We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful oasis of peace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portalon
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a beautiful property and a wonderful place to stay for a relaxing jungle retreat. Wonderfully quiet and clean, but you do need a car to get around. The owner and staff were very helpful and accommodated me as a vegetarian.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodosong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 338 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

What a gorgeous property! The grounds are immaculate. The bungalows are stylish, spacious, comfortable, and very clean. The pool and the tropical gardens full of birds are heaven after a long hot day. You could get the wi-fi signal in the Bungalow, restaurant & pool area, but why would we sit in our room when we could lounge on the patio and check our emails? The hotel is in a quiet rain forest property away from the main road, with gardens and public areas absolute cleaned at all times. The beach is just a few minutes away from the resort, but “the famous Playa Linda” is a real pristine paradise full of thousands of coconut trees and totally empty from any human been. There is a small shop down the road to the resort were we bought many of our needs to take with us on our car trips. We preferred to participate during the morning in some of the hotels activities, like bird watching, rafting, canoeing and zip line and come enjoy the hotel pool or the Playa Linda beach on the afternoon. Next time I will definitely want to rent an ATV from the front desk to get out & explore the roads and mountains nearby.
What really made the La Palapa Eco lodge feel like home for us was Cristina the owner and her wonderful staff. Cristina was just super nice, answering our many questions and making great suggestions. She takes such great care of each and every guest, and her stories at the end of the day with the guests about life experiences were great for great conversations. We are until today after 11 days past in Costa Rica, talking about the delicious homemade fish soup she made for us on our last night. If this was in Toronto and if I were a food critic (we all can dream), I'd name Cristina’s restaurant "The dream in paradise".
What makes a great Hotel is one that makes you want to stay forever... My wife & I stayed at La Palapa for 9 nights, after booking 2 and that wasn't long enough. This place is truly a hidden gem in a rain forest, and the people there that make it so are part of this beautiful holiday we had in the Manuel Antonio Area in Costa Rica. We are already planning our next trip to Costa Rica because La Palapa is in our hearts, but next time we will bring my sister and her boyfriend to paradise!
John M

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good. Some seem to be larger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I spent a week in the honeymoon suite bungalow at La Palapa and had a wonderful experience. When we arrived at the bungalow, all the interior was full of flowers and the bed had a romantic decoration with an heart and hundreds of small colored flowers, which made us absolutely feel the romance that was inside us. The setting is incredible, nestled inside a very well preserved rainforest surrounded by tropical gardens. The food at breakfast was delicious and Cristina (the owner) came to us because she wanted to be shore that we had a well spent night. The staff was amazing, attentive to detail, warm and friendly. There are roads to ride on the resorts mountain bicycles that were my favorite. The magical freshwater of the swimming pool, was where we went to cool off almost every afternoon after our long walks around the resorts mountain lands with great variety of wildlife in the rainforest, our after our participation in one of the resort organized activities like Zipline, Rafting or Bird watching tours. The property itself is a private nature reserve, and we were not disappointed with the wildlife - beautiful birds, white-faced and frogs of all kinds, etc. There is no air conditioning, but there wasn't a problem because the bungalow are very fresh and had a ceiling fan that we never used because we did not need. There is no TV or internet in the bungalows, but there is a wifi hotspot near the restaurant which was more than adequate. La Palapa Ecolodge was a truly relaxing escape into nature and we were sad to have to leave at the end of our 6 days holiday. I must say that the resort’s owner Cristina is a fantastic host that is always ready to give the best advice on how to spend the day or in the best activity we should participate. Staying in La Palapa was for us the perfect holiday resort in this part of the Manuel Antonio area, away from crowds but sufficient near of the best spots and activities of Manuel Antonio National Park in the Central Pacific of Costa Rica. We both know Costa Rica for many years of holidays, and we have had experiences in other resorts that we have been before that we don´t recommend, but La Palapa Resort is the place that no one should miss coming to Costa Rica for a holiday, without problems, and very well kept and absolutely clean in every detail. The standards of quality of this resort in a rainforest is with no margin for a dough the best you can get in any part of the word, and the price you pay to stay in the bungalows are ridiculous compared with the other resorts of the area. La Palapa is like water on the desert sand . . . hope you enjoy it too.

LUIS SPINGLE

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisboa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This resort is excellent for everyone that looks for a nature experience. Near to the mountain and not far from the beach, you just have to decide what you want to explore. Clean and fun place..

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanielCMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

This hotel is a unique unit in a rain forest area where tucanos, parrots and wood pickers are our best friends during all day long.
The gardens are just remarcable, with lots and lots of tropical plants, in a area where wildlife comes to visit the resort guests.
If you want a fantastic holiday resort, go to La Palapa Hotel in Portalon, Quepos - Costa Rica. . . .and meet the people of Portalon, and visit the children on the primary school of Portalon. . . .beautuful people, that well come you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nailton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We planed on staying at La Palapa in Portalon, outside Quepos for 3 days, but extended the stay for 8 days because it was so nice. If you want to beat the crowds, or you're not into the hussle of the bar scene in places like Jaco, go here. They have a nice pool, beautiful lush gardens, and are about 5 minutes away from the most uncrowded beach we have ever been too. They have a nice restaurant and bar that we used more and more as the days went on for all three meals. We would watch to Toucans while drinking out mourning coffee! This was a great place to quietly unwind, but close enough to all the tourist stuff to keep us satisfied. We were able to take surf lessons in Dominical one day, went on a rafting trip on the Savegre River, did a canopy tour, went to Manuel Antonio National Park for the day, but mostly just lounge on the local Matapalo beach. A little out of the way, but isn't that why we go to Costa Rica! The service was only good, not great, but we didn't have any problems to speak of. Hot showers, clean room, little kitchenette, nice facilities. My girlfriend and I highly recommend this place, a bargain for what we paid. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsFussy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

This is for the lapalapahotel.com in Portalon near Quepos, not tamarindo? My family enjoyed this hotel very much. Very beutiful gardens, small but nice pool, bar, food, and quiet. It's kind of in the middle of nowhere, which is a very good thing. It is much nicer than staying in Quepos, and it's a world away from the touristy Jaco. I'd describe it as very peaceful.
The beach is about 10 minutes away by car, and if there were 10 other people on the beach it was crowded. The water is warm, nice waves to play in, and it's a very child safe beach. There are a number of nice inexpensive little resturants around the beach to explore, but for the most part they just made the resturant at the hotel seem much nicer, so we had mostly all of our meals there.
The staff at the hotel was very helpful when we needed something, but in reality everything is already provided so we didn't want for much. And, I was shocked when I say the hotels library (I'm a reader). Loved it!
I'd recomend this hotel for anyone looking for a quite, relaxing stay in an unspoiled part of costa rica.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank reverendswampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portalon
11.9 mi away
Natuga EcoLodge-Villas and Natural Reserve
12.2 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
561 reviews
11.7 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#18 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#30 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
308 reviews
10.4 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
599 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 14 in Quepos
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort

Address: Meters From Main Road 800 | Manuel Antonio - Quepos - Puntarenas, Portalon 60602, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Portalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portalon
Price Range: $52 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Palapa EcoLodge Resort, that is called by the clients ¨THE LOST PARADISE¨, has a policy of practicing always the best and lowest prices of all region, and is located outside of the town of Portalon, offering an incredible wildlife variety of fauna and flora, that makes a perfect place and the paradise for passionate wildlife lovers. Served in its open-air restaurant, La Palapa offers a traditional Costa Rican breakfast, including fresh fruit and local dishes such as Gallo Pinto. Meat, fish, rice and bean dishes are on offer for lunch and dinner, and are prepared using produce grown on a local organic farm. The property also offers excellent powerful free WiFi. Our airy bungalows are painted with warm colors and decorated with unique original objects imported from North Africa, to create a very warm and special atmosphere. All are non-smoking, have very comfortable beds, ceiling fans, private terrace with bamboo table and chairs, cool tiled floors, private bathroom with hot shower, large furnished living room with an extra bed, fitted kitchen with refrigerator and screened windows that let in gentle breezes and melodic sounds from the jungle as you fall asleep. The most beautiful beaches of all Central America are inside the Manuel Antonio National Park, and the famous beaches of Matapalo with a sea Turtle Refuge Centre, Playa Linda, and Dominical are very near the resort. The La Palapa Resort is away from the confusion of tourist centers of the region but near everything and is considered one of the most beautiful and well-kept in Manuel Antonio - Quepos - Matapalo - Dominical and Uvita area, surrounded by unique tropical gardens with a Swimming-Pool with a large collection of rare plants, located in a virgin Tropical Rainforest, with 149 acres (60.5 Hectares) of land with a private waterfall only for the clients of the resort. This property also has always the best-rates compared with other locations in Manuel Antonio – Quepos – Dominical and Portalon area! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. This property is also rated for the best value in Manuel Antonio – Quepos – Dominical and Portalon area! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort Costa Rica/Portalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing