We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the Most Fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tombstone Monument Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
Certificate of Excellence
las vegas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the Most Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were looking for something fun fun our grandson to do in Tombstone after seeing all the shootout shows. So we went to Apache Spirit Ranch to do some horseback riding. The trail guides were the best and the horses were well behaved. My grandson rode Johnny Ringo and the horse obeyed all his commands and this was the first time he's been on a horse.
Next year we'll be staying at the ranch. I wish I had known about this place before. We went to the saloon to wet our whistles after the trail ride and ended up leaving at around 10 that evening, playing pool and darts. The owner gave us a behind the scenes tour and told us about the history of the Apache.
All the staff we met were very friendly and the prices on food and drinks are the best in Tombstone. Do yourself a favor the next time your in Tombstone and visit the Apache Spirit Ranch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank motoxlasvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    36
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
85
109
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A WONDERFUL western themed resort with all of the latest amenities and a staff that make you feel welcome & appreciated. You will fall in love with this resort as we did and you will want to make this a resort that you frequent often.
The Apache Spirit Ranch has guided horseback riding in the Tombstone, Arizona desert..which is a must do!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen Turkeyc... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I went for a nice weekend getaway with my in laws. It was very cozy and the staff was very friendly. Our room was modern, clean and comfortable. The overall experience was made more western when The Tombstone Vigilantes made an appearance at the ranch. We also enjoyed our horseback ride, it is a beautiful ranch and we are definitely coming back!

*We went during monsoon season, so be prepared to stay at the ranch when the washes get flooded.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meson_Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I can only agree to what Cat wrote in her review. I spent 10 days at the Apache Spirit Ranch in Arizona with my 9 year old daugther. We had a great time there. Even though there were not so many other children my daugther just loved the Ranch. The Apache Sprit Ranch team was a big reason for that. Everybody always had a friendly word for her, took time to explain something or joked around. She spent lots of time with the horses and Bard and Gary assured she was always safe. She was a bit scared in the beginning, because prior our arrival she only rode smaller ponies. The two wranglers found the right horse for her, took her for a small lesson and gave her the confidence she needed to go on trail rides with us every day. Her favorite horse was one of the older horses and I must say I'm glad it was there. She felt safe and secure and I felt the same way. The horse did not jump around and carefully carried her through the rocky parts of the trails. All horses have been in great shape and are a lot of fun to ride as they are perfectly trained. No "nose to tail big group size" trail rides where the horses just follow each other no matter of your riding skills. Instead of that small groups and the rides were splitt in beginners and advanced, so that everybody just got what they were looking for. We truely enjoyed the Ranch, had a brilliant vacation and will hopefully come back. The whole set up of the Ranch (rooms, saloon, main street,...) is just as it shows on their website. Everything is pretty and clean. A big thanks to Brad and Gary who took us on amazing rides every day (and even on our last day we rode a trail we did not ride before) but also to Dallas, Kirk and the rest of stuff whom we all enjoyed to chat along with.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have just returned from spending 9 days at Apache Spirit Ranch and am appalled the previous reviewers comments about the horses! None of the horses on the ranch are uncared for, Brad - the head wrangler - fusses over them like children and yes, while there are one or two older horses on the ranch, most of the horses are quite young. The older horses are not ridden on advanced rides and even the younger horses are rotated so they all get a break. The 4 year old mare I rode was put out to pasture for a two week break when I left, so the mention of uncared for horses infuriates me. All of the horses, without exception, are wonderfully schooled and very responsive - if the reviewer had an issue with her horse I doubt it was the horses fault. I also object to the comment about American guests - what a load of rot! While I am not American, there were several Americans who were at the ranch while I was there and everyone got on brilliantly, so I have no idea where that comment came from. Apache Spirit ranch has unbelievable trails, truly amazing horses - (the wranglers have the knack of finding just the right horse for everyone after a few rides) - and very nicely themed rooms. Everyone on the ranch is chatty and friendly and meals are eaten together in dining room which adds to the sense of community. I arrived on my own and left having met some really amazing people, I have no doubt I will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I spent 10 days traving around Arizona and the worst hour we spent was horseback riding here. the man who lead us did not speak to any of us. One women ask him his name and he mumbled something but the rest of us never found even found out his name. horses were old and did not look well care for. My horse barely walked and trail leader did not wait at any turns to see if we were following. Hear from locals later that owner told town peolpe he did not like Americans and did not want them to stay at his ranch. He can be sure these 2 Americans will never go back. Save your money and find somwhere eles to ride.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hikergirl1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApacheSpiritRanch, Manager at Tombstone Monument Ranch, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very truly sorry that your experience with the Apache Spirit Ranch was not satisfactory for you. I wanted to assure you that we are always working on improving our ranch adventure in all aspects. That includes the quality of staff, as well as, the quality of our horses.

I can promise you that we take good care of our horses, we offer free choice of food so they always can eat no matter what their riding schedule is. Also we rotate our horses and give them brakes.

I can assure you also, that we move young horses in our guest string quite regularly, just last week we added two 3-year-olds that will be trained to ride on the trail with the group and then be used for guests as well. In a well managed herd you will always have older and younger horses together , which is crucial for the guests to be able to ride a horse that matches their abilities and that, furthermore, can help the guest with insecurities. A young horse will never be able to take care of a beginner like a well trained and experienced guest horse. That is the main reason we also have good trained older horses on our ranch, so that beginner riders are secure, will have a good experience and gain confidence along the trail.

I would like to ask you to come back again when you are in the area, so you can try us again and see, that we take care of our horses, as well as, ALL our guests. No matter whether they are from the USA, Germany, England, Spain, Italy, or anywhere else. We are one big world and everybody is a part of it. Therefore our doors are open to everybody that wants to experience our wild west ranch adventure!

Sincerely,
Julia Hastings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed there in June 2011 and it was so much fun, just like in the movies. I loved that place. The rooms where amazing, from the ouside they looked like a part of town and the inside was modern, clean with great bathrooms.
All guests became good friends since it is a small place. We had meals together and went riding. It was just wonderful. They also had evening entreatment. It was in the middle of nowhere but wonderful maintained and the horse well keep.
So if you like a week of real western then this is the place to go. It was excellent

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tombstone
1.6 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
1.7 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
22.6 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
Tombstone Sagebrush Inn
#6 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.3 mi away
Larian Motel
Larian Motel
#1 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Monument Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Monument Ranch

Property: Tombstone Monument Ranch
Address: 895 West Monument Road, Tombstone, AZ 85638 (Formerly Apache Spirit Ranch)
Location: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Tombstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tombstone Monument Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest ranch is situated amidst ancient bolder formations of the Dragoon Mountains and is setup like an 1880's Western frontier town. We are 3 miles, down a dirt road, outside of Tombstone located in the heart of Cochise County, Arizona. Here you can step back in time to the era of the cowboy in our individually designed rooms; each with a unique historical Western theme. Experience the adventure of the historic Wild West with spectacular sunsets, sweeping views of sun-drenched terrain, dry creek beds, panoramic scenery and wildlife. Treat yourself to an historic Wild West adventure while enjoying all of the comforts and conveniences of the modern world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Tombstone Monument Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apache Spirit Ranch Hotel Tombstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing