We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Small rooms and no complimentary breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Tempe Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small rooms and no complimentary breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I recently spent two nights here and was surprised to realize I now had to pay for parking at $8.00 per night and there was no free breakfast in the morning. They had a Bistro that you could order breakfast in the morning on the main floor across from the registration desk.
I just noticed that there was new Marriott Residence Inn just down the street closer to AZ University. This must have been a rebranded hotel. I'm afraid the next trip I will be looking at that property to stay at as the prices were the same and I get more space for the money.
The front desk staff were very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Even Numbers face the court with the pool. Odd numbers face out to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Our front desk team will be pleased to learn you found them to be nice and friendly. It is our goal to provide exceptional service to all of our guests. We are happy to have another Marriott hotel in this very busy part of Tempe and the ASU campus. Each brand offers different options to our guests and attracts different types of people. Please enjoy either hotel for future trips as we are all one family under the Marriot frand of hotels and both hotels are located in the center of Tempe and the ASU campus. There is so much to enjoy in our neighborhood and at the Courtyard you will find our Go Board provides ideas of what to do and directions to navigate the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    78
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
41
31
16
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

One of those quick business trips. Stayed here based on recommendation of colleague. Had a nice stay. Very clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Located very close to ASU and many great restaurants. It is the type of place you wouldn't mind staying for a few days so you can really take advantage of the facilities and the location. Seems like it would be a great area to walk around with so many restaurants and ASU close by. Next time I need to be in PHX, I would definitely plan to come back here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank love_HNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, Manager at Courtyard Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for letting others know how you enjoyed your brief stay and appreciate our great location. The best advertizing is word of mouth! Our staff is passionate about customer service and strives to provide that friendly and helpful service guests expect from a Marriott hotel. When you return you will discover the exciting options within walking distance of the hotel. Should you get bored, there is also the light rail nearby to get around the valley and see what our downtown looks like. You are even able get to and from the Sky Harbor international Airport on it. Many guests are visiting ASU for business or pleasure or the local business offices. Our Go Board in the lobby or our helpful staff are both available to provide directions and suggestions when you need them! We look forward to seeing you on another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
134 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here on a campus visit and baseball camp at ASU. Great location. Lots of restaurants close by within walking distance. Clean rooms, great staff. Very close to airport. A large outdoor shopping area with lots of restaurants, theater, large and small shops at Tempe Marketplace, just a few minutes from hotel. Great spot if you are going to a game at Sun Devil Stadium. Easy walk. The pool was large by hotel standards. Nice large area for sitting out and enjoying the sun and having lunch. Not the standard tiny hotel pool. Wish we would have had more time to enjoy the pool!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sundance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
What a wonderful review you wrote about your recent visit! Thank you for taking the time to let others know of your great experience. Our pool is a highlight for guests every day! This is the time of year it draws the biggest crowds of appreciative guests. Our location is convenient on foot to all of the Tempe places and ASU campus activities. Should you have a rental car, you can easily find your way around the Phoenix valley with directions from our Courtyard GO Board. If you do not have a car, you can still get around easily using the light rail which is close to the hotel too. Thanks for recognizing the great customer service by our team! We look forward to meeting you on another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, AZ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The location..is great. That was the only plus. The room was SO loud, you could hear the street, the ice machine, the elevator, EVERYTHING I couldn't even sleep there I checked out at 2am. I told the guy who gave me my receipt and he didn't even offer to move me or discount it or anything. I guess they were having a problem with some random people coming to the hotel because security was all over the place. I was really let down by my whole experience and went to the mission palms down the street, MUCH better experience.

Room Tip: go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZactiveobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We certainly do not want our guests to have a challenging time at our hotel! Since you called the following day, I am pleased we were able to offer you a refund for your stay. We are at the mercy of our guests when it comes to noise complaints as there is generally a lag time between the complaint and our being able to get security to the site of the noise. We much prefer our guests conduct themselves in a quiet manner when in the open areas of the hotels, especially the hallways. Again, we apologize for your disrupted night and hope that does not keep you from choosing a Marriott in the future as we value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burt1972
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was fine. Typical room for the standard of hotel. Rooms well kept though. Staff are very friendly. Gym is very small. Size of a standard bedroom. Great location, in center of town so easy to walk to restaurants. Would use again if staying in tempe.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank burt1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you felt about your visit to our hotel in the heart of Tempe and the ASU campus. Our team strives to provide every guest with the best experience possible. We love our location for many reasons.... The close proximity to the campus, the connectivity by light rail to downtown Phoenix and the Phoenix Sky Harbor airport. Of course we would love having you return on a future visit, That is the highest compliment a guest can pay a hotel! We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Lourdes was wonderful, and helped me change rooms when needed. This hotel is a remodeled courtyard, convenient to everything and right near asu. They have a nice pool area and many rooms have balconies. It would be nice to have the microwave and fridge the other remodeled courtyards have tho.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lynnecharl0tte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, General Manager at Courtyard Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are proud to have Lourdes on our Marriott team. She has a passion for customer service and strives to make every guest feel special. Within walking distance guests can take advantage of ASU activities and the exciting Mill Avenue shops and restaurants. Many guests find our pool and patio to be comfortable and inviting for their morning coffee or enjoy evening snacks and beverages. The new look of Courtyards across the nation is vibrant and appealing. Thank you for being our guest and for letting others know of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here over a wedding weekend. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Tempe and within walking distance of everything I wanted to do. Hayden Butte, Tempe Center for the Arts, Tempe Beach Park, many restaurants and nightlife. The hotel staff was very nice and even let me take the hotel shuttle back to the airport after I checked out the night before. The gal at the desk said " you are still our guest" which exceeded my expectations. The pool area is very nice. Resort quality beds. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I picked the 3rd floor since it was a football weekend, less noise this way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donut4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cy_phxcc_gm, General Manager at Courtyard Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are pleased you found our hotel and could enjoy the football game at ASU. It is easy to get around our neighborhood and find the best places to make your weekend a special one! It is always a pleasure to know that guests have an exceptional experience and that our team througout the weekend provided great service! Do visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.3 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
0.8 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#9 of 47 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe - ASU Area
1.2 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#11 of 47 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tempe Downtown

Property: Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Address: 601 S Ash Ave, Tempe, AZ 85281-2822
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tempe
#4 Business Hotel in Tempe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tempe Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The refreshing, state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown Hotel provides great flexibility and choices for our guests. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard(R). The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R), which provides guests with healthy food and Starbucks(R) beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. The Courtyard Downtown Tempe Hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Tempe, AZ and is just blocks from Arizona State University, Sun Devil Stadium, the Phoenix Zoo and a free ten minute shuttle ride from Sky Harbor Airport. Guests can enjoy fishing and boating on Tempe Town Lake, hiking at Papago Park or visit Mill Avenue District-home to restaurants, shopping and microbreweries. Book your stay with us today at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown Hotel, one of the top hotels in Tempe, AZ. Your stay is sure to be more enjoyable than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Tempe Marriott
Tempe Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing