We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Entertaining and Historical”

Tombstone Trolley Tour
Ranked #2 of 10 Tours in Tombstone
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Enjoy a 25 minute Historical Tour aboard the Tombstone Trolley Car as our expert conductors share with you the History, Legends and Lore that has shaped Tombstone into the "Town Too Tough to Die." Tickets may be purchased online, at our Trolley Depot or at Old Tombstone Western Theme Park. Save your tickets for discounts on Gunfights, Museums, Mine Tours, Restaurants and more! Don't forget our haunting hour long "Ghost and Murder Tours" on Friday and Saturday nights at dusk. We will leave no Tombstone unturned! Wheelchair Access. On/Off Service is available to the Boothill Graveyard.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Activities for young children
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Entertaining and Historical”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Being from Tucson, my husband and I thought we pretty much knew all there is to know about Tombstone. We come here several times a year and have read books on the "Town Too Tough to Die"; however we were pleasantly surprised to learn a few new things.
All the main attractions are covered, such as the Boot Hill Cemetery, the Bird Cage Theater and the site of the OK Corral gunfight. The ride is fun and informative, the driver was witty and he kept it interesting throughout.
Quick note; on the second leg of the tour while the guide told some stories about hauntings and murders in Tombstone, a hearse came across an intersection right in front of the trolley! (I'm not sure if it was pre-planned but it was a nice touch and we all had a good laugh). I recommend this attraction to all.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HereComesTheSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    43
    20
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun and comfortable history tour”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The trolley is perfect for families where everybody gets a window seat and with comfort you are shown the various interesting parts of the town. Just about on every corner somebody was either shot or hanged. The tour guide makes the trip interesting, talking not just about the various historical gunfights, but also of other colorful characters of the past.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun for kids”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We did this first, the staff was very nice to the children. We learned a lot about the town, we were glad we went, we even returned for the evening ghost trolley, lots of fun. Our only caution-there are no stops, so be sure the kids hit the rest rooms before boarding, and there is no restroom at the station either.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sekhmetgizamau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Value for $6 Each”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We were late arriving in Tombstone and caught the last trolley. It was just great! Our driver actually extended our tour beyond the normal 30 minutes. My husband and I learned long ago that we will get a lot more out of a town or city if we do a paid tour first as an overview if the town or city has a lot of history or is large. We also got a great tip for a restaurant in nearby Bisbee from our tour guide and 10% off of the wonderful meal.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KenaiSeamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Tombstone trolley provides quick overview”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The tombstone trolley is motorized and enclosed, operated by a costumed driver who narrates and interacts with passengers during the tour. The route travels the perimeter of the town, and passes by all of the major sites: several notable homes, the courthouse, mine, shoot-out site, and boot hill graveyard. The tour is a good value, and provides a quick overview (25-minutes) of the town, showing how large it actually is; it's more than simply the historic downtown.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank kim u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tombstone Trolley Tour also viewed

 

Been to Tombstone Trolley Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing