We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic gardens and relaxing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portalon
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic gardens and relaxing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

La Palapa is a fantastic place to stay for anyone looking to take it easy and soak up the atmosphere of lovely gardens, close to the rain forest and good beaches.
Christina and Manuel are very good hosts, and are in the process of making La Palapa a first class eco resort, having re-opened last year after seeing the potential and buying the place. As with any work in progress, there is still more to be done, but this is more than adequately reflected in the pricing. Our basic room did not have air-con or tv, but was clean and comfortable - and lets face it, there is no point coming somewhere like this and sitting in your room!
The pool area is quite and intimate, with many possibilities for spotting an amazing array of birds and other wild life. The home cooked evening meals are delightful, though a wider selection of beer, wine and spirits would have made things even better :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    61
    17
    18
    20
See reviews for
83
133
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Palapa as a couple for 4 nights. We had a bungalow near the pool, with kitchenette. The place is great and the grounds are extremely well kept. Unfortunately, we cannot say the same for the bungalow. Upon our arrival, we found the place less than clean. Floors hadn't been swept, the shower was not clean either and had spider webs. No hot water in the kitchen and cutlery and dinnerware were all dirty. Needless to say we had to wash everything (with cold water) before being able to use it. Seems bungalows are rented with the mention "fully equipped", but no-one probably uses the equipment. Not even a coffee machine, and the owner told us she could make us coffee at 3$ a cup!

The sheets were never changed during our stay.

Bring bug spray, we litterally got bitten alive! (specially during our sleep as there are no windows, only screens)

The place is also very quiet and although we cooked our own dinners, we saw that there was absolutely no "ambiance" at night and during dinners.

If you want absolute "quiet", this is the place to stay. Otherwise, it can get boring very fast.

This place has a lot of potential but needs to be worked on.

We also got the feeling that the owners were there for the money above and foremost.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nathalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannon Falls, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I took our first trip to Costa Rica in January. After research on Trip Advisor we booked 5 nights at La Palapa. It was the perfect place to stay. Near Manuel Antonio National Park, but away from the hustle and bustle of a tourist town and beautifully situated in a garden like location a mile from the main road. Christina and Manuel were wonderful hosts and we started each day out with a great breakfast. The beaches directly west of La Palapa were nearly deserted, but wonderful! You do need a car, but the location and experience made it all worthwhile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HWSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Portuguese couple.We just returned from Costa Rica. Hopefully we found "La palapa" ! It's the best place you can be to know the Pacific coast and the forest rain nearby. The accommodations are clean and well decorated. The resort is magnificent and beautiful with a very nice garden and untouched surroundings. Every morning you have the visit of lots of different birds, butterflies and others friendly little animals.The Resort is one of the best that we have known with a very familiar treatment, always with the sympathy and disponibility of the owners, Cristina, Manuel and their son, Tomás (a very nice kid!) We recommended it for all that would like a beautiful, quite, well located resort, with a very good relation quality/money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Augusto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My sister and I stayed at La Palapa from Jan 14-19 2013. I can not say enough about the wonderful hospitality from the owners Cristina, Manuel and Tomas! Our stay felt like they had nearly adopted us. Kristina helped book the tours and activities that we wanted to go to and Manuel helped us with transportation and told us where the best beaches were.

The property is extensive and covered with beautiful flowers and coconut trees. There is also a pool near the main office. Our bungalow was tucked back into the foliage. Clean and Bright. We woke up to toucans and monkeys outside almost every morning.

The resort is about a 15 min drive outside of Quepos. If you have a car then transportation will be no problem. However, if you don't plan on spending extra time figuring out bus schedules and waiting for them. My sister and I didn't have a car during our stay, but we just took it as part of the experience.

We had a wonderful experience and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotrgal922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My father and I traveled Costa Rica for 10 days and spend 4 nights here.
The grounds are vast and beautiful. We saw lots of wildlife just sitting by the pool.
the food was delicious and was always a surprise, Christina is an amazing cook and extremely personable.
I would recommend that you rent a car when staying here because its a bit out of the way. but there is lots to see all around, we didn't drive more than 30min to get to the locations.
I'd love to go back to Costa Rica as a whole and explore more but i'd be sure to make another stop here.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dior S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A friend and i stayed for four nights and were absolutely happy with the place. With the car it is only a short ride to Manuel Antonio and Uvita. Furthermore, in only 3 min one can go Matapalo and the best beach I visited in Costa Rica. Beautiful, no people and endless! If you are there, go for a horse ride! The hotel itself is very nice and clean. The owners are friendly and help wherever they can.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeykingMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portalon
20.6 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
12.9 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,261 reviews
17.2 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#5 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
17.5 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
12.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort

Property: Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
Address: 800 meters from main road | Quepos - Puntarenas, Portalon 60602, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Portalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'La Palapa EcoLodge Resort', surrounded by tropical gardens is located in a virgin Tropical Rainforest, with 149 acres (60.5 Hectares) of land, in the Central Pacific Coast of Portalon in Costa Rica, offering an incredible wildlife variety of fauna and flora. A perfect place and the paradise for passionate wildlife lovers. Our airy bungalows are painted with warm colors and decorated with unique original objects imported from North and Southern Africa, to create a very warm and special atmosphere. All are non-smoking, have very comfortable beds, ceiling fans, private terrace with bamboo table and chairs, cool tiled floors, private bathroom with hot shower, large furnished living room with an extra bed, fitted kitchen with refrigerator and screened windows that let in gentle breezes and melodic sounds from the jungle as you fall asleep. The La Palapa Resort is considered one of the most beautiful and well kept in, Quepos-Matapalo-Dominical and Uvita area, with grounds and tropical gardens beautifully maintained and clean, by dedicated staff that deliver the best service every day. What makes a great Hotel is one that makes you want to stay forever... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort Costa Rica/Portalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing