We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for Soma Triathlon and Ironman” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Tempe Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Convenient location for Soma Triathlon and Ironman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was a wonderful hotel that my family will likely go back to stay with again. It's convenient and close to stores (we got our baby supplies at Whole Foods and Safeway, < 5 miles away), and it's in walking distance (about 2 blocks) from the start/finish lines for the Soma Triathlon and AZ Ironman. The staff was very accomodating to us, since we traveled with our infant, and they provided a pack and play for her to sleep in, as well as a refrigerator. The bed is very comfortable, just like we want it (my husband wants to buy one to replace ours). When we had issues with the sink not draining, they immediately tried to resolve the issue, and when they couldn't- sent help so we can move rooms. They totally (I feel) went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The cafe downstairs was reasonable for us (<$40 per meal) for breakfast and dinner and Starbucks was available 24/7. We wished it offered lunch too, although a lot of restaurants are in the Mill Ave area, about < 10 minutes walk. ZTejas is just beyond the hotel parking lot, so that too was great. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Upper floor was great, because it seemed quieter. If people are outside your door talking though, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James O, General Manager at Courtyard Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We appreciate your review via Trip Advisor! It is rewarding to learn that our team was able to assist in many ways to make your stay comfortable for you and your little one. Our guests do enjoy the location to Tempe activities and the amenities of the hotel to ease the stress travel can often bring! We look forward to a repeat visit someday.

Sincerely,

James O'Meara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    73
    34
    10
    5
See reviews for
39
29
15
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The location is amazing just one block from Mill Avenue, restaurants, the campus, and the college sports arenas. The lobby is large and great for sitting around talking with friends, enjoying a drink or reading a book. Pool is also big and plenty of sitting areas around it. Staff was friendly and helpful as well.

Some people had complained about train noise so I was a little nervous but I didn't notice any noise at all. I could visibly see a train from my room but the double windows keep all of the noise out. My wife and I never had a problem.

This is the BEST HOTEL IN TEMPE!

Room Tip: Get a king room because most of these will have a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Ute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Level Contributor
112 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The location of the hotel is perfect for Mill Ave area restaurants and shops. There are plenty of choices for food at all price ranges. It is a short walk to the light rail station for an easy ride into downtown Phoenix for sporting events - only $3.50 round trip. There is a free shuttle to PHX airport which makes this hotel a great location for doing many different activities around the Phoenix area.
The hotel room was normal courtyard style. The AC was a little loud but worked great. I did not eat at the hotel, but there is a small restaurant there with a few TVs for sports in the lobby. The free wifi worked very well.
There were a lot of external door entries into the hotel which concerned me. But, there are multiple security cameras around the building that were monitored at the front desk.
The price was a little high for courtyard level, but the location, free hotel shuttle, cheap light rail should all be considered when making your hotel decision. These extras have a lot of value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank engineer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Every single person from the shuttle driver to the desk staff, housekeeping and grounds, with whom I interacted here was gracious and helpful. The place is spotlessly maintained and I had a room right off the lobby with easy access to the pool. I was able to get oatmeal and soymilk at the cafe for breakfast and a free ride in the shuttle for lunch and dinner. The pool had comfortable lounge chairs with towels laid out - a touch I'd expect more at a resort than a courtyard. It wasn't a huge pool but I was able to do laps. Quite close the University of Arizona where I was lecturing and lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The first room I got was never cleaned so I had to walk back to the front desk. The second room was hot and ac did not work so I had to walk back again to the front desk. The third room was better but the ac also had issues. It was midnight and I was tired of walking so I kept and sweated all night. If you need to lose weight I recommend this hotel, if not I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bvardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I was skeptical about staying here instead of a Marriott resort but was immediately blown away. Everyone was so friendly and the property is well kept. Since we were traveling with our children, I was worried they weren't going to have a great time in the pool. It's nothing special but I was completely wrong. They had a blast! I would recommend staying here. It is very close to the ASU campus and there are lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alling2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I travel to Phoenix area mostly for work, but sometimes just for fun. I stayed here on the first occasion randomly passing through on a roadtrip with my bestfriend. We got to the hotel late and after a night out in Vegas. Needless to say, I knew the potential of the hotel's location from all the reviews I read beforehand; however, we didn't take advantage of being walking distance to the center of ASU social scene... awesome bars, excellent restaurants and cool little shops. I've been back several times since (at least once a month) and it just keeps getting better. The first night, we had the unlucky view of the huge parking lot with a peek into the Mill Ave District and I had no idea there was even a pool. But hello - this is Phoenix, it's hot as hell most of the time - of course there was pool. I have found myself sneaking out of work early some days to lay by the pool and soak up the glorious sun! However, one of my best finds was the Bistro Lounge in the lobby. Usually I spend minimal time in the hotel lobbies, outside of check-in. But the hotel garb boasts this "Bistro - eat.drink.connect." Well let me tell you - I am more and more impressed every time I'm here. Usually I get stuck doing work in the hotel for one of the nights and this Bistro is a little gem. I've ordered something different each time now, and regardless if you're hungry, hungry or just need a snack - the portion sizes are big and the price is right. Be prepared to hang out, have a beer or a cocktail, while you're waiting for your food. It's a one-man show - but he is great cook and takes pride in the taste and presentation of his food. I will not stay anywhere else when I come to Phoenix, or any of the surrounding areas, for that matter - this hotel has got it all and it just keeps getting better!!

Room Tip: The rooms with the parking lot view are very bright in the morning - so if you're not a morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikAnnTar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.3 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
0.8 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#8 of 47 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe - ASU Area
1.2 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#14 of 47 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tempe Downtown

Property: Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Address: 601 S Ash Ave, Tempe, AZ 85281-2822
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tempe
#4 Business Hotel in Tempe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tempe Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The refreshing, state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown Hotel provides great flexibility and choices for our guests. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard(R). The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R), which provides guests with healthy food and Starbucks(R) beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. The Courtyard Downtown Tempe Hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Tempe, AZ and is just blocks from Arizona State University, Sun Devil Stadium, the Phoenix Zoo and a free ten minute shuttle ride from Sky Harbor Airport. Guests can enjoy fishing and boating on Tempe Town Lake, hiking at Papago Park or visit Mill Avenue District-home to restaurants, shopping and microbreweries. Book your stay with us today at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown Hotel, one of the top hotels in Tempe, AZ. Your stay is sure to be more enjoyable than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Tempe Courtyard
Tempe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing