We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Internet Service at La Palapa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portalon
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nice place, But if you require Internet service, It does not work from your room, only from the Pool area which we were told. What we were not told is that the Internet service is extremely poor due to this place is so rural, and you have to try and log on to their service which takes you about 20 attempts, and then all of a sudden you find your disconnected,and this is a major problem,if you require good internet service.Other guests had the same problem,When I asked the owner why it was so bad, he said it was because of electrical surges on his property.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 336 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed two nights at La Palapa. The lodge is beautiful and quiet and the owners are very nice and service-oriented. The pool is amazing. A great place to stay for families. Two nice beaches are only a short drive away. You have easy access to the Manuel Antonio area but can avoid both the crowds and high prices.
Only minus: the cleanliness of the room was acceptable but not as excellent as the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slothsrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at La Palapa for 4 nights and loved our stay and our wonderful hosts. The location was perfect for us, very removed from the resort and tourist areas but only a short drive to amazing beaches, towns, and resturants. We had a car which I think is key to enjoying the area to the fullest. La Palapa is beautiful and the private bungalows were more than we hoped for. We had a large private patio where we enjoyed cocktails with local fruit daily. Breakfast is included and dinners are available nightly. The dinners were amazing and we ended up eating their most evenings as the food was delicious! The grounds are filled with flowers, birds, wildlife and a few noisy roosters (helped us get up early every morning and enjoy the day..). Cristina was amazing booked all our tours and provided us with much information before and during our staff. I really can't say enough about how lovely our stay was here. This is truly getaway experience. We will be back!

Room Tip: The bunglows are amazing, some have more private patios ask to have a patio that faces the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdavis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The pool is the perfect temperature. The bungalow is the perfect size and comfort. The gardens are the perfect lush. The breakfast is the perfect "typical". The hosts are the perfect hosts. The weather and surrounding areas are amazingly perfect. The location to beaches and swimming holes is perfect. Our stay in La Palapa was relaxing to the max, and a great vantage point to the attractions in the Manuel Antonio area.

Room Tip: All bungalows are well situated. We were directly in front of the swimming pool and still private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyP190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you're looking to get AWAY from the crowds but still within 20 minutes of all the excitement, this is your place! First: you should really have a car to stay here. Of course you can take public transit and taxis, but the whole point of staying a little "off the path" is that you have completely private beaches and access to locations where you will not find tourists. Our stay was lovely. The rooms are very spacious, tons of birds around the garden/property, very nice hosts, and good food. WiFi was available in the bar/dining area, but not in the rooms (which was nice). Everything was clean. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtwshr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We found la palapa almost by accident while travelling through and had a very pleasant two night stay, wiith some the best food we've seen in Costa Rica.enjoyed lazing by the pool in the lovely gardens, with moe wildlife than some of the national parks!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

La Palapa is right in the middle of nature. It is a place where you will disconnect with the outisde world since the moment you arrive. The cabins are comfortable and spacious, with a full kitchen and a lovely balcony.
Christina shared with us her knowledge about the area and thanks to her we visited the most amazing beaches in Costa Rica.
One important point: if you do not have a car, this is not the place to go, as it is right in the middle of nature.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portalon
11.9 mi away
Natuga EcoLodge-Villas and Natural Reserve
10.4 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
593 reviews
12.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
918 reviews
13.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
11.6 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort

Address: Meters From Main Road 800 | Manuel Antonio - Quepos - Puntarenas, Portalon 60602, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Portalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portalon
Price Range: $43 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Palapa EcoLodge Resort, that is called by the clients ¨THE LOST PARADISE¨, has a policy of practicing always the best and lowest prices of all region, and is located outside of the town of Portalon, offering an incredible wildlife variety of fauna and flora, that makes a perfect place and the paradise for passionate wildlife lovers. Served in its open-air restaurant, La Palapa offers a traditional Costa Rican breakfast, including fresh fruit and local dishes such as Gallo Pinto. Meat, fish, rice and bean dishes are on offer for lunch and dinner, and are prepared using produce grown on a local organic farm. The property also offers excellent powerful free WiFi. Our airy bungalows are painted with warm colors and decorated with unique original objects imported from North Africa, to create a very warm and special atmosphere. All are non-smoking, have very comfortable beds, ceiling fans, private terrace with bamboo table and chairs, cool tiled floors, private bathroom with hot shower, large furnished living room with an extra bed, fitted kitchen with refrigerator and screened windows that let in gentle breezes and melodic sounds from the jungle as you fall asleep. The most beautiful beaches of all Central America are inside the Manuel Antonio National Park, and the famous beaches of Matapalo with a sea Turtle Refuge Centre, Playa Linda, and Dominical are very near the resort. The La Palapa Resort is away from the confusion of tourist centers of the region but near everything and is considered one of the most beautiful and well-kept in Manuel Antonio - Quepos - Matapalo - Dominical and Uvita area, surrounded by unique tropical gardens with a Swimming-Pool with a large collection of rare plants, located in a virgin Tropical Rainforest, with 149 acres (60.5 Hectares) of land with a private waterfall only for the clients of the resort. This property also has always the best-rates compared with other locations in Manuel Antonio – Quepos – Dominical and Portalon area! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. This property is also rated for the best value in Manuel Antonio – Quepos – Dominical and Portalon area! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort Costa Rica/Portalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing