We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The most accommodating staff around! Great new conference space!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Tempe Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
milwaukee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most accommodating staff around! Great new conference space!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

April 2011 was the second year Arthritis Introspective help its national conference at this hotel and we were once again, blown away by the quality customer service and the way the staff went out of its way to accommodate the needs of our organization and conference attendees! The remodel was beautiful and the property and rooms are clean and beautiful. There wasn't a request that wasn't met. This review comes late, but with heartfelt appreciation and five star rating!!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms. The "suites" are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deseraecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    79
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
42
31
16
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed during a football game at ASU and the hotel was within walking distance to bars, restaurants and even the stadium. Best of all, the staff was friendly, helpful and the customer service was outstanding - especially the front desk. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keepmovinMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed in this hotel on business for 4 nights. My room was opposite the pool which was a nice view. Even though it was on the ground floor and I was a woman on my own I felt safe. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The room was perfect for my stay and very clean. The bathroom was nice and clean with a nice bath and shower. There were toiletries a hairdryer and iron and ironing board. There was free coffe in reception as well as the tea and coffee being refilled in my room each day. I had some laundry done while I was there which came back promptly and clean and pressed. Breakfast was good with a good variety. Free internet in reception which was handy for work. A pleasant stay and I would go back even with my family if I was city hopping. The only downside was there was no freephone from the airport so you need to take the number with you to phone for the shuttle bus to pick you up.

Room Tip: I think my room was 212 which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hothead65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

The staff at Courtyard Marriott Tempe are wonderful. They are friendly, efficient and caring. But, the trains, were not. They were noisy, loud and rude. They woke the family up at 5:00 am on a Sunday Morning. This would have been ok, if we weren't on vacation. I really like the hotel. The rooms were clean and tidy. I just can't do the trains again. If they move the trains I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FOOTBALLMOM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

This property is well kept and the staff is extremely efficient and friendly. That being said, I will never stay there again. It is located under the Phoenix airport approach path and right next to a major railroad. The affords you the tranquil sounds of trains and planes 24 hours a day. Additionally, I believe it is near a fire station. Emergency vehicle sirens went 5 times through the night I stayed. That combined with the half dozen trains and dozens of planes throughout the night meant no sleep. There must be an railroad crossing near because the trains do not just run past, they blow their horns every time the come through. It sounds like they are in your room!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wine_loving_Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TempeCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments concerning your recent visit to the Tempe Downtown Courtyard. We pride ourselves in being a product that was designed solely through research and information provided by people like yourself. As a result, we are always interested in any feedback that our guests have to offer.

It is disheartening to say the least that your experience at our Courtyard was not to the standards that you are a custom to, and that we like to deliver. I apologize for the Train Noise that disturbed your stay. I am extremely excited to report that the City of Tempe has made the area surrounding our hotel a Quiet Zone. Effective February 1st, 2012, the Trains will no longer blow their Warning Horns while passing by the hotel. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

James T O'Meara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

A great staff that was very friendly and they also bumped us up to a suite at no extra cost during our stay. It was very quiet and the walls seems well insulated from sound as we could hear a pin down in our room. We'' stay there again!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jinaz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Very convenient to Mill Street. Décor was nice. Everything looked new with no signs of wear and tear. Large comfortable lobby. The grounds are nicely maintained. The staff was very pleasant. Housekeeping was lacking. Had to request clean glassware for our room, requested more towels 3 times and finally went down to the front desk ourselves and didn’t get any housekeeping service on our 3rd day until after 3pm when we called the front desk to let them know.

This is a very noisy location for a hotel. The train rumbles by at least twice a night, blowing a very loud whistle. Friday and Saturday night there was a lot of traffic noise. Sunday was pretty quite except for the train. The property is also in the flight path for the airport. So if noise bothers you, don’t stay here or bring your ear plugs.

I only gave the low rankings because of the lack of service from housekeeping and the noisy location. May sound contradictory: it is a pleasant place to stay but I can't recommend it because of the noise. Would other wise.

Room Tip: Not on train side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abqtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.3 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
0.8 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#9 of 47 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#12 of 47 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe - ASU Area
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tempe Downtown

Property: Courtyard Tempe Downtown
Address: 601 S Ash Ave, Tempe, AZ 85281-2822
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tempe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#4 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tempe Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The refreshing, state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown Hotel provides great flexibility and choices for our guests. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard(R). The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R), which provides guests with healthy food and Starbucks(R) beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. The Courtyard Downtown Tempe Hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Tempe, AZ and is just blocks from Arizona State University, Sun Devil Stadium, the Phoenix Zoo and a free ten minute shuttle ride from Sky Harbor Airport. Guests can enjoy fishing and boating on Tempe Town Lake, hiking at Papago Park or visit Mill Avenue District-home to restaurants, shopping and microbreweries. Book your stay with us today at the Courtyard Tempe Downtown Hotel, one of the top hotels in Tempe, AZ. Your stay is sure to be more enjoyable than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tempe Downtown Hotel Tempe
Tempe Marriott
Tempe Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing