We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the health department???”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tombstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Nugget B&BAllen Street
Ranked #13 of 13 Tombstone B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The place was filthy. There was hair and scum rings in the bathtub. The bathroom cabinets had people's personal items in them like they lived there when the rooms weren't rented. The floors had a walking path of filth. The carpets were stained badly. The furniture was not vintage, it was junk with people's body fluids stinking it up. The bed pillows stunk of body odor.

Room Tip: Don't stay there unless you want to take cooties, roaches, and bedbugs home with you.
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Milky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
There are newer reviews for Silver Nugget B&BAllen Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

The woman who owns this place is just plain rude. The rooms are old and dirty. There is nothing good to say.

Room Tip: Get it somewhere else.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank rene l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

On a recent trip to Tombstone, we booked our room a month in advance. We made double sure our room would be available, since there was more than one room required for our party. On arrival we were told, very rudely, that we had to wait 2 hours to check in. We were informed that there was no place to leave our bags in the interum. In the 2 hours we were having lunch, somehow, our room was rented to someone else. The occupants were shocked when the owner unlocked the room for us. I realize that over booking does occur, but with only four rooms in the hotel?! Gross incompetence!! To make matters worse the owners response was not apologetic,her response was "what do you expect me to do about it". We did manage to retrieve our money and she reluctantly compensated us for the difference in price we incurred. All in all the experience was very bad and chewed up time that we could have spent enjoying the rest of Tombstone, which in contrast, was friendly and acommodating. This place is bad news for anyone traveling to tombstone. However, I feel we dodged a bullet by not staying there after the owners surly attitude, i didn't want to give this woman my hard earned money. We were treated like an inconvenience. I highly recommend a boycott for this hotel!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Victoria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We are retired in Lake Havasu City, AZ. and decided with our friends, to take a little motorcycle tour around our State, including a stop in Tombstone. We made our reservation about 3 weeks in advance and arrived around 11 a.m. at the Silver Nugget.

While our husbands parked the bikes, my friend and I decided to go inquire when check-in time would be - we entered the building from the front - signage was lacking. On entering, there was an ice cream counter, a gift shop and a saloon at the back, no reception desk, office or anything similar. No-one seemed to be there, so we called out "hello" a few times and a woman came out from the dark bar in the saloon where she had been sitting with a few patrons and said "what do you want?" in a very unfriendly manner as if we were disturbing her socializing.

We said we had a reservation for two rooms and wondered who we should speak to. Without even confirming our reservation, she abruptly said check-in was at 1 p.m. and we would have to come back then. When we asked if she had a place to temporarily store our small bags, she gave us another abrupt response "No". We maintained our friendly approach and said we would return after lunch.

On our return two hours later, she then checked our reservation and advised us she had only one room available and that the second one had been double-booked and was occupied. She also sarcastically informed us that the small parking area at the back was probably full by now so there would be no parking space for us.

By then we were not feeling so friendly, and our husbands entered the building to find out the good news. She was not as hostile with them, and we were later advised by a few local store owners that she "does not like other women". We were also told that she is the new OWNER!!! of the establishments (ice cream, saloon, "hotel", etc.). We are sorry to say this woman's very poor attitude will drive business away in a matter of months.

We ended up cancelling our reservations. After much discussion with our husbands, she resentfully gave us a small cash compensation for the upgraded price we would have to pay elsewhere as last minute walk-ins (thank goodness there were some other rooms in the town!). She literally threw the money at my husband! We went on our way.

Do NOT patronize this establishment(s). After reading the other reviews about the four rooms at the Silver Nugget, I am honestly pleased we did not stay overnight. Sounds pretty bad.

Note: I understand there is Karaoke Fri/Sat(?) nights, right under your bedroom..........

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Ooops. What seemed a nice room in the evening light did not look so good in the morning. Nail clippings in the carpet, dirt in the sinks, a fire extinguisher with a three year out of date certificate. Empty beer bottle left on the balcony along with literally hundreds and hundreds of cigarette ends. Electrical fittings in the kitchen with exposed wires!!

No spare loo paper.

Breakfast never materialised. The staff had all gone home around 8.30 pm and left us completely alone in the hotel/bar. There was a phone number to call for assistance in emergency, but no phone!!

In the morning we found some milk cartons and some cereal boxes but the milk was three months past its use date.

Once the staff finally arrived at 8.30 am, we complained to them, they simply slammed the door in our face, saying, "You don't know how little they pay us for this!!!"

We eventually got a full refund and left without apology or explanation from the staff.

In the scheme of things, Tombstone was one of our best locations to visit, very friendly, helpful people everywhere and this hotel may well be the closest we will ever come to living the rough, bawdy life of a western rough house town, so we can laugh at it and move on.

But never, ever again!!!!! Avoid this one like the plague.

Room Tip: Go somewhere, anywhere, else.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Avery-Little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We had been to Tombstone many times, never overnight. So we decided to try this place out. We stayed in the "John Wayne room". The only thing "John Wayne" about it was the old-faded cardboard cut-out in the corner. The room was filthy and had a funky B.O. smell. The neighbors started to yell at 3a.m. and woke us up. Three women 1 man 1 bed and some "relative" problems. One of the ladies had her time of the month and left evidence of this repeatedly on the toliet seat. The man walked in on me, as the door did not lock. I blocked the door and yelled for my husband as soon as it opened. We were saved by a can of lysol, our own beach towels, travel blankets and paper towel. Breakfast consisted of an old wrapped muffin, a set of dirty coffee mugs and coffee pot. With no coffee or tea in sight. It was like that old "I Love Lucy" episode where they traveled across country and stayed in that room by the railroad tracks and the owner stole their steering wheel to make them stay. Well atleast that owner was there...If the bar was not open we had no one to call or given anyone to contact . We went to the birdcage for the latenight tour and did not see the room until late and no other rooms in the area were available. The next day after a wonderful breakfast OUT, we spent the day going to 70% of the local stores. They all told us what we already learned...do not stay there. They directed us to some other B&B's in the area. We went to several and they were all wonderful. The owners were all onsight,friendly and screened all the potential guests for everyone's enjoyment and safety. The Breakfast that were given were that of actual food, not leftover bakery. I actually had my first asthma attack in years at this place. If you want to stay in a filthy room with bloody inbreds for "roomies" than this is your place..

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank likestoseeusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Loved it here. It is seems so authentic. The balcony overlooks the famous Allen Street, and it is relaxing to enjoy a glass of wine while thinking over the events of the past. It is right opposite the Birdcage Theatre. We stayed in the Rose Room and it was quirky, large and clean - although the bed linen wasn't ironed (not the end of the world). The owner was a real character. There was a bar underneath and an ice cream parlour. It gave us all a real sense of the wild west. The breakfast was self service - if you are wanting luxury and lots of room service don't stay here, it is not about that. More a bed and breakfast than hotel, but great fun.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annesleySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tombstone hotels
0.9 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
2.3 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Larian Motel
Larian Motel
#1 of 9 in Tombstone
813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allen Street Inn
Allen Street Inn
#3 of 13 in Tombstone
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Virgil's Corner Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Nugget B&BAllen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Nugget B&BAllen Street

Address: 520 East Allen Street, Tombstone, AZ 85638
Location: United States > Arizona > Tombstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Tombstone
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing