We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I selected this hotel for its near but far proximity to Ironman Arizona. I do not like to be at the race venue. I prefer to be further away with fewer athletes in order to not get caught up in the frenzy of race time.

This hotel is 1 block from the light rail station, so it was easy enough to access the race venue without driving.

The room was clean and quiet. The refrigerator was huge, no problem holding my groceries. I had plenty of room for me, my mom, and my gear- including my bike.

Room Tip: There is no problem with a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 244 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a former Amerisuites, so rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The bed is comfortable. Television is newer LCD / HD (and very large) but other furniture in the room needs to be replaced. The desk chair, for example, does not raise high enough to actually use it to get any work done. Power outlets are all below furniture so you have to crawl on the floor to plug in most devices (the kitchenette has a countertop outlet).

The air conditioner cycles on and off. It isn't loud when it does, but if you like a little white noise when you sleep, there is no way to keep the fan on full time.

Breakfast was ok - HoEx standard. Easy walk to the mall with all of its associated attractions and dining options.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

enjoyed a very favorable stay in the Holiday Express in Tempe, AZ while there on a business trip. the breakfast provided was exceptional, well organized, clean and fresh. The staff was helpful and pleasant.The room was more than adequete, having comfortable beds, a desk for my work space, and an area to relax. The pool area was close and well maintained.
we did experience a problem with ants in our room, which was quickly handled by moving us upstairs.

Room Tip: we did experience a problem with ants on the ground floor, which was quickly corrected by moving us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherryp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have just spent 4 nights at this hotel and have enjoyed every one, its ideally located just off I-10 on Baseline Road which makes it so easy to travel around the greater Phoenix area. We found the hotel to be very clean and the staff very friendly, one of the days we stayed there happened to be my wifes birthday and she had left some family cards she had been given on the bedside table, we came back in the evening to find a nice note from the housekeeping staff wishing her a happy birthday, that added to her great day. As a PC Club member we were upgraded to a suite which was very nice indeed and contained everything we needed including disposable plates and cutlery. The room was clean and well maintained, as was the rest of the hotel which also has the usual sized pool and spa which were very welcome after a day in the 100 plus degree heat. Next to the hotel in one direction is a well stocked CVS pharmacy which I was suprised to find had a good selection of beers in the coolers, in the other direction was a Claim Jumper hain restaurant and a Jacks Crab shack so dining is not a problem.
All in all a great location, hotel and staff, we will return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed three nights at this hotel. Loved how close it is to ASU! Check in was a breeze. Front desk staff was always friendly and willing to assist with directions. Breakfast area was always clean and well stocked. In fact, our family really enjoyed and appreciated the breakfast. Loved the feel of a small hotel but a big chain.

Thank you for making our stay in Tempe very enjoyable!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank much2buzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast was more than we expected and the place was easy to find. The rooms were quiet and there was everything right around us for shopping or anything else you might want to do. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights because it is really so close to Arizona mills mall (gate 3). Something is wrong in the bathroom. The breakfast is traditional but the cinnamon baked freshly every day is awesome. The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo2men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Mo2men,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the cinnamon rolls.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the bathroom. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe

Address: 1520 W Baseline Rd, Tempe, AZ 85283-1046 (Formerly AmeriSuites Tempe/Arizona Mills)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: $110 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tempe, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express hotel. For a convenient location in a lively city, stay at the Tempe Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, just 12 miles from downtown Phoenix. Our Arizona hotel, which is six miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and 20 miles from Scottsdale Airport (SDL), keeps you close to both business districts and desert landscapes with pristine parks. Downtown Phoenix includes the corporate locations of businesses like Honeywell and US Airways. From the American Heart Association to Wells Fargo, a diverse range of Phoenix corporations conveniently surround our Tempe hotel. And to make your trip easier, we offer flexible hotel meeting space with catering and a business center to help you host your next event. Leisure travelers can enjoy shopping, watching IMAX or playing at the interactive GameWorks next door at the Arizona Mills Mall. Or escape to a new world at a popular Arizona attraction such as the Phoenix Zoo in Papago Park or the Hawaiian-themed Big Surf Water Park near our Tempe hotel. Our studio-suite Phoenix hotel gives you the comfort and amenities you deserve. Stay Smart at this Tempe hotel that offers several choice amenities such as an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, hotel-wide wireless Internet access and a hot breakfast bar served daily. Check out our great Phoenix hotel deals and rates and book your reservation at the Holiday Inn Express Tempe hotel now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Tempe
Holiday Inn Tempe
Holiday Inn Express Tempe
Tempe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing