down our credit card number by hand.

Guests checking in immediately ahead of us in line were given a map and an attractions guide to the area, we were not. Guests checking in after us were informed of "movie night" and other family activities at the hotel, we were not.

Again, not huge problems, just inconsistencies. It's a good-looking facility staffed by friendly people. It could be a great place with some work.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kramerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi Kramerdog! Than you for staying with us and for the details you provided about the issues you experienced. We will be discussing these with the team and will work with them on consistency. I do apologize for the problems you encountered and hope that we can regain your confidence in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

My key didn't work so had to wait until the desk clerk came back from outside. The issue was solved quickly when the clerk came back. The rooms were nicely decorated. The room was very quiet and comfortable. I would come back here to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi Ted L! Thank you for staying with us and I do apologize for the issue you experienced with your room key. I will pass along your comments to my team and we will work to avoid those kind of issues in the future. Please let me know if you have any ideas for us! Travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We definitely will be staying at Tombstone Grand Hotel again on our next trip to Tombstone! There is so much history to absorb you just can't do it in one trip! The sunset view from the room was amazing! :) Perfect location!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Mesen, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi Rita M! Thank you for taking time to review your experience with us! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we see you again in Tombstone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Overall very nice. Booked because of pool and spa , very disappointed they
were both closed! Not the hotels fault spa broke, but they could have offered
some sort of compensation. Would call ahead next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Christi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierravistamanager, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hi Christi M! Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience - I do sincerely apologize for the issue we were having with the pool & spa and I do understand your disappointment. We have resolved that issue although I know this does not necessarily make things better for you. I you would like to discuss the situation, please contact my AGM at the property. We do appreciate that you stayed with us and I hope we have an opportunity to regain your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Ok Hotel, spa was not working, food was really bad, but very nice rooms and staff great views of the surrounding area. Better by far than the other area lodging, very close to downtown Tombstone. If the food was batter I would give it a higher rating.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierravistamanager, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi Matthew H! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I would welcome the change to speak with you about your specific concerns in regard to the food as we usually receive great feedback on our breakfast. Please contact me or my AGM anytime. I do hope that we have an opportunity to regain your confidence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is probably the best place to stay in Tombstone, but be careful if you value fresh air. In some rooms the odor of tobacco smoke is proving to be, like the town itself, too tough to die.The hotel is nonsmoking now, but the desk clerk said management has been unable to rid its old smoking rooms of the scent of cigarettes.. ..

Room Tip: Make sure your room wasn't smoke-filled in the past.
See more room tips
Green Features: Management needs to step up its efforts to rid former smoking rooms of tobacco odor.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SacramentoSteve_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierravistamanager, General Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi SacrementoSteve! Thank you for the feedback in regard to your recent stay - I will be charing it with out team so they can use it to improve operations. I do apologize for the issue you experienced in regard to the person who had smoked in the room you occupied. We are a 100% non-smoking facility and have an aggressive program in place to remove odors on those occasions when this guideline may not be followed. We certainly feel short of you and our own expectation and I will speak with out HK department and address whatever communication issue occurred. Travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tombstone
1.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
21.5 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
#6 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Larian Motel
Larian Motel
#1 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tombstone Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tombstone Grand Hotel

Property: The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Address: 580 W Randolph Way, PO Box 1730, Tombstone, AZ 85638-2603 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tombstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tombstone
#4 Family Hotel in Tombstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tombstone Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on top of a hill overlooking historical Tombstone, The Tombstone Grand Hotel is an ideal vacation spot in the West's most western town. The hotel offers panoramic views from almost every guest room. Stroll down to the Boot Hill Cemetery and see how the old time cowboys lived and died in Tombstone. Then make your way to Allen Street and the rest of Tombstone, where the Wild West comes alive again. From the Birdcage Theater to the OK Corral, Tombstone has it all and The Tombstone Grand Hotel will provide you with a wonderful place to stay! Our friendly knowledgeable staff will ensure your stay will be both pleasant and relaxing, as well as providing concierge services for restaurants and attractions throughout the Tombstone area. If you are here on business the hotel offers high speed Internet access in every room along with wireless access in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Tombstone Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tombstone
Holiday Inn Express Tombstone
Holiday Inn Tombstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing