We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tombstone Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Buckeye, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is the first hotel you see on the way into old town. On a hill, so easy to find. We stayed the end of August, as did another reveiwer. The room was warm, the air conditioner was out-dated and the room smelled like some kind of cologne. But we're in the prime heat season of Arizona so it was still cooler than outside. There were beetles, duhhh..., we're in Arizona. There were also cacti, dirt, sunshine and rocks. From previous travels, I know a complaint can yeild a free stay, but we did stay, use the shower, the electricity, the toilet and sleep in the bed. I was hoping for a 'wedding party' discount, but wasn't gonna be rude to the desk clerk because of something I hoped. I am a little disappointed in the staff, though. i had gone downstairs (no elevator) to get a soda and saw another guest (also a guest at the wedding) sitting in the lobby with blood on his hand. After inquiring, I learned he had tripped in the un-lit parking area and fallen onto a cactus. Instead of helping the guest, the staff called the police. He was tattooed and pierced so they may have thought he would be trouble. ? It definitely was not worth the money and will try someplace different next time.

Room Tip: No elevator, so 2nd floor not good for those unable to climb a flight of stairs
See more room tips
Green Features: The environmentally-friendly practices are the same as other hotels.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
So sorry to hear you had some issues regarding staff, but it's important we hear it so that we can correct any problems. If you would like to speak further with our Operations manager, please contact me at Pen@primarywizard.net and I will put you in touch with him.

Thank you again for taking time to write your comments. We truly do appreciate it.

Angela Durrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    273
    138
    67
    55
See reviews for
364
369
38
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N. Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ease in checking in and out, Friendly Staff, good snack in the evening. Breakfast is good but add pancake or waffle to menu. Eating area, I would to see a opening to the back of motel to fire pit, BBQ area and the gazebo. The view from motel is GRAND!
I have stay in this motel for many years and do it again when in or near Tombstone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Glad you had such a great time! Yes, it IS difficult to keep a pool clean in this part of the world, particularly with dust storms and monsoons this time of year, but we are quite vigilant about it. We will, however, make note of your remarks and endeavor to keep a closer eye on it.

Thank you again for your note. If you want to keep up with what's going on at the Hotel, our specials, and events in Tombstone, look us up on the web or Facebook..

See you soon!

Angela Durrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellton, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Tombstone Grand Hotel because it was close to Old Tombstone the staff was really sweet when we checked in and even told us were we could go for dinner and the room was nice a clean and couldn't ask for anything better. Will stay there again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawnnita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Awww, we're so glad you enjoyed staying with us, and congratulations on your nuptials! We're so pleased we could make your celebration a good one, and look forward to having you return soon. If you want to keep up on our specials, news, and events in Tombstone, look us up on the Web and on Facebook!

Thank you so much again for your lovely comments. We're really happy about that.

Angela Durrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed for two days on a Friday and Saturday the end of August with our two granddaughters. The hotel's cleaning and maintenance services were atrocious ! In the first room we were assigned, the room was sweltering because the air conditioning was busted and we had to have our room switched for another. While at the front desk, I overheard that air conditioners in other rooms were also not working. Not a good sign ! In our second assigned room, the bathroom sink drain was sluggish and barely working. I reported it to the person at the front desk who replied that it was after 3 pm and their maintenance man had already gone for the day and that she would have it checked the next day.

The next day arrived -- not only did the maintenance man never show up to repair the broken drain, but when we returned to our room late in the day, the room was inexplicably not cleaned and tidied by housecleaning ! We were left to use the same soiled towels, messy beds and no paper products were re-filled. Again, I returned to the front desk, only to be told that the maintenance man doesn't work on weekends and she had absolutely no answer as to why our room was not cleaned ! She seemed annoyed at my complaints and arrogantly handed me a Trip Advisor feedback card to put my complaints there !

I was stunned at the attitude of the personnel ! Throughout our lives, we have stayed at numerous hotels, but never remember ever having such poor and indifferent customer service ! I don't think the Holiday Inn Express which used to own this hotel would have ever managed this place in the manner in which it is run now ! Oh, and by the way, there was an infestation of large black beetle insects surrounding the area of the front walkway of the hotel and pool areas. Also saw a few even entering the lobby !

I would never ever stay at the Tombstone Grand again, nor recommend this ill-run hotel to anyone ! Don't waste your money ! There are other hotels around Tombstone to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience with us. We’re sorry that you felt inconvenienced during your visit and offer our sincere apology for the issues you encountered. We have a firm commitment to guest happiness, and will act to remedy issues you pointed out in your review. As for the beetles – these are an unfortunate part of life in the high desert during monsoons as the season winds down. We do have pest control policies in place and treat the property regularly with preventives.

If you will contact our Operations Manager, John Mesenbourg, at jmesenbourg@mac.com , we would like to discuss the matter further with you and see if we can correct the situation. We look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you again for taking time to leave a response.

Angela Durrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

You can hear everything in these rooms. from people outside, next door, and underneath! there's no elevator to the 2nd floor. place smells really funny and they use some cologne smell to try and cover it or somthin

but on the bright side, bed is clean. bathroom is ok. clean enough

The staff is friendly. the rooms have plasma Tv's which was nice to plug my laptop into and hdmi it to the tv and watch a movie from my laptop. they have internet too with wifi.

some good things, some bad. will be trying another hotel next visit. wasn't worth the price for a lot of the headache for us

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We're sorry you had some noise problems during your stay with us. On your next visit, we would be happy to place you in a more secluded portion of the hotel where it is less likely to hear others. Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything you need; if we are able to provide it, we will do everything in our power to make it happen.

We're glad you plan to return again, and hope that your next stay is more peaceful. Thanks for leaving a comment and letting us know how you felt.

Angela Durrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annoeullin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We really enjoyed this place as we spent one night while visiting Tombstone. Confortable and clean, nice and helping staff, good breakfast, enjoyable swiming pool,...and so much more charm than those side of the road motels. We would advise to anyone willing to spend the night on a Tombstone visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christophe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for saying so! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Visit us on the web or Facebook to keep up on our guest specials, events, and events in Tombstone. Lots of great stuff coming up!

Angela Durrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

One of the only newer hotels in Tombstone. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall hotel was clean. My only complaint was that breakfast was over way too early. Especially on a Sunday they should stay open until at least 10:30!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is quieter but no elevator!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deb03traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tombstone
1.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
21.5 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
#6 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Larian Motel
Larian Motel
#1 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tombstone Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tombstone Grand Hotel

Property: The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Address: 580 W Randolph Way, PO Box 1730, Tombstone, AZ 85638-2603 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tombstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tombstone
#4 Family Hotel in Tombstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tombstone Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on top of a hill overlooking historical Tombstone, The Tombstone Grand Hotel is an ideal vacation spot in the West's most western town. The hotel offers panoramic views from almost every guest room. Stroll down to the Boot Hill Cemetery and see how the old time cowboys lived and died in Tombstone. Then make your way to Allen Street and the rest of Tombstone, where the Wild West comes alive again. From the Birdcage Theater to the OK Corral, Tombstone has it all and The Tombstone Grand Hotel will provide you with a wonderful place to stay! Our friendly knowledgeable staff will ensure your stay will be both pleasant and relaxing, as well as providing concierge services for restaurants and attractions throughout the Tombstone area. If you are here on business the hotel offers high speed Internet access in every room along with wireless access in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tombstone Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tombstone
Holiday Inn Express Tombstone
Holiday Inn Tombstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing