We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great location near mill avenue. Good service at the bistro for breakfast and evening cocktails. Shuttle was not available to us but the front desk did help us get a cab to our location. Day time staff and front desk manager were outstanding. Night staff during our stay was not as great. Room was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Construction currently so request a courtyard room to avoid the noise.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisaandgeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard Tempe Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

We certainly appreciate your taking the time to let others know about our hotel and its great location. Guests find many of the venues for ASU within walking distance as well as the famous Mill Avenue with restaurants and shops. For those without transportation, we are close to the Phoenix Light Rail station for access to more places of interest in downtown Phoenix. Thanks for the recognition of our day time team and the heads up that our evening team is not as polished! We hope to see you on another visit to Tempe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Tempe Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 279 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. It is a well-run property, with nice, modern decor, clean rooms and public areas and a great outdoor commons area. The room was a bit on the smallish side, and I was a little disappointed with the food options, as there was no complimentary breakfast, and the food was a bit pricey. I may be being a bit picky here, but the hallways and elevators were very narrow and it felt a bit confining. Overall, I enjoyed it, and I loved how close it was to all the interesting shops and restaurants near ASU.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddw2ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard Tempe Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Let me begin by saying how happy we are to learn that your stay was an enjoyable one based on your overall hotel experience. We strive to achieve similar results for all of our guests. The Courtyard brand of Marriott hotels is proud to offer our guests many food options at our Bistro with creative dishes, snacks and beverages. The Starbucks drinks are quite a hit as well. We would love to have you stay at our Courtyard when you are in Tempe; however, if a complimentary breakfast is important to your hotel choice, Marriott does offer that at Residence Inn, Springhill Suites and Fairfield Inn hotels. Thanks for letting others know about our great location near ASU within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants on the famous Mill Avenue! We look forward to serving you in the future when you visit the campus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The rooms were very clean and employees very professional. It's close to everything you would want to go to in Tempe and easy to access. Security there is a plus! Too bad they didn't have a Casino there so we ended up going to a Casino 4 miles away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vahornfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard Tempe Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

I thank you for taking the time to let others know about our hotel. I am tickled to say the least to hear that you feel our associates are professional and our rooms are clean. I can assure you that I will be sharing that with each and every associate. They are always giving their best, and your recognition makes it all worthwhile. Thank you again, and if I can ever be of service to you please feel free to reach out to me directly.

James O’Meara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Here for a quick visit of ASU with teenage son. Have stayed at multiple Courtyard through the years and this one did not disappoint. Spacious clean rooms, comfortable bed and great shower. Close to Mill Ave and ASU. Wish we could have stayed longer but if my son decides on ASU, we will be back!

We normally like to venture out for meals, so I can't attest to the food or any of the other amenities. Be aware of the parking charge, although not outrageous for a central and busy location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkushlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard Tempe Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Touring college campuses is an exciting venture for families and we are pleased you choose the Courtyards for your hotel stays. I am happy we excelled in your view with our cleanliness standards and comfy rooms. Of course our location to ASU’s campus and all the activities is perfect for families of students throughout their college years. Parents find our walk-around neighborhood perfect for meals and entertainment on the famous Mill Avenue. On some occasions it makes sense to dine in and our Bistro offers creative selections for you to enjoy either in your room or while relaxing on the patio! Either way you are able to choose. Thank you for letting others know how you enjoyed your stay and that you will return! Returning is the greatest compliment a guest can give us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This Courtyard Marriott does have a nice location and it is an easy walk to many eateries and nightclubs. A little dissapointing that there was not a complimentary breakfast.....and the small food/bar bistro closed at 10pm and wasn't open at 7 am when having to leave. I guess when your location is so close to other places it doesn't make sense?? The only other concern was that this place was pretty noisy. We were on the bottom floor and there was a lot of noise outside and on the upper floors. Most of the noise came from a nearby apartment that obviously had many patio parties going on.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COparrotheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard Tempe Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

We thank you for taking the time to let others know about our hotel. While we are close to many great places to eat and play in the ASU and Tempe’s Mill Avenue, it seems like we let you down for additional food options at the hotel. Your comments regarding the times of the Bistro are eye opening. Beyond those posted hours the front desk team is trained as Baristas and can provide Starbucks beverages on a 24 hours basis. In addition, on the weekends when the Bistro opens at 7, we can provide a limited selection of food options prior to your early departure. My sincere apologies to you as that did not appear to be an option for you. As a suggestion for all Marriott properties whenever you are in a similar situation, our front desk team is often cross-trained and would be happy to assist you in finding a solution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

First, you cannot beat the location. Walking distance to everything Tempe and ASU has to offer.

The bartender was great and very accommodating. There was a large group of high school debaters that arrived after the kitchen closed. They were delayed and just wanted to get some food. He kept the kitchen open to accommodate their request. He even advised them that they could order from a local sandwich shop that delivers and cheaper thank the food at the Courtyard.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSquar3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard Tempe Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for your review and for the compliments to our bartender! Pats on the back from our guests make a big difference! I am pleased to know we were able to accommodate the group’s need for food after hours. What makes our location so great is that it is part of the ASU campus area and next to Tempe’s famous Mill Avenue with numerous dining options, shops and activities that students and families enjoy. Everything is within walking distance and close to the light rail to allow guests to connect to Sky Harbor Airport and downtown Phoenix!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I had to stay here as Mission Palms was overbooked. I would always prefer Mission Palms over this place.

Stay in this hotel if you need:
A convenient location.
Stay close to very good restaurants, pubs, bars in Tempe Downtown.
Some staff members are very helpful (Jeremy: The Shuttle driver (He'll provide you with coupons you can use at restaurants))

Con's:
No refrigerators in the room.
People buy stuff and provide any random room number. The hotel staff just bills it on your room. It was a pain to get all those charges reversed.

Beware: Keep a check on the authorization charged by the hotel on your card. I almost had a $4000 credit that was blocked on my card even after paying their bill of $1700. This credit was blocked for 21 days. I tried calling the Marriott helpline, the hotel, no-one helped.

To summarize:
Convenient, no frills, don't expect too much, check billing

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool side are better.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjaySanglikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard Tempe Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for your review and for your stay with us. Jeremy will be pleased you mentioned him by name. I am very sorry for the charging challenges you experienced and will work with our team to correct that for future guests. Please know that we care when our guests are frustrated with our systems. Should you wish to contact me to further discuss the details, please call the hotel and ask for the General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.3 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
1.3 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#11 of 52 in Tempe
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#10 of 52 in Tempe
394 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tempe Downtown

Address: 601 South Ash Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281-2822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tempe
#4 Business Hotel in Tempe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: $117 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tempe Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The refreshing, state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown Hotel provides great flexibility and choices for our guests. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard(R). The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R), which provides guests with healthy food and Starbucks(R) beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. The Courtyard Downtown Tempe Hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Tempe, AZ and is just blocks from Arizona State University, Sun Devil Stadium, the Phoenix Zoo and a free ten minute shuttle ride from Sky Harbor Airport. Guests can enjoy fishing and boating on Tempe Town Lake, hiking at Papago Park or visit Mill Avenue District-home to restaurants, shopping and microbreweries. Book your stay with us today at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown Hotel, one of the top hotels in Tempe, AZ. Your stay is sure to be more enjoyable than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Tempe Marriott
Tempe Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing