We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great gunfight re enactment”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of O.K. Corral

O.K. Corral
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.99*
and up
Day trip to Tombstone Arizona and San Xavier Mission from Phoenix
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Tombstone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Actual site of the famous 1881 Gunfight at the O.K. Corral in Tombstone, AZ. Subject of numerous Hollywood movies. See Wyatt Earp and Doc Holliday in daily reenactments. Stand where the legendary Gunfight began. Visit Doc Holliday's room. View over 100 photos of 1880s Tombstone and the Apache Geronimo taken by famous Tombstone photographer C.S. Fly. Open daily 9-5.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great gunfight re enactment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you care anything about the American old west this stop is a must. Great re enactment on the original site where the gunfight at the ok corral happened. Well acted with special note to gentleman who played Doc Holliday... He was superb. They also have a histogram a that is very educational.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    928
    508
    179
    46
    26
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfully pitched atmosphere of the Old West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I loved Tombstone as much as we hated Deadwood, South Dakota. Deadwood has fallen prey to the 21st century and everywhere we walked we felt like we were being milked. Tombstone is just the opposite. No cars in the principal section of Allen Street means that the Old West looks, feels and even smells as authentic as possible. Dozens of local people all in 1880s costumes add to the flavour, and they all stay in character throughout the day.
It's excellent value for just $10 a head to see the re-enactment of the shoot out, the diorama/movie of Tombstone's history, and receive a free facsimile of the town newspaper from the day after the shoot out.
Everyone was so friendly, and they clearly put a lot of work into making sure that visitors enjoy their time in the town. Thanks to all their efforts, Tombstone was one of the highlights of our trip to the US. We're glad we made the 400-mile round trip from Phoenix and would do it again without thinking twice.
Oh, and get some ice-cream from the charming lady in the little gelateria a couple of doors along from the Birdcage Theatre. She's like everyone's favourite grandma.

Helpful?
1 Thank nomi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
222 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A must see in Tombstone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Although the actual shoot out occurred in the alley where the sheriff's station is this is a must see to see the history, the re-enactment and the various wagons. Absolutely must see the historama narrated by the late great Vincent Price.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KGodinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luckycuss78, Owner at O.K. Corral, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
The Gunfight at the O.K. Corral did not occur in the alley where the Tombstone Marshal's Office is located today, although the town of Tombstone had signs labeling this as the Gunfight site for many decades. Instead, the Gunfight began a few doors West in the vacant lot next to C.S. Fly's Photographic Studio. This area is now part of the O.K. Corral Museum Complex and lifesized figures of the gunfighters are correctly located on this spot. The actual Gunfight site has been confirmed using a map drawn by Wyatt Earp himself, as well as maps reproduced in the Tombstone Epitaph and Tombstone Nugget newspapers who recorded the testimony and maps presented during the Earp-Holliday Inquest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great realistic Theatre!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

The OK Corral theatrical show performed on the actual site of the gunfight is fantastic.! The Doc Holliday character is as good as Val Kilmer's.! I also saw the other show Helldorado but to us they seem like old fat blokes playing at cowboys, awful in comparison to the OK corral show by Stephen Keith and his actors, yes actors being the key word here.! If ya go to Tombstone the OK Corral is a must and it's the only show in town IMHO ;-)

Helpful?
Thank GunslingerBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good story! Good acting! Very good service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We enjoyed the show and were pleased they let families with young ones sit on the front row, near the door, in case of need to make a quick exit. All employees were very knowledgeable and helpful, not only with merchandise and information in their own establishment but with the whole town in general. We all really liked the Historama, even my teens!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tamara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O.K. Corral also viewed

 

Been to O.K. Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing