We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return nor recommend !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed for two days on a Friday and Saturday the end of August with our two granddaughters. The hotel's cleaning and maintenance services were atrocious ! In the first room we were assigned, the room was sweltering because the air conditioning was busted and we had to have our room switched for another. While at the front desk, I overheard that air conditioners in other rooms were also not working. Not a good sign ! In our second assigned room, the bathroom sink drain was sluggish and barely working. I reported it to the person at the front desk who replied that it was after 3 pm and their maintenance man had already gone for the day and that she would have it checked the next day.

The next day arrived -- not only did the maintenance man never show up to repair the broken drain, but when we returned to our room late in the day, the room was inexplicably not cleaned and tidied by housecleaning ! We were left to use the same soiled towels, messy beds and no paper products were re-filled. Again, I returned to the front desk, only to be told that the maintenance man doesn't work on weekends and she had absolutely no answer as to why our room was not cleaned ! She seemed annoyed at my complaints and arrogantly handed me a Trip Advisor feedback card to put my complaints there !

I was stunned at the attitude of the personnel ! Throughout our lives, we have stayed at numerous hotels, but never remember ever having such poor and indifferent customer service ! I don't think the Holiday Inn Express which used to own this hotel would have ever managed this place in the manner in which it is run now ! Oh, and by the way, there was an infestation of large black beetle insects surrounding the area of the front walkway of the hotel and pool areas. Also saw a few even entering the lobby !

I would never ever stay at the Tombstone Grand again, nor recommend this ill-run hotel to anyone ! Don't waste your money ! There are other hotels around Tombstone to choose from.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience with us. We’re sorry that you felt inconvenienced during your visit and offer our sincere apology for the issues you encountered. We have a firm commitment to guest happiness, and will act to remedy issues you pointed out in your review. As for the beetles – these are an unfortunate part of life in the high desert during monsoons as the season winds down. We do have pest control policies in place and treat the property regularly with preventives.

If you will contact our Operations Manager, John Mesenbourg, at jmesenbourg@mac.com , we would like to discuss the matter further with you and see if we can correct the situation. We look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you again for taking time to leave a response.

Angela Durrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

You can hear everything in these rooms. from people outside, next door, and underneath! there's no elevator to the 2nd floor. place smells really funny and they use some cologne smell to try and cover it or somthin

but on the bright side, bed is clean. bathroom is ok. clean enough

The staff is friendly. the rooms have plasma Tv's which was nice to plug my laptop into and hdmi it to the tv and watch a movie from my laptop. they have internet too with wifi.

some good things, some bad. will be trying another hotel next visit. wasn't worth the price for a lot of the headache for us

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We're sorry you had some noise problems during your stay with us. On your next visit, we would be happy to place you in a more secluded portion of the hotel where it is less likely to hear others. Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything you need; if we are able to provide it, we will do everything in our power to make it happen.

We're glad you plan to return again, and hope that your next stay is more peaceful. Thanks for leaving a comment and letting us know how you felt.

Angela Durrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We really enjoyed this place as we spent one night while visiting Tombstone. Confortable and clean, nice and helping staff, good breakfast, enjoyable swiming pool,...and so much more charm than those side of the road motels. We would advise to anyone willing to spend the night on a Tombstone visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christophe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thanks for saying so! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Visit us on the web or Facebook to keep up on our guest specials, events, and events in Tombstone. Lots of great stuff coming up!

Angela Durrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

One of the only newer hotels in Tombstone. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall hotel was clean. My only complaint was that breakfast was over way too early. Especially on a Sunday they should stay open until at least 10:30!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is quieter but no elevator!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb03traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was a gem in the desert! The front desk staff were very friendly, the room was spacious and clean, and the overall atmosphere was great. We didn't get the opportunity to use the pool since we arrived so late, but it looked very clean and inviting. The breakfast was pretty good with a decent selection of both hot and cold foods. After check-out, we left a pair of glasses. Once we realized it severl hours and several miles later, we called the front desk. They went back into the room, even though they already had new members checked in, and were able to find that they had fallen behind the dresser. The staff packaged them up for us and kept them for safe-keeping until our return trip 11 days later! We couldn't have asked for more helpful staff!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRANDIW247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had 2 rooms: 3 grandsons aged 5, 7, 11 and 4 adults. Great hotel-clean, good breakfast but most of all the service was excellent. Daryl and Ana Maria at the front desk made us feel as though we were the only guests and that they couldn't do enough for us. Everyone on the staff that we encountered was friendly, polite, and helpful. I enjoyed talking to Jim as he was cleaning up the place. After 5 previous trips tp Tombstone in 10 years, I can't see staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Glad you had such a pleasant stay, and REALLY glad we were able to help find and return your glasses! Come back and see us soon!

Angela Durrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a great place to go for an anniversary. We spent two nights and were able to get restful and peaceful sleep all through the night. Everyone there was extremely kind and cionsiderate to us and really made us feel as if we were long lost family that had returned home...Great place, Great people. The food was hot, filling and delicious...there was an assortment of food that would please anyone. I have been wanting to go to Tombstone for the past five years and finally this was my year and it was not disappointing. It was all I had ever dreamed it would be....now to retire and move there. :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_M_Harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Come on back. We'd be glad to have you. ;)

Angela Durrell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tombstone
1.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
536 reviews
21.6 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 23 in Sierra Vista
603 reviews
21.5 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bisbee
327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
#6 of 9 in Tombstone
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tombstone Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tombstone Grand Hotel

Address: 580 W Randolph Way, PO Box 1730, Tombstone, AZ 85638-2603 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Location: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tombstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tombstone
#4 Family Hotel in Tombstone
Price Range: $88 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tombstone Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on top of a hill overlooking historical Tombstone, The Tombstone Grand Hotel is an ideal vacation spot in the West's most western town. The hotel offers panoramic views from almost every guest room. Stroll down to the Boot Hill Cemetery and see how the old time cowboys lived and died in Tombstone. Then make your way to Allen Street and the rest of Tombstone, where the Wild West comes alive again. From the Birdcage Theater to the OK Corral, Tombstone has it all and The Tombstone Grand Hotel will provide you with a wonderful place to stay! Our friendly knowledgeable staff will ensure your stay will be both pleasant and relaxing, as well as providing concierge services for restaurants and attractions throughout the Tombstone area. If you are here on business the hotel offers high speed Internet access in every room along with wireless access in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tombstone Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tombstone
Holiday Inn Express Tombstone
Holiday Inn Tombstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing