We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting but lack of cleanliness in the bungalow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portalon
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Palapa as a couple for 4 nights. We had a bungalow near the pool, with kitchenette. The place is great and the grounds are extremely well kept. Unfortunately, we cannot say the same for the bungalow. Upon our arrival, we found the place less than clean. Floors hadn't been swept, the shower was not clean either and had spider webs. No hot water in the kitchen and cutlery and dinnerware were all dirty. Needless to say we had to wash everything (with cold water) before being able to use it. Seems bungalows are rented with the mention "fully equipped", but no-one probably uses the equipment. Not even a coffee machine, and the owner told us she could make us coffee at 3$ a cup!

The sheets were never changed during our stay.

Bring bug spray, we litterally got bitten alive! (specially during our sleep as there are no windows, only screens)

The place is also very quiet and although we cooked our own dinners, we saw that there was absolutely no "ambiance" at night and during dinners.

If you want absolute "quiet", this is the place to stay. Otherwise, it can get boring very fast.

This place has a lot of potential but needs to be worked on.

We also got the feeling that the owners were there for the money above and foremost.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nathalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 333 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I took our first trip to Costa Rica in January. After research on Trip Advisor we booked 5 nights at La Palapa. It was the perfect place to stay. Near Manuel Antonio National Park, but away from the hustle and bustle of a tourist town and beautifully situated in a garden like location a mile from the main road. Christina and Manuel were wonderful hosts and we started each day out with a great breakfast. The beaches directly west of La Palapa were nearly deserted, but wonderful! You do need a car, but the location and experience made it all worthwhile.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HWSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Portuguese couple.We just returned from Costa Rica. Hopefully we found "La palapa" ! It's the best place you can be to know the Pacific coast and the forest rain nearby. The accommodations are clean and well decorated. The resort is magnificent and beautiful with a very nice garden and untouched surroundings. Every morning you have the visit of lots of different birds, butterflies and others friendly little animals.The Resort is one of the best that we have known with a very familiar treatment, always with the sympathy and disponibility of the owners, Cristina, Manuel and their son, Tomás (a very nice kid!) We recommended it for all that would like a beautiful, quite, well located resort, with a very good relation quality/money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Augusto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My sister and I stayed at La Palapa from Jan 14-19 2013. I can not say enough about the wonderful hospitality from the owners Cristina, Manuel and Tomas! Our stay felt like they had nearly adopted us. Kristina helped book the tours and activities that we wanted to go to and Manuel helped us with transportation and told us where the best beaches were.

The property is extensive and covered with beautiful flowers and coconut trees. There is also a pool near the main office. Our bungalow was tucked back into the foliage. Clean and Bright. We woke up to toucans and monkeys outside almost every morning.

The resort is about a 15 min drive outside of Quepos. If you have a car then transportation will be no problem. However, if you don't plan on spending extra time figuring out bus schedules and waiting for them. My sister and I didn't have a car during our stay, but we just took it as part of the experience.

We had a wonderful experience and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotrgal922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My father and I traveled Costa Rica for 10 days and spend 4 nights here.
The grounds are vast and beautiful. We saw lots of wildlife just sitting by the pool.
the food was delicious and was always a surprise, Christina is an amazing cook and extremely personable.
I would recommend that you rent a car when staying here because its a bit out of the way. but there is lots to see all around, we didn't drive more than 30min to get to the locations.
I'd love to go back to Costa Rica as a whole and explore more but i'd be sure to make another stop here.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are more private.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dior S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

A friend and i stayed for four nights and were absolutely happy with the place. With the car it is only a short ride to Manuel Antonio and Uvita. Furthermore, in only 3 min one can go Matapalo and the best beach I visited in Costa Rica. Beautiful, no people and endless! If you are there, go for a horse ride! The hotel itself is very nice and clean. The owners are friendly and help wherever they can.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonkeykingMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed for four nights with wife and toddler son in spacious, clean, bright bungalow. Christina and Manuel were friendly, engaging and helpful. Had three course meal dinner the first night and it was delicious - check the prices before you decide to stay for dinner. Breakfast buffet was convenient and lovely and included. Rooms were clean, grounds were very beautiful and quiet except for crow of roosters in the early morning which kind of ruin any "wake up to the sound of the rainforest" ideas that you might have had. No AC but ceiling fans worked well. Laundry WAS pricey, we washed in the sink and hung on furniture under the ceiling fan to dry. Wi fi works on the balconey, but not so well inside. The pool was clean and a nice amenity. You must have a rental car to stay here, it's a 10-15 minute drive either to Quepos or to Dominical. It's a short walk to the small pulperias down the road but they don't sell booze. Go to Matapalo Mercado further east (< 5 minutes) of Portalon on the highway for beer (also for families go here for the beach if you have a day to spare, it is really nice break from Manuel Antonio). The first pulperia you come when driving AWAY from La Palapa, to the highway, had warm and friendly people and I enjoyed going there for snacks and small chit chat. The second Pulperia was not so helpful. This is a small, well run resort. We enjoyed our stay and chit-chatting with other guests, with Christina and Manuel over breakfast and dinner. Manuel I think would be an interesting guy to talk to about the grounds, flora, fauna. If we were staying longer I would have asked him to take me on one of his epiphyte excursions.

It was a very comfortable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dadatrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portalon
11.9 mi away
Natuga EcoLodge-Villas and Natural Reserve
10.4 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
584 reviews
11.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,028 reviews
10.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
99 reviews
12.9 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort

Address: Meters From Main Road 800 | Manuel Antonio - Quepos - Puntarenas, Portalon 60602, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Portalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portalon
Price Range: $44 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Palapa EcoLodge Resort, that is called by the clients ¨THE LOST PARADISE¨, has a policy of practicing always the best and lowest prices of all region, and is located outside of the town of Portalon, offering an incredible wildlife variety of fauna and flora, that makes a perfect place and the paradise for passionate wildlife lovers. Served in its open-air restaurant, La Palapa offers a traditional Costa Rican breakfast, including fresh fruit and local dishes such as Gallo Pinto. Meat, fish, rice and bean dishes are on offer for lunch and dinner, and are prepared using produce grown on a local organic farm. The property also offers excellent powerful free WiFi. Our airy bungalows are painted with warm colors and decorated with unique original objects imported from North Africa, to create a very warm and special atmosphere. All are non-smoking, have very comfortable beds, ceiling fans, private terrace with bamboo table and chairs, cool tiled floors, private bathroom with hot shower, large furnished living room with an extra bed, fitted kitchen with refrigerator and screened windows that let in gentle breezes and melodic sounds from the jungle as you fall asleep. The most beautiful beaches of all Central America are inside the Manuel Antonio National Park, and the famous beaches of Matapalo with a sea Turtle Refuge Centre, Playa Linda, and Dominical are very near the resort. The La Palapa Resort is away from the confusion of tourist centers of the region but near everything and is considered one of the most beautiful and well-kept in Manuel Antonio - Quepos - Matapalo - Dominical and Uvita area, surrounded by unique tropical gardens with a Swimming-Pool with a large collection of rare plants, located in a virgin Tropical Rainforest, with 149 acres (60.5 Hectares) of land with a private waterfall only for the clients of the resort. This property also has always the best-rates compared with other locations in Manuel Antonio – Quepos – Dominical and Portalon area! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. This property is also rated for the best value in Manuel Antonio – Quepos – Dominical and Portalon area! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort Costa Rica/Portalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing