We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed two nights last week and found the hotel wonderful. It was clean and the beds were comfy and it had nice amenities. The manager, Maddie and the entire staff were most friendly and helpful. The firepit and the evening extras were an unexpected surprise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lyndaab46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

lyndaab46, Thank you for taking the time to respond to the Trip Advisor survey. We value your response as we are always striving to improve our service for you and all our guests. Although, it looks like we met your expectations! Please feel free to email us any suggestions you may have to help us continue to improve our service and accomodations.

Thanks,
Robert S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
There are newer reviews for The Tombstone Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

930 - 936 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Found this hotel on Google Earth. First time in Tombstone and what a wonderful place to stay. Not much to do in Tombstone after dark but the hotel offered movies, popcorn they had games available a swimming pool in Oct. Not heard of in Kansas. Did have a problem with the shower but after letting staff know about it they fixed it immediately. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and a comfortable bed. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: North West rooms have the best view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Karen A, Thank you for your response. I see that you were able to enjoy our "night life", glad we were able to accommodate you with our extra curricular activities. I do apologize for the issue with the shower and hope the next time we can exceed your expectations. Once, again thank you for your response.

Robert S.
Public Relations Manager
The Tombstone Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Needed a place to stay in southern Arizona. Walked in without a reservation and was helped easily. Room was large, clean and breakfast included. Was helpful to be in Tombstone to catch the noon OK Corral show.
My husband and I also went to Kartchner
Cavern while in the area. A fun two day trip and nice place to bunk!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank nittanyTempe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Nittany Tempe, Thank you for your response. Our goal as a team is to meet or exceed our guests expectations. Once again, thank you for your response and we hope to have back to bunk with us again.

Robert
Public Relations Manager
The Tombstone Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have family in the area and this is the best place we have stayed ever. The staff are very nice and went out of their way to ensure we had every thing we needed. The pool is small but nice and the hot tub was comfortable. They have a bunch of rooms set up for anyone having physical issues. The most important part.... the bed was actually comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sitkalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Sitkayln, Thank you for your response. I am glad we met your expectations and that you were able to enjoy your family. Look forward to serving your family again! See you soon!

Thanks,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We came to Tombstone to celebrate the 30th anniversary and vow renewal for my sister and brother-in-law. It was the my first time staying at the Tombstone Grand Hotel and it was my husband's first time visiting Tombstone. We appreciated having breakfast on the premises which was included in the room rate. It was easy and very convenient not having to drive into town. The grounds were very well kept and it was so nice to look out at the desert. We even saw a large deer in the driveway upon our return one evening. We would definitely stay there again. Although after staying there 4 nights we noticed that the housekeeping was not up to standards. Empty coffee cups were left in the room and the ironing board was not put away. The remade beds were disheveled. To be honest, upon returning, some days, if it wasn't for the new towels, we wouldn't have known anyone had been in to clean. Our first day, no one came to clean at all even though they left a note they would be there until 2:00. That and the dripping faucet can be corrected or improved. Everything else with the hotel was nice and we would go stay there again. It is in a good location, has beautiful views, well kept grounds and a friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didedi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Didedi9, First, I would like to thank you for your response. Secondly, I want to apologize for not meeting your expectations with the housekeeping. I will be sure to address that with our team. Our goal is to meet every expectation of our guests and I hope that you will give us an opportunity to meet your expectations on your next trip to tombstone.

Thanks,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We recently returned from a weekend stay in Tombstone. Our group consisted of three single moms and our kids. Among our group were special needs children. Our every need and request was attended to with a smile and gracious attitude. The rooms were clean and the beds were so comfortable that we were asleep almost as soon as our heads hit the pillows. Having a full hot breakfast available was very conenient and allowed us to maximize our time as we didn't have to figure out every morning where to go to eat. We were so busy each day we didn't get to use the pool and hot tub until the very end of our stay. The hot tub was just perfect. The pool was quite cold. It was fun taking a quick dip and then rushing to the hot tub. However to really enjoy the pool it really needs to be heated, at least during the fall and winter. Overall it was a very pleasant stay. I would have to say this property's greatest asset is the terrific friendly staff. All other things being equal the staff can really add to or spoil an experience. The staff at this hotel are among the best I have encountered, and we usually stay in very nice hotels, 4 star plus at least 30 or or nights per year. I highly recommend the "Tombstone Experience" and this would be my go to hotel. Special kudos to the front desk staff. Also, Karchner Caverns is definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cammy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Cammy88, Thank you for your response. We appreciate the compliment about our friendly staff. That's excellent! I do apologize for our pool not being warm enough. I will address that with our team and make sure our amenities are up to standard for every guest. Once again thank you for your response. It helps us serve you better!

Thanks,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We did a week end getaway combining Bisbeeand Tombstone staying one night at the Tombstone Grand hotel. What a great place with very friendly staff!
Upon arrival we cruised through check in and asked where to go for dinner and were recommend d a great place in town, crystals. It had great food and atmosphere. The hotel that night was also hosting a story teller, it was someone who did the historical tours around town. It was such a great way to end our first day sitting around a fire pit listening to the history of tombstone and the influential citizens. Thank you to the staff for that!
The only downside to our visit was the hotel was located a little outside of the town (~5 min drive) I believe there is a shuttle we just never used it. The other was that this was our long weekend and chance to relax until house keeping came knocking at 8:30am......thanks a lot :(
Overall great stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: No elevator so if an issue recommend selecting a room on the first floor
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksteff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

KSteff, We are pleased to see that you all had a relaxing time. for the both of you! I do apologize for you being woke up early by our housekeeping team, just place the "hold on sign in the door or let our team know at the front desk and we will accommodate your request next time. Our transportation is the "trolley" which does run everyday to and from town. See you'll next time! And thanks for your response!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tombstone
1.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
522 reviews
17.4 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#8 of 11 in Bisbee
751 reviews
0.8 mi away
Larian Motel
Larian Motel
#1 of 9 in Tombstone
813 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
#6 of 9 in Tombstone
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tombstone Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tombstone Grand Hotel

Address: 580 W Randolph Way, PO Box 1730, Tombstone, AZ 85638-2603 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Location: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tombstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tombstone
#4 Family Hotel in Tombstone
Price Range: $89 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tombstone Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on top of a hill overlooking historical Tombstone, The Tombstone Grand Hotel is an ideal vacation spot in the West's most western town. The hotel offers panoramic views from almost every guest room. Stroll down to the Boot Hill Cemetery and see how the old time cowboys lived and died in Tombstone. Then make your way to Allen Street and the rest of Tombstone, where the Wild West comes alive again. From the Birdcage Theater to the OK Corral, Tombstone has it all and The Tombstone Grand Hotel will provide you with a wonderful place to stay! Our friendly knowledgeable staff will ensure your stay will be both pleasant and relaxing, as well as providing concierge services for restaurants and attractions throughout the Tombstone area. If you are here on business the hotel offers high speed Internet access in every room along with wireless access in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tombstone Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tombstone
Holiday Inn Express Tombstone
Holiday Inn Tombstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing