We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Outstanding family holidays!

Outstanding family holidays! We have joined Adelaar last year as a family of four with kids at the... read more

Reviewed August 8, 2020
PG411
,
Cologne, Germany
I'm speechless

The Adellar exclusive liveaboard experience is unforgetable. I had sucha great time there, that I... read more

Reviewed August 7, 2020
paulnichtgoeser
Read all 52 reviews
  
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
48
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
48
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews liveaboard experience komodo dragons land excursions bucket list currents tino restored crew alor gear sharks dives chef boat bali
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 52 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

There is just one word to describe the trip with Adelaar - amazing!

Let’s start with the most important one - the people. Each and everyone on the crew has been incredible - helpful, professional, detail-oriented, friendly and reading every wish from the guests’ lips! Thank you! The rooms were cleaned after you returned from breakfast, the gear was always taken care of and in perfect shape, the briefings excellent and fun and the diving, well, you come out with a huge smile after each dive and it is just getting bigger with the next one! Oh, being greeted with fresh juice when you come back on board after the dive or a wet towel after land excursion - yes please!

The boat is in a very good shape, you see the value having engineers as per of the crew and the entertainment system in the rooms is state of the art!

The food has been not only delicious, but also beautifully presented.

This all without being pretentious, we always felt being part of the family on Adelaar which made this journey unique! Thank you again guys and best of luck to you!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank A_Diver_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaar-Cruises, Sales & Marketing Manager at Adelaar Exclusive Liveaboard, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2019

Thank you so much for your words, it means a lot to Adelaar team! Hope to see you again aboard our ship to make new amazing memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

The adventure that we had on the Adelaar was a truly unforgettable experience. This was my and my husband's first liveaboard experience, and we fear that we may have spoiled ourselves for all other future trips!

The diving was incredible - healthy corals, large schools of fish, mantas, sea turtles, and great night muck dives with plentiful nudibranchs and odd little critters. We knew the currents would be strong, but nothing does them justice until you are in them. Thankfully, we had Foued and Hennefan to help guide us through them. Foued's detailed briefings before each dive had us feeling prepared for what was to come. We went on the Komodo and Whale Shark special but unfortunately didn't encounter any whale sharks. This was not for a lack of trying, however, as the crew along with Abam, the marine biologist from Conservation International on board, put in every effort to find one.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank CRigoulot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaar-Cruises, Guest Relations Manager at Adelaar Exclusive Liveaboard, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Dear CRigoulot, we really appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We loved having you onboard and hope to see you back on our other routes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

My husband and I can't rave enough about our liveaboard experience on the Adelaar! The diving was in a class of its own - we did 3-4 dives per day, and each was unique. Sea turtles, sharks, mantas, nudibranch and eels were seen daily, but that didn't compare to what has to be some of the best coral in the world. The crew was attentive and seemed to always be smiling. I suppose I would, too, if I spent more time on the Adealar! There were four cabins, each with a lovely bathroom and comfortable bed. Each day, we were surprised by delicious food that was beautifully presented. I'm afraid I may start salivating whenever I hear a bell in the future! Before our trip had ended, we were already looking for another journey we could take on the Adelaar. *****

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Quindigo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaar-Cruises, Guest Relations Manager at Adelaar Exclusive Liveaboard, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Dear Quindigo55, thank you so much for your review of the Adelaar. We're delighted that you enjoyed your time onboard so much! We're sorry about the Pavlov conditioning ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

The breathtaking beauty of the Komodo Nature Reserve, the luxury & ambiance of the historical Dutch schooner - recently restored in its modern-day equivalent glory, the excellent care of the staff: it's all world class.

From start to finish, the schedule is perfectly designed for total relaxation while optimizing your bottom time. Mornings start easy, with a light breakfast & coffee during the first briefing. In-between dives, you'll have time to shower, dry off and read a book, do nothing or if you're looking for entertainment - watch any of the movies / TV series that is available on each room's large screen entertainment system.

However, my guess is you won't be spending much time in your room, because the sheer diversity of dive sites as well as land-based excursion options will keep you involved. All of it at a leisurely pace - we never felt rushed or overwhelmed at any point.

The diving is spectacular. The Komodo waters are healthy, and while there weren't enough mature sharks on our dives (opinion), we did see plenty of young sharks. At times you're surrounded by so many different kinds of fish that it feels like you're diving in fish soup. There are big manta's, and tons of little stuff - something for everyone. In terms of water temperature (August), at an average of 25-27 degrees we both were comfortable all week in our 3MM full suit + hoody. The dive masters arranged the groups by level of experience and fitness, such that we all got to maximize our bottom time.

The meals are plentiful, high quality and very tasty. We were told they were designed by a Belgian nutritionist, and that was quite obvious. We never went hungry, and we don't (deny?) we gained weight either.

I'd really recommend that you consider booking the master suite. Not only will you need the space for your extra camera gear and computer equipment, you'll love lounging around in the spacious private cabin. Besides the space, I counted 11 (euro) power sockets in the room, and charging all my lights and camera was very convenient at the desk that seemed designed for it.

Put this trip on your bucket list!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank The_Diving_Dutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaar-Cruises, Guest Relations Manager at Adelaar Exclusive Liveaboard, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

You're making us blush! Thank you so much for this very nice review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your cruise on the Adelaar so much and hope to welcome you back in the future. And isn't gaining a little weight part of holidays? :) We do know the desserts onboard are too delicious to resist!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

The crew of the Adelaar have set the standard for other liveaboard providers to achieve. This renovated and updated ship from the early 1900’s is breathtaking and beautiful from bow to stern. The food onboard was of the highest caliber,and the chef had me eating foods you couldn’t normally pay me to eat. And, with 5 meals/snacks a day, there was plenty of opportunities to try many different dishes. The areas the crew selected for us to dive were simply amazing. They knew all the best places to see all the incredible marine life around the eastern islands. The diving was extremely well organized and the crew took care of all the work involved preparing the gear for each dive. Foued, the cruise director and dive master did detailed dive briefs before each dive, with detailed sketches of each dive site. The service onboard was phenomenal. Every little detail and need was attended to, and usually anticipated by Nyoeman, the steward, or one of the other crew members. If anyone had a special request, it was accomplished. And the best part - each and every one of the crew always had a smile on their face and were a pleasure to interact with. We had a fabulous time, and if we return to that area to dive again, The Adelaar will be our ship of choice.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank randor64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaar-Cruises, Guest Relations Manager at Adelaar Exclusive Liveaboard, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

What a raving review! Thank you so much for your kind words on behalf of all our staff. Your satisfaction means the world to us and we're glad to see you enjoyed your trip. We hope to welcome you onboard again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews