We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent front desk staff and manager”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Tempe
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
uk
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Excellent front desk staff and manager”
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This is perhaps the most professional, friendly, helpful and efficient front desk team I have ever dealt with in several years of business travel. The grocery shopping is done properly, the hotel bills are always correct, requests are dealt with in a proactive and considerate and prompt way. This makes all the difference in any hotel stay. They made the room and groceries convienent; they recognize me when I come in; they already see that I will be coming back and want to make sure things are going smoothly. Jeff the manager deserves a lot of praise from Marriott.
The rooms are spacious, they are a bit tired but renovations are planned shortly. However, I don't view that as a plus since the "New" Residence Inn brand format for furniture, which I have seen far too much of, is very uncomfortable.
Internet free and functional, it didn't drop.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mentaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTempe, General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for your kind commentary about the hotel. We certainly work hard to provide the very highest level of service possible. You are correct, shortly after your comments were left we did begin (and have now completed) a full renovation of the hotel!
Come back and stay with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    42
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
41
18
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2010

This place feels more like a cheap apartment complex than a Marriott hotel. I've stayed at a Residence Inn elsewhere and it was very nice so maybe I was expecting too much? I have stayed at a Townplace Suites which I thought was supposed to be lower on the Marriott scale and it was much nicer.

The rooms were clean but just shabby. All the caulking in the bathroom was old and showing gaps. Also, the light switches all had black gunk on them showing they aren't regularly clean. A lot of the outlet covers were the same. There was also a family of dust bunnies living in the AC vents- you could see there was effort to clean the exterior but not go very deep. The bathroom vanity looked like it had been there a long time. There were multiple spots in the ceiling where the upstairs must've leaked and they did a poor job of fixing it. For the price, I might've been able to forgive a lot of this but the doors of the adjacent units slam so hard that it feels like your own door was slammed shut. I think someone in a neighboring unit must've left every day around 5:30 because I was startled awake everyday at that time and I am NOT an early riser. Also, I did not feel very safe. There is no fence around the property so if you are on the first floor there is nothing stopping anyone on the sidewalk from walking up to your window. There are also blind spots in the entry way where someone could hide- they should have mirrors. I thought the pool was okay.

In all, I was very disappointed. I've stayed at multiple Homewood Suites by Hilton and they are far and away much better and in the same price range. From now on, I will stick to Hilton properties- they have not disappointed me yet, unlike Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpete001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTempe, General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
We sincerely appreciate your candid comments about your experience at our hotel. It was comments like yours (about the condition of the property) that enabled us to go through a full hotel renovation. Since your stay with us, we have completely rebuilt the rooms from the ground up - including new furniture, paint, carpet, stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, new tile, new bathtubs, etc. As for the sense of security at the hotel, we do understand your concern. That is why we do keep a very close eye on our property and even hire a security guard for the overnight shift to ensure the safety of each and every one of our guests.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We were in Phoenix on family business and needed a location central to a couple of homes. We were traveling with a 17-year-old and a 16-month old. We had a two-bedroom, two bath suite with full kitchen and living room, and it was so spacious that our families came to visit US in the hotel rather than us going to their homes. The staff was attentive and concerned and treated us like old friends. The facilities were well-kept and the pool was sparkling clean. Housekeeping did a fabulous job, arranged our daughter's stuffed animals against the pillows, and put our dirty dishes in the dishwasher and ran it so they were clean when we returned. The breakfast buffet was abundant and quite good. The free "social hours" Monday - Thursday evenings were amazingly tasty and they were full meals -- not appetizers. The hotel obviously caters to a lot of corporate groups with employees on extended stay, and we saw more of them than we did tourists or families. If you are a light sleeper, request a room on the courtyard, as the property is bounded by major streets and it could get loud at night. We were so impressed that we will stay here again when we come to see family.

  • Liked — Spaciousness of rooms, and free breakfasts and dinners
  • Disliked — Noise from the surrounding roads
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Milehikrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

I travel a lot and am not super picky -- I realize that one's experience at a hotel can vary widely by time of year, which room you get, which staffers happen to be on duty, etc.

That said, I was disappointed with this hotel for the price. I paid about $300 for a 2-bedroom suite, as I was a mom traveling with my teenage son. Our room was in Building 10. It had last been decorated in the late 80's or early 90's. This doesn't bother me, but the dust on the HVAC register , the grime on the tabletops, and the hairs in the bathroom do. I would normally ask the housekeepers to clean the room again, but frankly, was unnerved by the sight of the Homeland Security's Immigration and Customs Enforcement bus in the parking lot, coupled with a swarm of tense uniformed ICE officers. Their Greyhound-style bus was shiny and hew, and all the windows were painted over. I wonder what they do to people in there.

On the plus side, the desk staff is very friendly and accommodating, the location is convenient to ASU without being caught up in the campus bustle, and the full., hot breakfast (included in the price) was actually pretty darn good. So this hotel is probably a pretty good deal for businesspeople who get discounted rates for long stays. Not sure if I would stay here on "pleasure" again. I would probably dirve a little further and stay in one of the resorts.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Auriel_Swacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

The Residence Inn is located a short drive from the Phoenix Airport. The property sits across from a large shopping mall at the busy intersection of Darrow Drive and Priest Drive. Despite the traffic and mall I found the Residence Inn to be ideal. Working on the road as often as I do, I often find it hard to feel relaxed in a room. The Residence Inn provides a traveler ample space, couch, love seat, fire place, desk, and full kitchen.

You can be certain that that this is not a luxury property; however it provides you with all the necessities and more. Additionally, all staff I came in contact with very kind, professional, and prompt in taking care of my needs. I have stayed at many 5 star properties that could not manage to do that right.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for regular traveler or extended visitor. For the price you pay this is a great deal.

  • Liked — Comfort!
  • Disliked — Busy street
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mlogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2007

The room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. The hotel staff were very friendly and out-of-thier-way helpful. The location felt safe and was conveniently located. I would definately stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Revlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2007

We stayed at the Residence Inn in Tempe from February 15 to 18, 2007. We were in Tempe for a wedding. It was me, my husband and our 16 month old son. We chose this hotel because it had two bedrooms and a separate living area plus a full kitchen with a refrigerator and because it was a good location.

We arrived at around 5:30 PM on the 15th and check in took less than two minutes. Very efficient. We'd requested a crib and a ground floor room. We got the ground floor room and the crib was in the suite already.

The suite itself was nice enough. It was a bit outdated. The cabinets were dark and looked very 1980's. The appliances were that beige color with knobs instead of buttons. The bar furniture was also big chunky dark wood ala 1985. But none of that took away from their use. The full size fridge had an ice maker. The kitchen was fully stocked with every kind of dish you could need. There was a 10 cup coffeemaker but not a lot of cream and sugar. Bring extra if you're a serious coffee drinker. There were two bedrooms. Unfortunately, they both had double beds; no queen or king. There were 3 TV's in the suite; two full bathrooms; three closets. The TV's had limited channels and there's no guide so you have to flip channels to see what's on. I brought my laptop and the hotel provided complimentary internet access. Our plug in was missing the little piece that snaps to keep it connected to your computer so I had to be careful and always check to make sure the cable was still connected. You also had to sign in every 24 hours so if you had anything going at the time when your 24 hours was up, you'd lose it. The bedroom doors aren't solid. They have panes of glass with sheer curtains over them which means you can't have lights on in the living area and have a dark bedroom. The showerhead in the bathroom we used was very old and leaked pretty bad. The towels are small basic hotel towels. It would be nice if they had bath sheets. Overall, the suite itself was good for our needs even though we had a few glitches.

The hotel provides free hot breakfast every day. That's a great benefit. We had eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffles, cereal, yogurt, juice, pastries, etc. They also have a nice pool area that was open and we used it. They provide towels at the pool and you use your room key to access the pool. The hotel is 100% non smoking. If you're caught smoking, there is a $250 fee. Our neighbors smoked like chimneys and the day they left we had to listen to loud carpet cleaning machines for a few hours.

The hotel is located directly across the street from the Arizona Mills Mall that has every store and food chain imaginable. It's also within a block of every fast food chain you can think of. Lastly, there's a CVS Pharmacy in the parking lot of the hotel which is very handy for buying juice, milk, etc. The hotel also offers room service from early AM to around 11 PM.

The only thing I didn’t like about the hotel was the $250 a night price tag. It was a nice suite but I don’t think the suite warranted the rate. I think $200 would have been more appropriate. But we needed that configuration and we’d never been to Phoenix so we went with what we could find online. I’d recommend this hotel but try to find a better rate. They also offer studio and one bedroom suites.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank MileHighGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall
0.3 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tempe

Property: Residence Inn Tempe
Address: 5075 S Priest Dr, Tempe, AZ 85282-6653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tempe 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Tempe, Arizona Hotel is an ideal lodging choice near ASU. We provide just what you need to maintain your normal pace when planning an extended stay in Tempe. You’ll enjoy a modern lobby designed with a variety of comfortable spaces offering free wireless high-speed internet and various options for refueling at The Market. Our Tempe, AZ hotel’s spacious guest suites each feature a sectional sofa, an ergonomic desk and well-designed bathrooms. Fully-equipped kitchens complement each suite's separate spaces for eating, sleeping and working. When you choose us for your extended stay hotel in Tempe, take advantage of your fully equipped kitchen and don't miss our free hot breakfast featuring a variety of healthy and freshly made selections. Finish the day right at our evening Social Hour, where you can relax and recharge with complimentary drinks and light fare. At our Residence Inn All-Suite Hotel in Tempe, we give you everything you need to maintain your balance and thrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tempe Hotel Tempe
Tempe Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing