We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite a ghost town”
Review of Fairbank

Fairbank
Ranked #14 of 32 things to do in Tombstone
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once a railroad supply town of 100 people, Fairbank has since been abandoned.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not quite a ghost town”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Wonderful place to see some history and hike. Lots to see and the cemetery is spectacular. They have finished redoing the school house and are working on some of the other buildings...it is a fun place to spend a couple of hours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AZRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    25
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southwest, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Old Ghost Town”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Short drive outside Tombstone, go on days that the old school house are open, weekends for sure. Small book store and someone there to explain the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gatorman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An interesting side trip”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Some of the old buildings in the center of the ghost town are still standing though because they are not sound, we couldn't go in. You can only enter the schoolhouse, which has been turned into the visitor center and gift shop. The cemetery was interesting, eerily peaceful because it's located at the top of a hill. We trekked all the way to the site of the old mill and found the brick foundations. Overall, you'll have to use some imagination to picture what life was like in Fairbank in its heyday. I thought there would be more to see, but I guess this is what a real ghost town is like (and not some Hollywood ghost town). Still, it's an interesting side trip to make if you have the time for some real history.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vgoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Glacier Park
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hike the Loop Trail”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wife and I hike the loop trail. Out to the stamping mill and then back along the river. Great hike took about 3 hours. No steep grades unless you hike up to boot hill or above the stampimg mill. Take along lots of water this is the back country of the desert. No services at this location except for rest room at the start of the loop trail, will hook up with other trails in the area. Lot of wild life seen along the hike.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RayMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, MA
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
260 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“Nice Old Ghost Town To Visit”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is one of the easiest Ghost Towns to visit as it is pretty much right off the road and it is quite easy to find. The old buildings were pretty cool although you can only go in the old schoolhouse which is the gift shop/office. We only had time to hike to the old cemetery which I thought was quite interesting. I would recommend visiting that as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zippy608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairbank also viewed

 

Been to Fairbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing