We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for 1 Night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Reviewed August 21, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for the convenience to the airport. We checked in around 7 PM and asked for nearby restaurants. We had difficulty finding them, so if you don't have a car, you would need to order in. The hotel offers free shuttle service, so we elected to turn in our rental car after dinner so that we could shuttle directly to the terminal the next morning at 5 AM. Very convenient--and a nice shuttle driver (works a 12 hour shift, so we had him both times!)

The price was fair at approx. $100. We asked the desk clerk for additional pillows and blankets. We needed to pick them up at the desk as they don't deliver to the room. The clerk also agreed to print off our boarding passes, so that was a nice service.

Our kids enjoyed the pool - body temperature in August. Not real big, but we had it to ourselves. One last swim before leaving AZ.

The downside would be that this hotel has a neglected feeling. The rooms had a dated color scheme and the furniture was "beat up". The room was clean, but was in need of carpet and wallcovering. All appliances and electronics were in good working order. I can't rate the breakfast because we needed to leave before it was served.

I would probably look to stay in a different airport hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maawandoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 294 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2007

We booked for a stay between transferring from our flight from Europe. Starving, we found we needed a $10 cab ride to get to the closest restaurants. There is only a restaurant within walking distance in the Sheraton across the street. The location may be OK if you have a car, but if you don't you're stranded. When I asked about restaurants the clerk shoved a delivery menu to me...

The service is pretty apathetic, bordering on surly. Both evening and morning we had disinterested responses to requests for help. Getting linen for the sofabed was a major inconvenience for the desk clerk. In the morning we couldn't locate a luggage cart. The morning clerk just shrugged and said they only have one and someone must be using it. It was missing until just after we lugged all our bags in multiple trips. The refrigerator in our room still had leftovers from PF Chang's from an earlier visit and stunk when we opened it. There was trash left over from earlier guests in our room as well.

The carpets are worn, paint in the halls and the rooms is chipped and stained.

We stay at Comfort and Quality Inn properties quite a bit and expect the Comfort Suites line to be of a much higher quality than this property.

In the end, it's adequate but the service, decor and location disappointed us.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank umbrellaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgr_CS, General Manager at Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Thanks for your feedback!
We apologize for your not so great experience here.
I can assure you, that all issues you brought up, had been addressed.
We went trough major renovation in 2009-2010 and if you're willing to give it a second try, you will be very pleasantly surprised. So if you visiting ASU or Sky Harbor Phoenix International Airport, please stop by to check us out.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2007

Dining near by is scarce. It is 15 minutes by auto to the heart of Tempe, Mill Street, where places abound.

My room was big, clean and comfortable. Unfortunately their computer was down and I had to go to the Sheraton across the road to a business center. Also the desk was tardy in passing on to me an important phone message.

Once you figure out how to find the place and return to the airport, you will probably be satisfied. It checked out as being the pragmatic best value in the vicinity of the Phoenix airport.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FromBrazil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2007

Hotel was nice and clean. I had a room on the ground floor and had no noise from traffic or from the above floors. Would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2007
Thank Amarquez2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2007

Stayed here for three nights to attend spring training games. We found the location to be perfect. It was within a short drive to anywhere we wanted to get to and right near an on-ramp for 10.

The room was large and clean though a tad dated. Our refrigerator was not working when we arrived so we called the front desk and the maintenance man was there within minutes to reset the defrost mode.

Our room was quiet and we did not hear any highway noise that other posters have mentioned. Breakfast was good. Nothing special, but my son (a very picky eater) ate 2 of the make your own waffles each day. The breakfast room staff was attentive and pleasant.

The only real complaint that I have was that the pool was down two of the three days we were there because the chlorine level was too high. The front desk did offer to drive us to a nearby Days Inn to use their pool though.

Restaurants and stores were also a short drive down Broadway!

We would consider going back here!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krismo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2007

We spent 5 nights here to go to some Angels Spring Training games and were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was clean and comfortable.

We had a room with a king size bed, that had a sitting area with a couch, desk and small table to eat at. There was a sink, small refridg and microwave also. The bathroom was fine, you could see where they had done some work on the wall by the shower head, but only because it was painted over and the rest was wallpaper.

They also offered breakfast each morning and it was pretty good. There were waffles, sausage, hard boiled eggs, cold and hot cereal, danishes, bagels, english muffins, coffee and juice every morning. They had someone there the entire time to keep everything stocked.

The pool was heated, so we were able to swim comfortably, even in the evening. There was a hot tub also. There was a small exercise room near the pool, nothing special but functional. There was plenty of parking in a well lit parking lot.

The hotel is very convenient to the airport and interstate. Also if you are going to Diablo Stadium as we were, this place is very close and convenient. I read other reviews of people saying there was no where to eat if you didn't have a car. That is mostly true, there are lots of places to eat, but they are a couple of blocks away. There is a Quik Trip just down the street for sodas and such. The restaurants are within walking distance, but it looks like it would be a 15-20 min walk. Not bad in good weather, but in the heat, it could be bothersome. We always get a rental car, so it was fine for us.

We had a great time in the Phoenix area and look forward to returning soon. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mikayla73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2007

My family stayed at the Comfort Suites Airport, Tempe, AZ for one night before flying out the next day (Feb 2, 2007). The hotel was easy to find, and right next to Broadway, which is the feeder to get to the airport - a bonus that kept traffic problems to a minimum.

There was a standard outdoor pool and hot tub which my kids, aged 11 and 14, enjoyed immensely. The workout room was very small, but it had a treadmill, eliptical, stepper and universal weight station - enough to get what most travellers need. The breakfast in the morning was a welcomed surprise, with bagels, danishes, cold cereal and make-your-own waffles.

We had a room with 2 double beds and a sitting area with couch that was separated by a half wall --- very spacious, and much appreciated. It was neat and clean, though in the bathroom there were signs of wear on the tiles by the door. Nothing we considered dirty or unsatisfactory...

Overall, I would stay here again for the pre-flight night; desk staff was very helpful and knowledgable of the area, recommending a great Mexican restaurant (Rositas) and giving directions to a family amusement center.

Stayed: February 2007
Thank RSoxFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport
2.3 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
3 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn at ASU-Airport
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn by Hilton Phoenix/Tempe ASU Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix

Address: 1625 S 52nd St, Tempe, AZ 85281-6233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range: $74 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovation to be completed by summer 2009! All suite property in quite location close to 1-10 and just minutes away from the Phoenix Airport, ASU, downtown Phoenix, Old Town Scottsdale and Tempe Town Lake. Our hotel offers free wireless Internet, deluxe continental breakfast and outdoor pool. All of our rooms include voicemail, microwave, fridge, hairdryer and iron. Ask about our Park & Fly rate if you would like to leave your car in the hotel parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix Hotel Tempe
Comfort Suites Tempe
Tempe Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing