We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great One-Night Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Yucaipa, California
1 review
“Great One-Night Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed one night, had a warm welcome from the girl at the front desk even though it was 12:30am when we finally arrived. The lobby was quite amazing with an indoor waterfall. The indoor hallway to our 1st floor room stunk like an old hotel that used to allow smoking, but once we were in our room it smelled ok. The room was simple and clean. The beds were more comfortable than most hotel beds, but the pillows were super thick, fine for me, but not for the rest of the family. The shower head had GREAT water pressure! We hit the café first thing in the morning and found the prices a little high, so we decided to buy our food a la carte and only pay for what we needed. Next we went down to the pool, it was summer so it was AWFULLY hot, too hot to sit in the shade by the pool, but comfortable in the pool, WHICH IS HUGE!!! They have a more "adult" side, where smoking is allowed and water volleyball and a more "Kid-Friendly" side that is awesome with a waterfall!!! Also, at 11am the water slide is open! The kids and I were very excited for the slide, but kind of disappointed after we slid on it, because it didn't really "slide" you more so had to push yourself down it. All in all the stay was wonderful and at the price we paid I would do it again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdubamsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your stay at The Buttes. We appreciate your time and hope next time you have a chance to stay more than just one evening with us. The hotel has so much to offer, I know that if you enjoyed the resort in one night that a stay over the weekend will be absolutely relaxing. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon, but for longer.. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    400
    147
    62
    46
See reviews for
245
281
49
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for a Saturday night on a Travelzoo voucher. It was a really good deal on the room with a $30 room credit towards whatever we wanted.

Pros: The facility was great. The patio room we stayed in was nice with a large shower. The pool area is really spectacular as long as you don't mind steps. The restaurant had an amazing view and the cafe was nice as well.

Cons: Despite the money we saved with the voucher, it was still ridiculously over priced. The food and drinks did not warrant the price tag (very mediocre), nor did any of the other services. Everything has a charge, including parking an wi-fi access (which was horrible because you had to continually sign in).

Summary: We went here hoping to feel like we got a decent deal and were pampered, but ended up feeling like we were nickle and dimed despite the "deal".

Room Tip: Bring your wallet...you're going to need it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seven95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We would like to thank you for providing feedback on your stay here at The Buttes. I am sorry that you found a lack of value during your most recent stay with us. We should have done much better making sure you were aware of all the promotions we have going on throughout the resort every weekend to help staycationers enjoy the hotel at a reasonable rate. We provide "quick bite menus" and Happy Hour in our outlets that both have great menu options all under $10. We have an "optional" Hospitality Fee that lumps parking, internet, and breakfast for $25.00 saving you $44.95 a night. Plus not to mention the $30 resort credit that is included in the travelzoo promotion. I am sorry if these savings and promotions were unknown. We would like for you to come back and see what we have to offer at a very reasonable summer rate. Thanks and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces,NM
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Buttes on July 4th holiday for a short weekend getaway. What I like most about the property is that it feels like you're not in the city but yet you are because of it's solitude.It has a more intimate feel to it. It's proximity to the airport, dining and shopping is a plus. Yes,the hotel is older but that's what create it's own character.It sits on a hill and overlooks the city of Phoenix. Since we are Marriott Platinum Elite members, we were able to avail free breakfast buffet for 2 at the Market Place. Breakfast was good with, sausages, fruits, juices, omelet station,waffles and hash browns. The waiters/waitresses are all wonderful and they ensure you're well taken care of. You can access the main property and market place through their skybridge located on the 5th floor which I thought is cool. The check in was a breeze and the front desk were very accomodating. Our room was located in the 4th floor which is nice and spacious overlooking the pool area. To top that, the beds are sooo comfortable which I enjoyed after a long drive.We can hear people talking and kids screaming from our room during the day but hey,they're having a good time, so we did'nt mind it one bit. The pool closes at 10pm which is great if you're in Phoenix and it has a party/barbecue like atmosphere to it. We checked the exercise area and it has ample equipment to what to what we need. The property also provide ice cold water all over the place to quench your thirst. Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay. I look forward to staying in this property again in the future. I'm adding this to my fav hotel resort list.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GKirton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
It is a pleasure to hear how wonderful your stay was here in Tempe at The Buttes. We take pride in having the friendliest staff and clean accommodations. We thank you for taking time to share your experience here at our oasis and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake forest
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I thought I had made a reservation but I didn't click all the buttons. The Buttes staff was great not only did they get us a room they gave us a $50 discount. The property is beautiful and the views are excellent. The rooms are good size. The pools, bars and restaurant were great. Mostly the staff is super nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdlifetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recognize the amazing staff we have here at The Buttes. We take pride in providing the best and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

A group of us, all getting our own rooms stayed at the Buttes for the weekend to celebrate a few birthdays and Anniversaries in June. Overall, a terrific stay. Just a few blips.
The room was nice, spacious and clean. I had requested a fridge, no down bedding and both were in place. The bathroom area was pretty tight, so that two people trying to shower and get ready were bumping into each other. Very narrow and inconvenient, with closet door in the way and shower in the water closet room... not ideal. Bed was very comfortable and the hotel was mostly quiet. The pools were nice and although crowded didnt feel claustrophobic as the areas are nicely laid out.
My issue if I have one has to be the staff. They were not rude or uncaring, but they didnt seems to be overly officious or helpful. We had some questions about specials in the restaurant (our group would have preferred to stay on site and not leave the resort for dinner) but it seemed no one could answer our question (the restaurant is very pricey). So after deciding to go down to Mill Ave area for dinner, we were hoping that the hotel could provide us with transportation or secure it for us. But everyone we asked gave us a blank look, or said... yeah, no, i don't know, I don't think so... so we had to make our dinner reservations and try to call out own cabs. I later heard from the Hotel asst mgr who said this should have not been an issue, we should have been helped with all of this. The hotel has a car service and the front desk and concierge should have been on top of this when we asked.
For a Resort of this caliber (no resort fees but they charge you for parking, so really, same thing... and they TAX the parking! lol) it just seemed like the service wasn't up to snuff. The staff could have done a lot more to help. We had 7 rooms booked out in their slow season, it would have been nice for our 2 requests to be handled. But we took care of it. I would just suggest all staff refer questions they don't know the answer to, to someone who does. If this is part of their resort experience, the staff should know the offerings. Not just the beer specials at the pool.
Overall, the hotel itself was very nice. But next time I might try Scottsdale :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesnt overlook the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bboutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback in regards to your stay. We are glad that you had a great time and very sorry that we were not all on the same page when it comes to information and events going on throughout the property and city wide. We take pride in being experts at what we do and it looks like we feel short of this goal during your stay. I truly am not sure why so many different encounters with the staff left you with the lack of help you needed, this is uncommon. We have shared your comments with the team to ensure it does not happen again and we do hope you choose the Buttes on future stays in Tempe. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here a night on business this summer and enjoyed my stay. The resort is very quiet and feels like you are away from it all in the desert. The staff is very accommodating and the rooms are nice and quiet. There are multiple outdoor connected pools with a water slide. There is an adjacent conference area with large and small rooms and a nice restaurant that is in a separate building which is nice. Parking is free. There are trails that you can hike and a nice workout area. I would stay here again.
Summer rates are very affordable. The airport is fairly close to the airport for easy taxi access.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsalotoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at The Buttes. We appreciate your 5 star review and look forward to being your choice selection when you visit Tempe. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very large outdoor pools with cascading water. Beautiful restaurant, especially at sunset. Beef rib appetizer may be the best I ever ate. Room was well maintained and bed was very comfortable. Bell service is outstanding, as is service in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Agree that the extra space and elegant bath area of the one room suite is well worth a little splurg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtF_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a 5 star review in regards to your stay here at The Buttes. We do appreciate your time and thank you for recognizing how excellent the staff is here at the property. We look forward to being your choice in destinations here in the Tempe Phoenix area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Mountain
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Property: Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes
Address: 2000 W Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282-1005 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tempe
#5 Family Hotel in Tempe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive Mountaintop Conference Resort with view of Phoenix & Valley of the Sun located in center of historic Twin Buttes area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott and Hotwire so you can book your Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buttes, a Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Buttes
Marriott Tempe
Tempe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing