We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Worth a Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

What a cool place! We stayed in August, so beyond the heat ---- it was a very interesting hotel especially how it is built into the rocks. Great rooms, interesting location, close to the airport. Perfect hotel for business travel. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATLBuckeyeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

The Buttes team would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others and thank you for leaving a review for us. We look forward to future stays and again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

My family & I stayed at the Buttes Resort for a 3 day staycation. It was absolutely the greatest vacation experience for all of us! It all started when we drove up the mountain, to the lobby, where the staff start, to make it all happen! Keys in hand, we were off to our room, bellman in tow. The room was spotless clean and the bed, so comfortable. The staff catered to our every request! What a beautiful property to stay and play right in the city. We would like to put in a special "Thank You" to Mike, Michelle & Casey, at the resort for making this the best Birthday getaway experience for us all.

Room Tip: Fun to have a room that looks at the mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We love you! Thank you so much lady - we cant wait until next year. It is always a pleasure to help your family celebrate such a special occasion each year. Thank you again and I will share this with the team. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've stayed here four times when on business in Phoenix - usually for one to two weeks at a time - and actually like this place. It is convenient to the airport and the Phoenix city center and, while surrounded by freeways and development, feels strangely like being in the wilderness, due to the ingenious setting on a butte. It is a resort, so no concierge lounge; but with Platinum status, one gets access to the breakfast buffet at one level or another. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and well serviced. The restaurant options onsite are good, with a smart "Top of the Rock" restaurant with high quality cuisine and a spectacular view for a special evening, if you want to expend some extra currency. Inexpenive dining options are a short drive down the winding desert road. The pools are huge and attractively set in the rocks. The only minor gripe is that if there is a rambunctious lot swimming or hanging out around the poo at nightl, it can be a bit disturbing in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing the pool have sliding doors and a little patio in the shade to sit out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience here at our lovely Buttes Resort. We appreciate your stay with us. It is always nice to know that our guest feels like they are on a "getaway" yet really working. We do hope to see you in future stays. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife was attending a conference here so we came a couple of days early for a cheap weekend break . The pools and hot tobs and the bar built into the rocks are amazing, in fact we were content just to laze around, drink and and swim for the entire 2 day stay. My only complaint was that we had to walk up to the bar to ask for drinks most of the time, even though when there were 2 or 3 staff hanging around the bar chatting like they were the ones on vacation. The property is also pretty close to the freeway. We are both Platinum so got an upgraded room, but it was one the freeway side, so there was some noise which detracts a little bit from the illusion that you are in some tropical island resort, but it wasn't a big deal. It was a short cab ride to downtown Tempe will plenty of cool bars and restaurants. We would definitely return for some quick weekend R&R!

Room Tip: Standard rooms on the pool side of the hotel are better located (and less noisy) than the upgraded o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

We would like to thank you for leaving such a great review in regards to your stay here at The Buttes. We appreciate your time and your stay. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed one night after my daughter's 16th birthday dinner at Top of the Rock. The landscape is beautiful. The rooms are spacious. The beds very comfortable. I was allowed an early check in with no fuss. I requested a refrigerator and I received it within 10 minutes. The girls loved the cucumber water, and lemon water. The valet, allowed me to use an umbrella when I needed to get something from my car. After dinner they drove me to my car. Very courteous staff. I loved it.

Room Tip: Check website for deals. When I called and placed my reservation over the phone, I would have paid m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Phoenixx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with other in regards to your most recent visit to the Buttes. We are happy we were able to help you celebrate your special occasion and we look forward to being your choice of place on future visits. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nites for a girls weekend spa getaway. Very helpful & friendly staff. Nice facility, only 10 minutes from airport. If you are looking to relax this is your place. Not much of a nite life. It's been awfully quiet even at the hotel bars. Massage at the spa was wonderful every day. I would recommend if you are looking for a laid back, stress free environment.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to describe our lovely resort here at The Buttes. You are very right that the property is very relaxing and quiet. We take pride in having the best staff in the valley, the cleanest hotel. We are even more happy that we have this little oasis we call home right in the middle of the big city. Thanks again and when you are ready to relax come see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Beautiful place! Great service. The pool is unique, as are the hot tubs. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Location is near everything, yet still gives you a feel of being out in the desert. Would go back anytime!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmpalumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for leaving feedback in regards to your stay here at The Buttes. We welcome you back anytime and we appreciate your stay with us. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
2.4 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Tempe
2.7 mi away
AC Hotel Phoenix Tempe/Downtown
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Address: 2000 W Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282-1005 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tempe
#3 Business Hotel in Tempe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range: $215 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive Mountaintop Conference Resort with view of Phoenix & Valley of the Sun located in center of historic Twin Buttes area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buttes, a Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Buttes
Marriott Tempe
Tempe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing