We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
Nearby Hotels
Albergue Alma de Hatillo(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villas Rio Mar(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$90
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Lindo Resort(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Diuwak(Dominical)
$74
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roca Verde(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waterfall Villas(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel San Bada(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$119
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Prats Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveler rating
203
74
22
20
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
74
22
20
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownereco lodgecosta ricamanuel antoniopura vidaswimming poolsurrounded by natureevery morningwi fihidden gemparadise on earthrice and beansnice poolpeaceful placebeautiful birdsthe central pacific coasttake care
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 347 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Start with a sloth sighting right on arrival (like he was waiting!), a lovely pathway to a charming palapa with tables for dinner, and a beautiful inviting pool! This is how to start our adventure on the central Pacific coast of Costa Rica.

Christina and Manuel were lovely hosts. After showing us our private casita through a well manicured trail, we were surprised that we had a private veranda overlooking to we manicured grounds.

Its unbelievable the amount of love, sweat and care that Manuel and his crew must have put into this jungle setting in the last year. It is really beautiful.

The palapa was clean, nicely furnished and well appointed. A short stroll lead us to dinner under the palapa for a lovely chicken casado typical costa rican dish.

At night, I went out and found frogs, sloth, leaf cutter ants and heard birds. The birds also act as an alarm clock in the morning in a relaxing way.

Breakfast was buffet style and included. Other guests were there as well and it was great to discuss what they did the day before and exchange tips. Christina and Manuel were great to help up arrange a couple of trips that we would have otherwise missed. Nayauca Falls and a Mangrove tour.

If you need to catch up on email, the wireless in the main palapa area worked well for my iphone and ipad. It would drop if many people were using it, however this has been my experience in many other locales.

Fruit juices as well as adult beverages were available for a reasonable cost. ( I only had beer, but think they have fruity drinks and wine, however it's more of a laid back eco tour type environment, rather than a 'party at the resort' kind of place. If you looking for loud music and people partying, this wouldn't be your place. If you want relaxation and a quiet secure, safe and fun jungle adventure, this is it!!

We will definately return to this piece of paradise in Costa Rica! Thank you Christina and Manuel for a lovely, memorable, relaxing stay at La Palapa Eco Resort!

Room Tip: We had casita 8 and loved it, just a little way from pool and palapa, but all rooms seem really nice.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpn7330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We chose to stay at La Palapa on the south pacific coast for the last week of our 17 nights in Costa Rica to avoid the commercial excess of Manuel Antonio and to just chill out.What a great decision, 20 mins away from Manuel Antonio and yet in its own world in the village of Portalon.
We coudn't have wished for better hosts. Manuel, the owner, is a fanatical gardener and the grounds are a stunning array of exotic planting. As a bonus the place is full of birds, we saw a greater concentration of bird life at La palapa than we had seen anywhere else in Costa Rica, The bungalows are spotlessly clean, spacious, private. and the veranda is a great place to be with a long drink, by day or by evening. The pool quality was perfect and the Portugese fish casserole was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for Manuel and Christina and their enthusiasm for their envirinment was boundless. Just a short walk up the lane there was a pair of Chestnut-mandibiled Toucans nesting and a little further beyond you can take a dip in the pools and waterfalls of the river while watching Kingfishers.
Really good value, with quality!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim_Kathy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We finally left one day early although we were fully paid because it was such a negative, hostile and scary experience.

Thankfully we had two wonderful VRBO stays during our recent month-long trip to Costa Rica or La Palapa would have ruined our vacation. At first we were excited because the grounds are beautiful and the pool perfect. But then the owners became very overbearing and insistent on unreasonably controlling the behavior of their guests. The owner screamed at me 3 different times so that every guest on the property could hear.

This property shouldn't be listed on VRBO. It isn't a "villa," it's a bad hotel with bad service. The bungalow kitchens aren’t equipped enough to even make coffee or reheat leftovers. The living room had two twin beds and no comfortable furniture. We invited three couples we met who were also renting bungalows on the property to our living room for happy hour. Although there were only 5 bungalows on the property and the guests in our room represented most of those renters the owners actually showed up at 9:00 p.m. on Saturday night and angrily insisted that we were being rude to the other guests.

The owner repeatedly loudly verbally abused me for asking for something I could make tea in for our rental kitchen and at breakfast in the dining room. Although they had water carafes I was told I couldn’t use one. He screamed that I only wanted to use a kitchen because I was cheap and wanted to cheat the hotel. The owner actually said "you are to only use one tea bag per cup." When I suggested that the "customer is always right" especially since all I wanted for breakfast was hot water he screamed at me "no, not when the hotel is perfect." We asked one day to skip maid service and was told "No. We must go into your room every day."

The dinners were inedible at $20 per person. The owner loudly complained about hating to cook for vegetarians. The wireless only worked in the "restaurant" but you weren't allowed to bring even a bottle of water with you to check your messages. And if there were more than 2 people on the internet already you couldn't get on. When I said I needed to conduct some business the owner informed me that I shouldn't be working while I was there.

We received no notice of these very strict rules. We wouldn't have rented if they had made clear the lack of amenities/privacy as well as the control that the hotel owner expected to exert on his guests.

If you are expecting a low budget hotel this might be an okay place to stay. But we weren't. We were expecting to be able to treat our one bed-room like a little home away from home. Instead it was five days of trying to avoid raising the wrath of the owner.

Room Tip: Don't rent here unless you want to be mistreated and bullied by the owners.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MarnitaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbraganca, Owner at Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2014

People with drinking problems are not welcome to La Palapa.
This is the case of this couple that drunk all day Rum bothering at all times other guests.
Finally they decided o live earlier the resort because I did not tolerate this kind of behavior no longer, and also because other guests press them to live.
The review is based on lies that we are not aware that ever happen on the resort, because the lady threatened and promised that was going to all internet sites to say the worst about La Palapa, and for what we can read the promise was kipped.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nice place, But if you require Internet service, It does not work from your room, only from the Pool area which we were told. What we were not told is that the Internet service is extremely poor due to this place is so rural, and you have to try and log on to their service which takes you about 20 attempts, and then all of a sudden you find your disconnected,and this is a major problem,if you require good internet service.Other guests had the same problem,When I asked the owner why it was so bad, he said it was because of electrical surges on his property.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed two nights at La Palapa. The lodge is beautiful and quiet and the owners are very nice and service-oriented. The pool is amazing. A great place to stay for families. Two nice beaches are only a short drive away. You have easy access to the Manuel Antonio area but can avoid both the crowds and high prices.
Only minus: the cleanliness of the room was acceptable but not as excellent as the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slothsrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews