We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Typical Best Western” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Horndean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Typical Best Western”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Best Western think of everything - well supplied rooms with all toiletries and equipment you would expect. Fantastically comfortable bed but not much of a view. Very helpful reception staff. The only down side was the plastic cutlery and paper plates used for breakfast (although the breakfast was very good). I was also disappointed to see the reception staff smoking out the front of the hotel - surely they could go somewhere more discrete to smoke? Otherwise a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Sue, Thank you for you kind words letting other travelers know about us! And we definitely take you suggestions into consideration. We hope that when you are in Arizona again you will think of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    140
    65
    21
    14
See reviews for
119
97
49
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Excellent location for easy access to Arizona State University, associated apartment complexes and Tempe Marketplace(outdoor mall). Very tasty hot breakfast bar which is complementary.Located just off the interstate. Denny's Restaurant next door. Amenities included a fitness room and lap pool as opposed to a regular pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you Alison for taking the time to let people know about us! We are so pleased that our property worked well for you, while you were visiting Arizona State University. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel mid July. I only picked it, because it was close to where I needed to go, needed a shuttle, and a hotel that allowed a cat. I was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very nice, room was very comfortable and clean and staff was very helpful since I was traveling alone with an animal. Far exceeded my expectations

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you Joan, we are very glad to hear that you were happy with your stay; and as always, thank you for choosing the Best Western Inn of Tempe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent a night here following a long flight to Phoenix. Its on a busy highway with many motels. Even though we knew the address and the street signage was good we could not find the Best Western. Eventually we got help at a gas station. We had passed thr hotel three times looking for a big sign. Actually there is just one small sign on the roadside and the hotel is behind a Dennys, just at the freeway ramp. The hotel itself was fine with friendly receptionists. The room was large, two double beds, a clean bathroom with a powerful shower. The air conditioner was quite noisy and there was some traffic noise, but not enough to keep you awake. There is a gym and pool.
There is no restaurant and nearby dining options seem to be limited so we went to the Dennys; adequate, but the cheery, friendly waitress made it better.
Breakfast was good. Waffles, eggs etc were available along with the usual cereals.
All in all, the Inn is nothing special but more than adequate for a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Mr.Mcharan,

We are sorry to hear you had a difficult time finding our property. I completely agree that the signage in this area is on the smaller side, due to Tempe restrictions. We always encourage guests, that if they are lost or have questions please call us, there are no directions better than from the source.
Also, thank you for complimenting our Front Desk staff, customer service is priority here, and it is great to read that as a Guest Relations person!
As always, thank you for choosing Best Western Inn of Tempe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The accomodations were clean and comfortable. The pool(s) are freezing, even when it was 100 degrees outside! Understand why, but do not care for the restricted water pressure in the showers.
What made this hotel rate Very Good vs. Average was a particular employee, Assistant Manager, Jill Kropfl. She went beyond what one would usually expect from any hotel staff member. Her professionalism, understanding and decision making makes her a Shining Star in the hospitality business.

Room Tip: Put the air conditioner on 62 degrees and the fan on High! It's the only way you'll stand a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yitsonlyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
First, we would like to thank you for informing us about the spa, we did have to have a repair made on it last week. I do apologize for any inconvenience that this situation caused.

Second, we are glad Jillian went above and beyond to assist you, Customer Service is our biggest concern, and we are happy that your needs were addressed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Nice staff and convenient shuttle from airport/to ASU ($2.50 charge for ASU drop-off). Hotel felt like updated 70's, but still little things needed work (paint touch-up, light switches worn so needed on/off to work, loud bathroom fan). Small bathroom. The pools are lap pools, not usual swimming pools. Location is right off the freeway with a Denny's on-site and In-n-Out across the street. Breakfast was the usual with hot items, waffles, four cereals, breads, etc. Good selection, but didn't care for the coffee (not a snob, just think it was instant and/or the water). The bed was comfortable, but what's up with the pillows? (small, nearly square, almost decorative)

Room Tip: South-facing rooms (parking side) have a view, not of freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weloveRtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our property, we are glad that we were a good value near where you needed to be! As always, thank you for choosing the Best Western Inn of Tempe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We recently stayed here for it's proximinity to "everything" that's Tempe/Scottsdale. We were able to check in early and relax prior to going out that evening for drinks, dinner, and a comedy show at the Improv. The shuttle service eliminated any worries and was very convenient for the activities we had planned. The staff was very friendly- from check in to check out.

Room Tip: Even though we had a highway view (north) from our room- the noise was very minimal. South facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isakson480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice R, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you Sir for letting people know how close we are to some of the venues in Downtown Tempe. We are glad that our shuttle service was convenient for you to get back and forth from the Tempe Improv.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
0.9 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe - ASU Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#9 of 47 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
0.7 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe

Property: BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe
Address: 670 N Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-2027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tempe
#7 Business Hotel in Tempe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn Of Tempe Hotel Tempe
Best Western Hotel Tempe
Best Western Tempe
Tempe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing