We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tombstone Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
GreenLeadersBronze level
Livingston, Texas
1 review
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Clean place on the hill. Staff was very friendly and had events planned for each nights stay. Front desk gave me information on shows and tours of Tombstone. Front desk went out of their way to bring in a requested item for us from the local store. We had a great nights sleep and were not disturbed. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    272
    138
    66
    55
See reviews for
363
368
38
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our 20th anniversary and we came all the way from Alaska to stay there! We had high expectations and we were not disappointed! The room was clean and had everything we needed, it was away from the hustle and bustle of the noise of Allen Street. We could not have chosen better anywhere! We found the breakfast to be suitable but a little dry. The swimming pool man had quit so the pool was not okay to swim in, but the hot tub was good (That was not a normal happening and was out of the blue)....I must say that my favorite part was the firepit outside in the evenings! I absolutely LOVED that!! It is gorgeous there at the hotel and I would stay there again...ANYTIME!! <3

Room Tip: Request the back to look out at the stars and the fire-pit! It's amazing! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaskansonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
SO pleased to hear you had such a good time! We're also sorry that the pool was unavailable, but it is now back in working order with a new pool attendant, so that has been resolved. We hope you'll return again soon. Look us up on Facebook or at our homepage on the web so you can keep tabs on special offers and events!

Thanks again for your kind note!

Angela Durrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the Tombstone Grand Hotel while we toured the area. We found the rooms to be very comfortable and clean. The pool was a big hit with our granddaughter and the spa was the place for me. The breakfast bar had a good variety and the great room where it was served was also quite clean. The laundry room was in a good location for me as it was just down the hall from our room.I liked the fact that the room entries were inside,this made me feel very safe and secure.If we return to the area we will be sure to stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to let us know about your experience with us! We're glad your granddaughter enjoyed the pool -- it's HOT right now! -- and that you were comfortable.

Please consider us for a return visit; you can look us up on the web or find us on Facebook to receive special offers and event announcements.

Thanks again!

Angela Durrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here two nights while touring Tombstone. Nice place to come back to after a long day on the road ( San Diego to San Antonio).felt great to get into clean pool and spa after hoofing it all day around Tombstone with wife and our two teenage boys. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast bar. Enjoyed fire pit at night while gazing up at the heavens. ( psalm 19 ) definetly would stay here again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
What a lovely review! Thank you so much for your kind and poetic words. San Diego to San Antonio is indeed an arduous trip, and we're very happy we could provide a little tranquility along your journey.

Sincerely,

Angela Durrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We highly recommend The Tombstone Grand Hotel. The staff were friendly & very accomodating. The rooms were clean & spacious. The common areas were beautiful. They offer nightly family activities (bingo, board games , fresh popcorn) & light the beautiful fire pit outside every evening. The pool & hot tub were lovely and handicap accessible. The free morning breakfast buffet offered many choices: fresh fruit, cereal, muffins, biscuits & gravy, eggs & sausage. Several Tombstone restaurants offer discounts if you show them your room key.
We would not hesitate to return to The Tombstone Grand Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodibe63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking a few minutes to say such lovely things! We're so glad you had such a good time and enjoyed all the activities; we try to make it fun for our guests and welcome all feedback and suggestions.

Hope to see you again soon!

Angela Durrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stay at The Tombstone Grand Hotel every year when we travel to Tombstone to visit my parents. It is, by far, the best hotel in Tombstone. It is the only hotel in Tombstone where all the rooms are self-contained within the building and open in and out of hallways; which makes me feel more secure. All the other hotels in town have their rooms open to their outside parking lots. The staff at The Tombstone Grand Hotel is so friendly and accommodating. When you stop by, ask for Maddie, the manager. She is so friendly and does her best to make your stay with them feel as if you are staying with family. From the fresh baked cookies and lemonade they put out every day for their guests, to the hot breakfast they serve every morning, you will feel very cared for. The pool and Jacuzzi are a great way to cool down and relax after a day of sight-seeing, or if you prefer, you can sit outside by the fire-pit munching on smores while gazing up at the spectacular Arizona sunset or amazing night sky filled with billions of stars and galaxies that you cannot see when you come from a big city. The kids can even watch a movie in the breakfast area every night while enjoying fresh popped popcorn from their home-style popcorn machine. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated. I highly recommend the Tombstone Grand Hotel for your family visit to Tombstone. Maddie even offers special discounts for larger groups; reunions, conferences, birthday parties, etc. Check them out - I know you will love your stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Wow!! Thank you so much! And yes, isn't Madie super? :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you can get past the slow check-in and scorpion in the room, it's not a bad hotel. It's Arizona afterall! Our son enjoyed the pool & hot tub while hubby smoked his cigar by the fire pit. Our room faced east & the beautiful mountains. Breakfast & coffee was good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxanaRojoYantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela D, Public Relations Manager at The Tombstone Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in spite of the uninvited guest in your room. We do have a very proactive pet management program, and are extremely vigilant about the safety and well-being of our guests. However, this is the high Sonoran desert, and some of its denizens drop by to say hi now and again. Had you notified us of the issue while staying with us, we would have immediately and gladly taken care of the problem for you.

Thank you for taking time to leave your comments. We welcome your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tombstone
1.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
21.5 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
#6 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Larian Motel
Larian Motel
#1 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tombstone Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tombstone Grand Hotel

Property: The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Address: 580 W Randolph Way, PO Box 1730, Tombstone, AZ 85638-2603 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tombstone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tombstone
#4 Family Hotel in Tombstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tombstone Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on top of a hill overlooking historical Tombstone, The Tombstone Grand Hotel is an ideal vacation spot in the West's most western town. The hotel offers panoramic views from almost every guest room. Stroll down to the Boot Hill Cemetery and see how the old time cowboys lived and died in Tombstone. Then make your way to Allen Street and the rest of Tombstone, where the Wild West comes alive again. From the Birdcage Theater to the OK Corral, Tombstone has it all and The Tombstone Grand Hotel will provide you with a wonderful place to stay! Our friendly knowledgeable staff will ensure your stay will be both pleasant and relaxing, as well as providing concierge services for restaurants and attractions throughout the Tombstone area. If you are here on business the hotel offers high speed Internet access in every room along with wireless access in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Tombstone Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tombstone
Holiday Inn Express Tombstone
Holiday Inn Tombstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing