We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort. Beautiful views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort. Beautiful views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

We stayed at the Buttes for three nights over the weekend. Stayed on the 4th floor, resort view. Very nice resort. Conveniently located to Phoenix, Scottsdale, Mesa and attractions. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debradale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    434
    165
    65
    48
See reviews for
266
300
54
479
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
134 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

My two younger kids were well attended to during our stay there. We enjoy the large pool area and hot tubs. Since it was not the busiest time of the year, we had the pool to ourselves. The manager came over and asked if my kids wanted to use the slide even though it was closed. They happily had someone come over and monitor the slide while just the two boys used the facility. The breakfast buffet was nice and had several options for us . The gym was well maintained and they had fruit available.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windycityfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2009

I was amazed at the views of this hotel and at the whole layout definitely would stay there again.

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

Beautiful location, lousy reservation check-in personal. The check-in desk person somehow didn't record my brother's room change the day we checked in. At 11:30 PM, on the second day we were there, security came and 'escorted' both of us to the main desk where we were questioned. I had made the reservations (3 rooms) and was made to feel like I had done something wrong. Remember, this was almost midnight, and we had already been there for over 36 hours. Both my brother and I are Marriott reward customers and have used Marriott facilities all over the world. This was the worst experience either of us has experienced and all the night manager offered to do was 'comp' us breakfast or give us more Marriott points. It was humiliating, and we had to leave our disabled, elderly mother alone in her room even though we told the security officer about her and that she needed a 'babysitter' if we had to leave.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boatermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed at the Buttes while visiting our son at ASU. Again, we were not disappointed. The pool and landscaping are beautiful and well maintained. Every staff member was extremely friendly. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. We thoroughly enjoy this hotel. We will be back for graduation!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

The hotel is nicely situated into the side of a mountain/canyon. It's cool, but it makes it for a hike to go to the front desk or any of the amenities. But the thing that was really disappointing about the hotel was the cleanliness ... or lack thereof. The hotel was not busy -- July in Phoenix is stifling -- so I am not sure what was going on. I had cobwebs in the light fixtures and under the painting/picture frame on the wall right next to the desk -- and had to make multiple calls to get someone to clean it up. Disappointing for this kind of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surreyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

I was on business. My company has a deal with Mariott properties and find them to be universally good. This property was no exception. The lighting in the room was not very good and the look on the door was a little tricky. Other than that the stay met all of my needs. I thought that the lay out of the entire property fit the surrounding area very well. I liked being able to walk around the property with a very secure feeling. The layout of the pool and the multiple hot tubs was nice. I would stay here again when in Tempe. The bedding also was excellant.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tempe
South Mountain
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Property: Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes
Address: 2000 W Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282-1005 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tempe
#5 Family Hotel in Tempe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive Mountaintop Conference Resort with view of Phoenix & Valley of the Sun located in center of historic Twin Buttes area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buttes, a Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Buttes
Marriott Tempe
Tempe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing