We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed one night. Annmarie at the desk was awesome! Gave us places to eat, see and she was very nice. Breakfast was good and they had activities going on. Very nice!
Rooms clean! slept good.Close to town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimi644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierravistamanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hi mimi644! Thank you for the kind words in your recent survey response and also for mentioning Anna Marie specifically for her high level of service. I am happy that you found the rooms clean and enjoyed our nightly activity - and of course, a good nights rest is always one of our main goals. Travel safely and I hope we see you in Tombstone again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you want peaceful sleep, this isn't the place, DONT stay on ground floor you can hear everything, footsteps all night, it is worse than an apartment, made you want to bang o the ceiling!!!!! But the staff, a woman with long blonde hair was incredible, we chose to leave early so we could sleep. The pool did not appear to be heated, spa had horrendous smell, a gentleman with sores all over him went in and the rules clearly stated not to do so. The room was very clean,, breakfast was very good. .

Room Tip: Nothing on ground floor!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierravistamanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hello irenic1951! I appreciate that you took the time to complete a survey about your recent stay with us in Tombstone. I sincerely apologize for the specific issues you encountered and our General Manager would be happy to discuss your concerns directly if you wish to call her at the hotel. We do take pride in providing excellent accommodations and I will personally look into the specific issues you raised in your review. I am happy that you received good service and found your room to be clean and the breakfast satisfactory. Thank you again and I do hope we have the opportunity to regain your confidence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was concerned when I received the notice that this was no longer a Holiday Inn Express. I shoulod not have worried. The hotel was clean, and the people working there were very friendly. The water pressure was a little lacking, but that was my only even small complaint. This hotel is just outside of town (not a bad thing) as in town was kind of run down looking. It was very close to Boot Hill.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierravistamanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hi Tananda! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us in Tombstone! I appreciate your kind words and will pass them along to our team! I appreciate that you mentioned our cleanliness and the friendly service of our staff. I do apologize for the low water pressure issue and will have it looked into immediately. Thanks again and travel safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel is nice and clean, comfortable bed. Check in clerk, Darryl was very nice and helpful. We booked 3 PRE-PAID nights through Hotels.com. The rooms were booked one night at a time, not three nights together, as our itinerary kept changing. Anamarie modified our reservation at the front desk so that we would not have to check out each morning and check back in.
We decided to leave about 6pm after staying 2 out of the 3 nights. Upon check out, we were told that we needed to pay for two nights as we had only paid for one(not true). LUCIA at the front desk was rude and had a horrible attitude. We dealt with her horrible customer service or over 20 minutes while she called her boss, then Expedia (they confirmed that we pd for 3 nights) then her boss again. Then, she wanted to charge us for a 4th night because it was after the noon checkout time!??! She couldn't seem to grasp the concept that we paid for 3 nights, stayed for 2 and were leaving early, not late. She stormed off in a huff and Rainy finalized the checkout and was very apologetic. 2 1/2 hours later, "Lorraine" calls me from the hotel to ask for my credit card information "for their records"?? What kind of scam are they running here?? I think not being associated with a hotel chain puts you at a disadvantage when issues arise. They are also not members of the BBB. Send Lucia to a math lesson and customer service training. Stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: We were in a large closet sized room on the first floor. Our friends got an upstairs room which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelmay577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Angela:

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while staying with us. I think there is a misunderstanding at hand here, if you will allow me to explain:

Our company policy is to request a credit card number upon check in for incidentals and to gather guest contact information. Our Front Desk clerks are required by management to do so, and in fulfilling these instructions, may have been a bit overzealous. We do not have anyone named Lorraine employed at the hotel, however, and so are unable to address that issue.

Again, we apologize for the confusion and understand your frustration. If you would like to discuss this matter further, we encourage you to contact the hotel and ask to speak with our GM, Madie Wunrow. She will be happy to speak with you.

Sincerely,

Angela Durrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was a great hotel with beautiful room, great service and fantastic views. The only problem is that it is hard to find. The sign is not very visible! The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaJR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thanks for your review! We are working on developing new signs so that our guests can find us more easily. Sorry you had trouble with that, but we hope to see you again soon!

Angela Durrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is the first hotel you see on the way into old town. On a hill, so easy to find. We stayed the end of August, as did another reveiwer. The room was warm, the air conditioner was out-dated and the room smelled like some kind of cologne. But we're in the prime heat season of Arizona so it was still cooler than outside. There were beetles, duhhh..., we're in Arizona. There were also cacti, dirt, sunshine and rocks. From previous travels, I know a complaint can yeild a free stay, but we did stay, use the shower, the electricity, the toilet and sleep in the bed. I was hoping for a 'wedding party' discount, but wasn't gonna be rude to the desk clerk because of something I hoped. I am a little disappointed in the staff, though. i had gone downstairs (no elevator) to get a soda and saw another guest (also a guest at the wedding) sitting in the lobby with blood on his hand. After inquiring, I learned he had tripped in the un-lit parking area and fallen onto a cactus. Instead of helping the guest, the staff called the police. He was tattooed and pierced so they may have thought he would be trouble. ? It definitely was not worth the money and will try someplace different next time.

Room Tip: No elevator, so 2nd floor not good for those unable to climb a flight of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

So sorry to hear you had some issues regarding staff, but it's important we hear it so that we can correct any problems. If you would like to speak further with our Operations manager, please contact me at Pen@primarywizard.net and I will put you in touch with him.

Thank you again for taking time to write your comments. We truly do appreciate it.

Angela Durrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ease in checking in and out, Friendly Staff, good snack in the evening. Breakfast is good but add pancake or waffle to menu. Eating area, I would to see a opening to the back of motel to fire pit, BBQ area and the gazebo. The view from motel is GRAND!
I have stay in this motel for many years and do it again when in or near Tombstone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Glad you had such a great time! Yes, it IS difficult to keep a pool clean in this part of the world, particularly with dust storms and monsoons this time of year, but we are quite vigilant about it. We will, however, make note of your remarks and endeavor to keep a closer eye on it.

Thank you again for your note. If you want to keep up with what's going on at the Hotel, our specials, and events in Tombstone, look us up on the web or Facebook..

See you soon!

Angela Durrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tombstone
1.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
532 reviews
17.4 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
762 reviews
21.5 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
#6 of 9 in Tombstone
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tombstone Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tombstone Grand Hotel

Address: 580 W Randolph Way, PO Box 1730, Tombstone, AZ 85638-2603 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tombstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tombstone
#4 Family Hotel in Tombstone
Price Range: $89 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tombstone Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on top of a hill overlooking historical Tombstone, The Tombstone Grand Hotel is an ideal vacation spot in the West's most western town. The hotel offers panoramic views from almost every guest room. Stroll down to the Boot Hill Cemetery and see how the old time cowboys lived and died in Tombstone. Then make your way to Allen Street and the rest of Tombstone, where the Wild West comes alive again. From the Birdcage Theater to the OK Corral, Tombstone has it all and The Tombstone Grand Hotel will provide you with a wonderful place to stay! Our friendly knowledgeable staff will ensure your stay will be both pleasant and relaxing, as well as providing concierge services for restaurants and attractions throughout the Tombstone area. If you are here on business the hotel offers high speed Internet access in every room along with wireless access in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tombstone Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tombstone
Holiday Inn Express Tombstone
Holiday Inn Tombstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing