We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient location but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Tempe Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
frederick, maryland
Level Contributor
585 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 527 helpful votes
“Convenient location but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed three nights for a meeting at the University which is a few blocks away. Nice lobby arrangement for lounging, newpapers, food counter with great service for coffee, breakfast and other snacks, boarding pass printout system etc. The check-in staff and others were all very helpful and the shuttle bus picked up and delivered to the airport (~10 minute ride) as well as other short courtesy runs. The room was standard efficiency hotel with starchy uncomfortable sheets, a cooling system that didn't seem to want to work, and loud guests in the hallways - did not make for restful sleep. Expected better care as a Marriott gold member but even breakfast was better at Starbucks down the street. I wanted to use the fitness center but the three treadmills in a small cramped room were fully occupied by 6am when I checked on two mornings and the pool was too short for lap swimming. Location was great for my needs but I would still look elsewhere for my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred200099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    81
    35
    11
    5
See reviews for
43
31
16
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

This hotel was our second choice because the Mission Palms was booked solid and we wanted to be close to Mill Avenue. The only good thing about this hotel is that it's about two blocks to Mill Avenue. Limited interaction with staff who were friendly and helpful.

This hotel was the most expensive on our trip and it was the oldest and ugliest. A cramped outdated room with a noisy HVAC unit on the wall retrofitted with a thermostat near the door so the room was either freezing or sweltering and there was no off option which we didn't discover until we came back to the room for the night.

They have a little food service area with tacky tables and chairs selling food and beverage for 3 times the price of anything on Mill Avenue.

If you do stay here and get an email confirmation check your reservation. A week after I received confirmation I was sent another confirmation for a second room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valu8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tombstone, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

I read reviews about the train horn..The desk agent said that the day they stopped blowing the train was a great day for the hotel and him. Everything was perfect in the room. Will stay there again and again. Great value for using name your own price with Priceline.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TombstoneTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I stayed at his hotel on a Saturday nite. VERY BAD idea. The Hotel is located 2 blocks from Mills Street and ASU. I could hear the bar music and talk all nite until 2am. Then many of the drunk patrons stayed at the hotel being so close to the bars. Several times, I could hear the loud noise and talking until 4AM. Also a group of guys tried to get into my room, finally realizing they were on the wrong floor.

I stayed the next night and had no problem. The hotel has free parking and a great new lobby. The man that checked me in was a great host. Even make small talk with me when I was at the hotel computer. FYI: There is no in room wifi. That is suppose to change soon.

The room was clean and well kept. Average space. The entire hotel was clean and fresh. Only stayed at this hotel because I won a bid on priceline. Otherwise, I don't stay at the Marriott chain because of their political and religious beliefs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjaysfan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

My wife and I go to Tempe, Arizonz for the PF Chang's Rock & Roll Marathon every January. We have always stayed at the Mission Palms. This year we tried the Marriott. Staff was friendly and helpful. The place was immaculately clean. Amenities were adequate. The shower, well the shower was weird. There was just a showerhead and curtain. The floor was all on one continuous level; no berm, no ridge nothing to hold the water in at alll. The tile had been laid with absolutely no thought to gravity and as a result the water simply flooded out soaking the whole bathroom. I have never seen anything so ridiculous in my life! Next year it'll be back to the Mission Palms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
page
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Went down with a few friends for my birthday for a couple days, they we're more than happy to give us adjoining rooms, one of which had a great little balcony. Other than the awesome location (just a parking lot away from Mill Ave.) the rooms were very clean, spacious, beds were super comfortable and we only heard the train once. Perhaps because we were out on Mill all night xD. Housekeeping did an excellent job of tiding up our room, beds were made, fresh towels, extra shampoo/conditioner/soap. The staff was super friendly, answered all of our questions, very professional. I would definitely stay here again, and I'm looking forward to my next visit :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alldolledupxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Great rooms but, you will only have a peacefull sleep if u have the rooms facing the carpark. If you wantthe room with the Pool view you will have compromise your sleep then , apparantly the train starts screaming out loud at 12am and 6 am some times at 5am too ! seriously i had to shif out especially since i was going to be there for 5 weeks . cafe is boring really, no variety same food but then again . since the hotel is in such a great location that you get all the good restaurants since it near the ASU at just a walking distance, pubs and bars are available too if you like to hang out late at night wthout going too far. only problem with room 137 is the aircon jus goes into a heater mode and heats up the entire room. sadly they do not have portable remotes like in singapore hotels where you can switch it off while in bed. but al in all my 5 weeks were great. Just FYI the Hotel shuttle is the best takes youalmost anywhere within 15miles of the hotel. there is factory outlet too nearby if youlove to shop.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Euphorigenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.3 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown/University
0.8 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#9 of 49 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#10 of 49 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe - ASU Area
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Phoenix Tempe/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tempe Downtown

Property: Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Address: 601 S Ash Ave, Tempe, AZ 85281-2822
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tempe
#4 Business Hotel in Tempe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tempe Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The refreshing, state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown Hotel provides great flexibility and choices for our guests. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard(R). The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R), which provides guests with healthy food and Starbucks(R) beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. The Courtyard Downtown Tempe Hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Tempe, AZ and is just blocks from Arizona State University, Sun Devil Stadium, the Phoenix Zoo and a free ten minute shuttle ride from Sky Harbor Airport. Guests can enjoy fishing and boating on Tempe Town Lake, hiking at Papago Park or visit Mill Avenue District-home to restaurants, shopping and microbreweries. Book your stay with us today at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown Hotel, one of the top hotels in Tempe, AZ. Your stay is sure to be more enjoyable than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Tempe Marriott
Tempe Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing