We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality!”

Big Nose Kates Saloon
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Tombstone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Palmer, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hospitality!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place was really great and I felt totally comfortable! They had us take a picture of my hubby in the coffin with me holding a noose around his neck! btw, their nachos are HUGE!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alaskansonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    439
    160
    36
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Door-Swingin' Good Time”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

To kick off a trip to visit my friend in Arizona we hit up Tombstone for a taste of the Wild West and came upon Big Nose Kate's. It was everything 2 gals from the East Coast could dream of in terms of a door-swinging, booze-slinging grand ole time.

We took a quick trip down to Tombstone after my arrival at Sky Harbor with our final destination of the day being Flagstaff. Don't ask why, but we ignored the suggestions of others that told us "YOU ARE INSANE" for trying to drive from Phoenix, to Tombstone, and then all the way back to Flagstaff in one day (in retrospect I would not recommend this undertaking as it was around 8 hrs of driving, not to mention I had already flown 5 hrs that day).

With such a lengthy drive ahead of us we planned a quick trip to Tombstone and an even quicker visit at Big Nose Kate's. The drive proved worth it when we hit the door of this bar. It was the epitome of what I had imagined Tombstone to be.

After taking in all the signs out front and the "awesomeness" inside, we sat down at the bar and ordered two "Big Nose Kate" drinks which the bartender informed us had "a little bit of everything" in them. While sipping on them and realizing a slight "buzz" was coming on another employee asked us if we wanted to take fun pictures around the bar. Of course we did! We climbed up on the piano and the bar and had a little photo-shoot complete with oversized wine bottles, feathered boas, and guns (not loaded guns). It was everything we wanted from the moment we walked in and saw the "Vigilante Justice" stained glass window.

Although we could only stay for one drink (we still had to drive up to Flagstaff!) it was well worth the trip to Big Nose Kate's. The atmosphere and employees gave us just what we wanted in a Wild West experience and made our extremely long drive to Flag well worth it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaitlyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The food was very good, The brisket is delicious. The waitress was fabulous . The waiters and waitresses are in cowboy and dance hall outfits.The atmosphere is that of the old west saloon and dance hall. Was lots of fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deanalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have been to Tombstone a number of times and most places I didn't go back into, but Big Nose Kates is a must go to. Love the stained glass windowss

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 63angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great atmosphere, lively music, friendly staff.We had photos taken with our own cameras by a member of staff in the bar which was good. We enjoyed looking downstairs in the shop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mdsh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Nose Kates Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing