We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,483)
Filter reviews
1,483 results
Traveler rating
670
493
192
73
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
670
493
192
73
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top of the rock market cafe pool bar unique property narande spa great pool angels spring training tennis courts pool side breakfast buffet close to the airport bit dated business trip business or pleasure pools tubs cheryl
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,483 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2019

Our band stayed at the resort to play a corporate function. The place is like five miles from the airport and I admittedly had low expectations. I was very surprised. I was stunned by the architecture. I learned the place was designed by one of Frank Lloyd Wright's students. The master would have been proud as this place coexists with the nature around it as well as any place I have seen. Whoever did the landscape plan was a master in his own right. Little stuff like Boulders covering staircases, waterfalls seemingly falling into pools, hot tubs hidden by buttes. A great pool that looks like you are looking at the Pitons in St Lucia. The bartenders and pool guys were great (Aaron, Joey, wassup/) Check in and Check out amazing.
While it is more of a business place, the pool area makes it a very cool resort if you are in town for only a short time. If you are going to Angels spring training, its in the backyard.
The rooms were average, but they did have a fridge. Some of the prices were nuts: $9 draft beer? All in all, I recommend this place and I hope to come back.

Room tip: some of the rooms are a long walk to elevator
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DudsyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth G, Manager at Phoenix Marriott Resort Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the true beauty The Buttes has to offer! We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

The hotel is beautiful but the highway and airport noise pollution is borderline abusive. With air going and the tv on you can barely drown it out. (Sleep was not truly restful) Top of the Rock restaurant has great views, pool is very nice, hot tubs are super private (make noise when approaching or risk embarrassing someone!) and the staff was polite although often ineffective and slow. We still had a great time, Tempe/Phoenix/Scottsdale is a great getaway.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth G, Manager at Phoenix Marriott Resort Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your experience here at The Buttes. We appreciate your comments in regards to the friendly staff we have here on property. I am sorry that the property left you feeling like it is dated and not a right fit. Your feedback is helpful as we are always looking for a way to improve and enhance our guests' experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019

I loved this place for myself, gorgeous landscaping and lovely pool. The rooms are fine, but need sprucing up except the shower which was great. Could use a magnifying mirror in the bathroom, and there is no door between bathroom and rest of room for those who desire more privacy. The bed was very comfortable. Biggest issue for this place would be those who cannot walk well nor navigate steep stairs. While my favorite part of this hotel was the landscaping, to truly appreciate it, one needs to be able to walk about the many levels of landscaping and paths. While I can do that quite well, thinking about aging parents or others, may not be the best place for them. Overall though, a great place to come, especially if you have kids who would love the pool, slide and hot tubs.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cntraveler2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth G, Manager at Phoenix Marriott Resort Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the true beauty The Buttes has to offer! We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

We stayed here for 6 nights. Our main reason was a college visit to ASU with our daughter. We also went to Mesa for spring training games (note that the A's stadium is literally at the entrance to this resort!)

The facilities at this property are great. The pool area is wonderful - could use more chairs or less chair savers who never show up. Great service from the servers who come around. They were all very friendly and took time to talk as they made their rounds.

The grounds are beautiful and my teenagers loved walking around taking pictures with the Arizona scenery behind them!

Very convenient location. Quick access to the highway, and basically no more than 20 minutes from anything we did. Avoid rush hour though!

Marriott "Bonvoy" members who qualify for the lounge - note there is no lounge. They instead give you certificates good for 2 people to the continental buffet, can upgrade to the hot buffet for $6. This was more than adequate, however paying $23 per person for my kids is a joke. We ended up doing breakfast every other day and used 2 certificates each day. I would never pay $23 per person,

The negatives: We are titanium elite members and received a 1st floor room overlooking the highway - it was very LOUD. The other side of the hallway had a little patio and overlooked the center of the resort. Our preferences are set to a high floor and this is the first time in many years that has not been accommodated. Our air conditioning was set at 60 and never really cooled, and it actually made the room humid to the point our clothes were damp. We mentioned to the front desk twice and finally gave up. There is also no where near enough storage for a family. Plan to live out of your suitcase. There are 3 small drawers and a closet with 5 hangers. Our room had a HUGE empty dead space near the windows where there could easier be a set or drawers.

If you are mobility challenged, this resort will be difficult for you. Being built into the side of the mountain, there are stairs EVERYWHERE. While it is beautiful, it would be very challenging with a scooter/walker/ or wheelchair.
All in all we enjoyed our stay, but will likely go back to the Marriott/Starwood property we normally stay at in Mesa. It was much better for family travel.

Room tip: Ask for a room that does NOT face the highway!!
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoCoastalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth G, Manager at Phoenix Marriott Resort Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your experience here at The Buttes. We appreciate your comments in regards to the friendly staff we have here on property. I am sorry that the property left you feeling like it is dated and not a right fit. Your feedback is helpful as we are always looking for a way to improve and enhance our guests' experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

We combined a 25 year anniversary and family trip into one and really hoped for as close to a “perfect” experience as possible. We actually started out at a Hilton Resort which was far below our expectations and we left after one night.
We decided to spend the remainder of our vacation at the Marriott and it didn’t disappoint! From the minute we arrived until the moment we left for home we noticed attention to detail and friendliness from virtually all the staff. A shout out to Kyle and his boss, who checked us in and made sure everything was perfect after check in, and to Travis, who checked us out and made sure we had a great experience.
The property is very pretty, situated on a hill which affords commanding views from all around. The pool area was very comfortable and unique, also situated on a hill with scenic waterfalls, flowers, etc.. The food at the pool is excellent for “pool food.” Wonderful salads, kids meals and great service. We ate several lunches there.
Thanks again to all the staff at the Marriott for making our vacation perfect! I’ve attached photos of the pool and views from the resort at night.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank KristyChaska_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth G, Manager at Phoenix Marriott Resort Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2019

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our unique property and our amazing staff. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay here at the Buttes. We hope to accommodate you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews