We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
HIExpress.com
$161
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/30/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
$145
View deal
Expedia.com$161
Priceline$161
Lol.travel$190
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
154
69
31
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
154
69
31
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk elevator laundry az highway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 277 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2017

This hotel was our home for a week and it did feel like home. We absolutely love the friendliness of the staff and how clean the facilities are. The mall is a stone throw away and Phoenix is just a few minutes drive from this hotel. Lilianna helped me with all my needs and answered questions about the area. Highly recommended to everyone visiting the Phoenix area... :)

Room tip: Corner room on the first floor is quieter and not too too warm.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovieP15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tempe, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Thank you for the great review and mentioning Lilianna! We hope to see you again the next time you are in Tempe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2017 via mobile

First time at the hotel...rooms are huge, everyone is a semi suite with a little counter to separate the living room from the bedroom, giant TV and a sofa bed to boot....so having extra people is no issue.
Lilliana was great and let us not only bring our food downstairs but also let us watch the basket ball game on the TV downstairs....thank you.
We were a group of over 20 so it was awesome that we all got to watch the game together.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank akwonazdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tempe, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017

Thank you for the great review and mentioning Lilianna! We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Tempe area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

A lot of agony went into trying to find the best place to stay in the Phoenix area. I wanted a decent hotel at a reasonable price in a safe convenient location. I sifted through a lot of possibilities before deciding on the Holiday Inn Express in Tempe, and then I second-guessed myself until we actually got there and saw the place. As it turned out, it was a good choice for us. I wanted to be near the airport for a morning flight home—but not too near. I wanted access to freeways, but not to be right on an off-ramp. I wanted to be near restaurants. The Tempe Holiday Inn Express worked out well.

It’s a typical HIE. Breakfast was a little hectic every morning, as there were a lot of guests in town for baseball spring training and college sports tournaments and conferences, and it seemed like they were all leaving at the same time, leading to crowded conditions at the breakfast buffet. Our room was on the 6th floor, with a lovely sunset view over the mountains (and the traffic and restaurants and freeway!). More than a room, less than a suite, it was one large room with a half-height divider between the bed area and a sitting area with a desk and a wet bar. The wet bar came in handy when the sink stopper in the bathroom refused to open up, until a maintenance person fixed it.

The street grid in the Phoenix area made it easy to get around. You have to go through the Arizona Mills circular drive to turn east on Baseline or either direction on Priest, but that was easy enough. We found a good assortment of interesting restaurants within a couple of miles of the hotel. While a part of me would like to stay at a place like the Arizona Biltmore or the Scottsdale Princess, the Tempe HIE met our needs for this trip very well. And the morning drive to the airport didn’t take long at all.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Caroline171
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tempe, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017

Hi Caroline,
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Tempe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017

We have stayed at various hotels in the Phoenix area and this one rated right at the top. We were staying with a large group and the staff was great at assisting us. Especially, Lilianna. She made it possible for us to all eat together and hooked us up for the PAC 12 final game while we ate. Thanks to the staff. Great location.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickles81ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tempe, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2017

Thank you for the great review and mentioning Lilianna. We hope to see you again when you return to Tempe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2017

Lobby is welcoming; staff is even more welcoming!
Easy check-in. Room exceeded expectations. Very comfortable; quite spacious with a little sitting area; clean and well-appointed.
Breakfast was not spectacular, but average for a free hotel breakfast.
Small gym with a few excellent machines, which I used each day.
Hotel is conveniently located with easy freeway access, and just a couple of miles from Diablo Stadium, where we attended Angels spring training games.
No Restaurant in the hotel, but across the parking lot is a shopping center with plenty of eating spots, including a very short walk to the Claim Jumper restaurant and bar.
No complaints whatsoever!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tempe, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2017

Thank you so much for the excellent review Marilyn! We hope to see you again the next time you are in Tempe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews