We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Marriott Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“Great Marriott Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

we'e been members of Marriott for nearly 30 years and have never before received the level of attention and care we
received when we stayed her in April 2013. And considering one of the nights was a free rewards night, it was even more appreciated. We were able to drive everywhere. The "two" Ambers - one at the reception desk and the other at the
great restaurant - and our bartender made the experience even better. Thanks to them. We will definitely return. Would like free WI-Fi in room.

Room Tip: We asked for a ground floor which was great for convenience to car but entailed more steps to pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave another 5 star review in regards to your stay here at The Buttes. We truly enjoy providing exceptional service for our guests. We look forward to future stays and again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    411
    152
    63
    46
See reviews for
251
289
51
450
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We are very staunch Marriott supporters generally choosing their properties over others so much so that we have invested heavily into 2 Marriott Vacation Club memberships in Asia Pacific and recently in the USA.
Our recent experience at this property has most certainly made us change our mind.
My sister and I had 2 double rooms booked.We both checked in at exactly the same time. One of us was given a breakfast coupon for two while the other got nothing. On querying the discrimination ,the checkin clerk...Matt Ferguson...said and I quote..."stop begging for favors otherwise I will snatch the free one I gave" We asked to speak to the manager to express our protest about this rude,unacceptable behavior and were told that he was the Manager and the supreme authority. Next day my husband once again requested to speak to the senior manager...the second man at the counter...Warren...was worse. He said and I quote again.."If you do not like it here pack your bags and leave"
If this is the kind of staff Marriott puts in their front desk, we would rather look elsewhere for our future needs...thank goodness for the Sheratons and many others.
The hotel had a bad smell in the reception....the very ordinary rooms had a fire evacuation map on the door which did not include the room we had...obviously the management leaves much to be desired. The food served was stale.. poor standard...yet expensive
All in all the worst hotel experience in my 35 years of traveling.

VERY poor show Marriott....not expected from you..are you really choosing the right ones to take you forward or don't you care

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rini47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
I would like to personally apologize that this still in an issue from your stay in February this year. We again apologize that a gesture the hotel tried to provide turned into such a nightmare. You are indeed correct, 2 rooms were booked and one of those two rooms had a Marriott Rewards account attached to it. The month you stayed we were running a property specific promotion giving Rewards members (only) a scratch ticket at check in. This ticket would give a guest a chance to win one of three things (free internet, 1 breakfast voucher, or free parking). This was offered to you, a valued rewards member, and you are right, it was not offered to the second room as they were not a rewards member. This was not meant to be discrimination at check in and when the desk agent was accused of racism and then bantered for 4 breakfast vouchers, what was to be a nice gesture turned out to be quit a horrible experience. We have reached out to you repeatedly to explain how sorry we were and how this was a huge misunderstanding. I am sorry still that this is necessary to respond to months later. We do hope that you understand and again we are truly sorry, and have made sure to consider what happened during this experience is better explained to prevent such a horrible misconception to what we were trying to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Buttes! It was close to the airport, centrally located to everything that we needed, and our 3 days were wonderful. The pool kept my son busy for hours, the slide was great, and the pool volleyball allowed us to meet other fun guests. We were able to sleep in b/c of the quiet rooms, and I love the rolling shades that kept out the sun in the am. The beds were comfy, breakfast buffet was amazing.
The service was great all around and the food was epic.
Grounds were well maintained, the staff helped with opening doors whenever possible, and were all around lovely. Great stay, we will visit again! I will recommend weddings to be hosted here b/c the setting is amazing. We even hiked up the trail and took pics from up there. lovely! Hopefully the remodel will incorporate wifi in the rooms.

Room Tip: Both rooms that we stayed in were great! 2nd and 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for another 5 star rating for The Buttes. We truly enjoy what we do, and we are glad that it has such a positive impact of guests like yourself who choose to stay with us. Thank you again. Your time, loyalty, and feedback and truly valuable and we look forward to servicing you in the future. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Buttes was an amazing resort and the service impeccable! I can honestly say that I have never had service provided at a higher level. Each and every member of the staff that we met or conversed with treated us with warming smiles and honest intentions to help us in any manner necessary. In our first experience a bartender did not have the drink requested. She ran from the lower cafe bar to the top of the rock bar to get the drink requested. The second experience was a conversation with our server at the top of the rock restaurant. It was more than a customer server discussion. We had some difficulty with finding a local restaurant, and he connected us with another server that he believed would know what we were looking for. It was our favorite local food. The next morning we received a card under the door from the server, stating that he enjoyed our conversation and hope that we had a great stay! I can site three other such unique incidents in a four day stay. I can honestly say that not one staff was contrary. In regards to the facility, it was just awesome. The architecture was amazing as it integrated into the natural landscape. Just beautiful...it was hot in June, but the pool solved that for us... What an experience... Thanks Marriott team!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share how wonderful the staff is here at The Buttes. We take pride in the attention to details the staff expresses during all guest interactions. We do our best to address and assist all our of guest needs. When we personally cant our job is not done until we find someone on the team that can. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel seems very out of date. Pool was packed, the food was nasty and over priced however staff was so friendly.
The girl security officer did an amazing job at making our stay worth while. I wish internet/wifi were free and no parking free.
Black shades are definitely needed in the rooms.
But overall I would stay here recommend this property and stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Suites only
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your birthday at The Buttes. We love hosting guest celebrations and being a part of the memories created. We appreciate your feedback, and even more your time in sharing how great the staff is here. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times now and still enjoy the beautiful, well maintained grounds - our most recent stay was just after Memorial Day weekend. The staff was extremely friendly and professional from the front desk to the servers by the pool. Some of our servers like Dan, Peter, Kelly and Tzitzua were very attentive to our needs and offered impeccable customer service. Jake, from Engineering, had to make a minor repair in our room - again, very courteous and professional. The front desk team was very warm and welcoming; Cheryl (manager) was very helpful and went out of her way to make sure everything was handled to our satisfaction. The large groups and crowds on the weekends definitely create some challenges for all (guests and staff). The middle of the week was very nice, quiet and the reason we'll go back. I agree with other reviews that the plantation type shutters are less than completely private. I hope these, the patio rooms and the somewhat dated furniture find their way onto the upgrade list before our next visit. Many thanks to the crew at the Buttes!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a raving review about the staff we have here. We do take pride in having the absolute best staff to service our uniquely beautiful property., We appreciate your loyalty and time, and we look forward to many more visits. Thanks again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed at this property over Memorial weekend with my sisters just for fun. Although this property has been around for quite awhile, I think when Marriott took over they did a great job of updating just enough. While this is by no means a modern or extremely upscale resort, I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms and grounds are well kept. The staff friendly and attentive. A few things in particular impressed me. The fact that there is a very nice pool and a full service spa, but there is no resort fee. So many hotels that are truly not resorts seem to get away with these fees. The breakfast buffet is really a breakfast buffet, not just a few pastries and some cereal and juice (we also received two free breakfast buffets with our room, a big plus). The parking fee is only $10. And at the pool which is actually two pools connected by a little river the non alcoholic beverages were free!! The check in staff was very kind and upon arrival to our room when I found the toilet wasn't flushing properly, a maintenance worker was there promptly and got it working perfectly in less than 5. There are a couple of fun secluded jacuzzi's on the property as well as a water slide. The only problem we encountered was at check out they had charged us $90 for drinks and food by the pool that were not ours. The only thing I can guess is that it was done by the people staying in that room the day before we checked in or someone wrote the wrong room # on the tab. At any rate once the front desk employee could not find any signed proof it was our bill she removed the charges. A little frustrating and that was probably the only unpleasant staff member we encountered on our visit. I am glad we checked out physically or we would have been charged a large bill that wasn't ours. They should be a little more buttoned up when it comes to tracking room charges. Other than that we loved our stay and for the price would return for sure.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor facing the parking lot and although the view was not anything special we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback in regards to your stay. We take pride in having the cleanest hotel with the friendliest staff in the valley. I am sorry there was a billing dispute at check out. We do our best to make sure that the incidentals charged to rooms are accurate and charged correctly. We are thankful you brought this to our attention so that we could fix this out check out. I am sorry if the person that assisted you seamed unpleasant. I am aware of the situation you mention and the agent offered to pull the tickets for you to verify signature, this is just a timely process, so if there are other details that caused your experience to not be pleasant we are open to that feedback. At no time should you feel that any of our associates are not helpful or friendly. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
2.4 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe - ASU Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe
2.1 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#10 of 49 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.7 mi away
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#9 of 49 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Property: Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes
Address: 2000 W Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282-1005 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tempe
#5 Family Hotel in Tempe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive Mountaintop Conference Resort with view of Phoenix & Valley of the Sun located in center of historic Twin Buttes area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buttes, a Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Buttes
Marriott Tempe
Tempe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing