We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Nunda River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Divundu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nunda River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The moment we arrived we had such a personal and warm greeting that it seemed a dream .
Throughout our stay the owner (Cameron ) and his Staff were so attentive and helpful and we felt so welcome . It is a beautiful lodge and the riverside setting is in an ideal location. We camped here on the banks of the river for 3 nights with the sound of Hippo's when you go to bed at night and when you wake up the next morning is something to always remember and will always bring a smile to your face. The river trip at sunset is also a great experience with more Hippo, Croc's and a great variety of Birds.
An experience not to be missed. PERFECT in fact

Room Tip: We stayed in a camping area on the banks of the Okavango with the sound of Hippo all around. Obviou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbsheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron W, Manager at Nunda River Lodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
This review really makes me wake up and realise that we are living in a small paradise. You make me get up out of my office and look outside once again to appreciate what we have. A big thank you for taking the effort to submit a review and a review like this really makes us want to do just that bit extra with all our guests.

here's wish you many happy travels and in particular, another visit to Namibia.

Cam & the Nunda Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    57
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
118
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stay there for 3 nights in Oct 2013. by far was one of the best places we stayed on our self drive round the delta trip. we spent hours just watching the pod of hippos right out side of our room. laughing about the funny noises they made and waking up to their funny hippo calls. we had a room right on the Kavango River, hippos just 20-30m's a way

we had plenty of hot water, good electrical points, hot water in the morning for "hippos & coffee" before breakfast. The lodge itself is set in beautiful gardens with one of the best pools of the whole trip and a super outside deck on the river for chilling out. Cameron, and his staff all very top professional and warm. We had meals every night in the lodge and I have to say being a "complete" wine head! that Cameron has one of the best wine cellars north of the orange river! he personally pairs wines with dinner every night. Ask him for a cellar tour if you have time!

we had a guided trip to the nearby Mahango and Buffalo Game Parks were most enjoyable, with abundant and varied game to be seen. after our 3 nights in paradise we were back to the camping sites, self supported, self driving we do. BTW, you can get gas and good supplies just a bit north of the lodge. safe and secure area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetfuel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda River Lodge, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
An apology for taking so long to reply to your review, but there was a glitch with TripAdvisor and/or my computer that did not allow me to respond to your review. Be that as it may, hopefully this one will appear.

Thank you for a most wonderful review and we are extremely pleased that you had a most enjoyable stay with us. It is always unfortunate that ones stay is generally limited to one or two days and time is always a factor and there is a new adventure just around the next corner, or in Namibia's case, the next stretch of road!

The wine is passion I have and all the wines in cellar are based on my personal liking/taste. Glad you enjoyed is all.

Here's to your next visit. Take care and happy travels.

Cameron & the Nunda Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My family of 5 arrived at Nunda Safari Lodge just before dinner after a long, cramped, and hot drive from Etosha. We were greeted warmly and personally shown around the beautiful lodge. Our two bungalows on the river had great decks to quietly enjoy the view as well as a gorgeous custom bathroom with a claw-foot tub. Within minutes we had drinks in hand feeling completely civilized again watching the sunset and hippos rolling in the river. A wonderful dinner followed with home-baked bread, good wine, and delicious dishes we had never enjoyed before.

The owners and staff manage to strike the perfect balance of comfort and elegance, simplicity and luxury, making you feel like the lucky guests at a private home and allowing you to learn a little about the area and its residents. I especially appreciated having locals staff the customer-facing positions. The lodge's deck is a real gathering place, and it was nice to see locals enjoying it in addition to my fellow travelers. My favorite part of travel is not having any expectations and experiencing something new. With travel becoming more like a commodity, Nunda Safari Lodge feels authentic.

The people and beautiful accommodations at Nunda made it one of our family's all time favorite travel experiences. So much so that we left our 4-star hotel in Chobe early to enjoy one more night at Nunda before returning south to Windhoek. We look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon5184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda River Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Shannon
Thank you very much for your effort in submitting a well-thought-of review. We are extremely pleased that you picked up on what we are trying to achieve and your comments nailed it. A big thank you from all of us and should you ever have the opportunity to return to Namibia, we would take it an honour of hosting you and your family again.

Until next time, take care.

Cameron & the Nunda Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

A wonderful lodge with fantastic views of the river and hippos. Fantastic warm welcome and very friendly and helpful staff. Our room had an outside bathroom which was lovely, what an experience to shower and watch hippos! The sunset cruise was very exciting getting pretty close to the hippos and spotting lots of wildlife and beautiful birds. If you are travelling nearby make this a place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda River Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Patricia, thank you for the effort of submitting a review on us, we really appreciate the effort and most of all, for a wonderful review. It is encouraging to receive such a positive review as it inspires us all to do that bit more. A big thank you.

We hope the rest of your holiday was just as enjoyable and we do hope that there is a return visit on your bucket list.

Until next time, take care and happy travels.

Cameron & the Nunda Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I could not find this establishment in the review list when I was doing the rest of reviews for our trip, hence the late inclusion. We had initially tried to get accommodation in a neighboring lodge where we had stayed on a previous visit two years ago. As that place was full, they suggested we tried Nunda River Lodge.

This is a well located property with a very spacious stoep, overlooking the river. A fine place to sit and take your sun downers. You can listen to the Hippos, and there is usually Fish Eagles on the river for visitors to experience "The call of Africa". It is conveniently situated for the local game reserves which although small in area, are generally very good.

The accommodation is well situated and several the rooms have a good outlook over the river. It is clean and well serviced.

Our main concern with Nunda River Lodge was the attitude of the management. I got the impression that we, the paying guests, were just an inconvenience.

The meals were well below the standard we expected. On our second night they had roast Lamb which was far to well done and dry, and probably would not have been served in many places. I complained, but they did not have a solution other than offering me chicken which I don't often eat. Timing for the breakfast meal was also no very well observed. It should have started at 07:00 but certainly did not start before 07:10 on our last morning. When visitors need to get on the road early it is no too much to expect service to start on time?

They have WiFi for which they charged N$20 a day, during our visit it was only available in the reception area. I travel to many parts of the world and this was the only establishment I have visited where we were asked to pay for WiFi.

We paid for three night in Nunda River Lodge, but left after the second night. We headed for Botswana, our next destinations. We considered forfeiting a nights accommodation cost a small price to pay, to find a place where the attitude of the management was better!

In our opinion, as frequent travelers in Southern Africa this establishment is certainly not doing Namibian tourism a very good service. In many years of travelling, it is one of the first places to be scratched from our list of accommodation.

My overall rating reflects the property but obviously has to consider other less agreeable issues.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty good. Make sure you have a Head Light or torch as the lights between the ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda River Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Al
Firstly, our sincere apologies that your stay with us was marred by the attitude of our management, and in all honesty, and in defense of the management, this is the first complaint about our management we've had since we opened our doors six years ago.

We take all our complaints and criticism very seriously, so this issue will be addressed accordingly.

Our meals are on par, if not better, than many establishments in Namibia and our guests can attest to that, but sadly, on occassion, a below-than-par meal does get served. We employ and train the local Hambukushu's and they, for the most part, do a sterling job. We do apologise that they did not provide a five star meal or meet the high standards that you are accustomed to. Your point is taken however and we thank you for raising it. There are no excuses for breakfast being late and it is not the norm, never. As mentioned, these issues will be addressed.

Wifi, an issue that has since been addressed some months ago and it is free for all guests.

It is very unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay and had I been available, I would have personally addressed your issues. An unjustified remark you made about doing the Namibian tourism a disservice is questionable, as we do go the extra mile and pride ourselves that we have many repeat well traveled guests from all over the world, We have a great establishment and we will continue to strive to exceed the standards expected of us.

Having read many of your reviews and having booked into the Chobe Marina Lodge, a very upmarket lodge in Kasane after Nunda, your review appears to be a case of a square peg in a round hole.

Wishing you happy travels.
Cameron & the Nunda Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I spent this past Christmas Eve and Christmas at Nunda Lodge and it absolutely exceeded my expectations. The lodge is absolutely beautiful and the atmosphere is very relaxed and homey. I could not have asked for a more welcoming and pleasant place to spend the holidays. The food was delicious and the views were breathtaking (with so many hippos all the time!). The staff is incredibly friendly and they go above and beyond to ensure that you have a great experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda River Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Julia. Thank you most kindly for the positive review and we are extremely please you enjoyed your stay with us. We do believe we have a special place and despite the odd setback, we do try and go the extra mile. Hopefully we will see you up here again some time. Until then, take care. Cameron & the Nunda team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

After a 6 1/2 hour drive from the Onguma Lodge, we arrived to this peaceful spot on the Nunda river. Very friendly reception and a gorgeous view of the river and hippos from our #28 hut. For me, the hippo sounds just make me laugh and this is a particularly fun way to start the morning and I'm not a morning person. Our hut was the farthest from the main lodge and wifi is only available at the lodge, not in the rooms. We didn't really have an issue with this. The huts are open-air style which means that you are dealing with all of the creepy crawlies and flying pests of the outdoors. We kept everything inside the suitcases and secure so as not to have any spider hitchhikers in our underwear. If you are fine with having an upscale camping experience then you'll love Nunda Lodge.
The best things were sunset drinks (great wine list!) on their terrace (or our porch) and a short drive to Mahunga Park which is like a "little Eden" - at times we felt like we were the only ones in the Park.
I would definitely recommend Nunda.
One small improvement to the cottage we were in would be to place a mesh screen between the top half of the open wall between the bathroom and the living quarters. This would effectively help shut out a lot of the insect traffic into the room and reduce the need to spray the "Doom" insect spray inside of the room…we had several dead damselflies after a our Doom dowsing and those aren't the problem insects. :-(
All-in-all it was a terrific stop on our trip - they've done a super job with their special place on the river.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoSweatTravelBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron W, Owner at Nunda River Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your effort in writing a review. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and yes, the sounds of the hippos at night lends itself to the African experience. Thank you for the pointer of the screen and the good news is, is that this is already on our "to-do-list" and all bungalows and chalets will have a screen separating the room from the open bathroom, thereby eliminating any bugs that may want to travel with you in your suitcase. Until next time, happy travels. Cameron & the Nunda Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Divundu
8.9 mi away
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
#2 of 4 in Caprivi Region
157 reviews
2.8 mi away
Divava Okavango Resort & Spa
Divava Okavango Resort & Spa
#3 of 29 in Caprivi Region
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Popa Falls Resort
Popa Falls Resort
#5 of 8 in Divundu
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mobola Lodge
Mobola Lodge
#3 of 8 in Divundu
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mukuku Rest Camp
Mukuku Rest Camp
#3 of 13 in Rundu
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
#4 of 8 in Divundu
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nunda River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunda River Lodge

Property: Nunda River Lodge
Address: | Kavango East Region, Divundu 5271, Namibia (Formerly Nunda Safari Lodge)
Location: Namibia > Kavango Region > Divundu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Divundu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nunda River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Nunda River Lodge Namibia/Divundu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing