We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
“Outstanding Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My daughter-in law, granddaughter and I stayed here on an extended trip through the area, and we were overwhelmed with the experience. The service was outstanding, the people were extremely friendly and helpful, and the property was lovely in so many unexpected ways. The water features, the decor and the overall ambiance was truely wonderful. We are are coming back to experience this hotel again !!!

Room Tip: The "6,000" room numbers had an incredible ambiance, and nice privacy :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for another 5 star review and rating for us here at The Buttes Marriott. We take pride in having the friendliest staff, cleanest hotel, and best food in the area. We look forward to your future visits to the Tempe area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    424
    159
    64
    47
See reviews for
259
296
53
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I like the rooms at this hotel - big king bed and comfy armchair with an ottoman. When I stay here I like to order early room service breakfast, then go sleep by the pool for another hour before getting ready for work. The staff is great. The cucumber ice water is fantastic. Top of the Rock leaves something to be desired. The parking fee is ridiculous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AwesomeCollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your relaxing experience here at The Buttes. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to helping you relax on future stays. For future when booking please take a look at our room packages, as you will find that we have creatively tried to include and create packages that include any extras to avoid the additional charges like parking. We are more than happy to help personally with your bookings as well. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Rooms need updating. We booked a trip which included airfare (Allegiant), but were disappointed with the room. Closet doors didn't hold well- small bathroom area. No bathtub- just a shower. Shower was actually the best part of the room. Double beds don't allow much room when you're 3 sharing a room. We asked for a hide-a-bed, but were told due to fire regulations, they could not provide one. We asked to upgrade to a king bed, but again we couldn't fit a hide-a-bed in that room. We did like the location- as far as travelling to shopping centres. It seemed like it was a 7-15 minute drive to anywhere.

Room Tip: Rooms didn't have wifii, you had to go to hotel lobby. Check for double beds; no queen beds avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback in regards to your stay here at The Buttes. I am very sorry that you found our hotel to just be "ok." We do our very best to be the best at the services we provide, being clean and fresh, and having wonderful food options for all guests to enjoy. While our hotel is a bit older the upgrades recently done have focused strictly on comfort for our guests. Between the new beds, flat screen TV's, upgrades to fitness equipment, and change in lobby appearance for a more relaxing and rejuvenating experience we are doing everything we can to ensure complete guest satisfaction. Your review is very helpful and again we appreciate your stay and time. Thank you and we look forward to possibly servicing future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have stayed at many hotels in the Tempe area and this one is by far my favorite. Every single staff member that I encountered greeted me with a "hello" and a smile. Pool area is outstanding. Room was nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for the 5 star review for The Buttes. Appreciate your feedback and time. Our team looks forward to future visits. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I recently had a wonderful customer service experience that I wanted to share. My fiancee travels frequently and she had one of those awful experiences where nothing went right so I knew she would arrive upset and stressed. I wanted to do something nice for her so I contacted the hotel and explained the situation. They immediately put me in touch with Jennifer Wolf in Guest Services. I emailed over a note that she printed and put in her room with a box of chocolates and later sent over a bottle of wine. That was truly above and beyond my expectations, and I know that we will stay there every time we return to Tempe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for the 5 star review for The Buttes. Appreciate your feedback and time. Our team looks forward to future visits. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Had a four day business meeting here. The hotel is just a few miles from the airport built around a couple of rock hills making an unusual layout. Staff were extremely attentive and rooms etc good. Two pools and several hot tubs, good restaurants and well equipped fitness room. Like most places in Phoenix you need a car to get anywhere but it is very convenient for the airport and at the same time relaxing. In an ideal world I would stay out of town but if you have to be close to centre then better than most.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are in two wings across the bridge which are a short walk and stairs/lifts but som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete another great review for The Buttes. We appreciate your time and feedback. Our team looks forward to servicing your future stays here at The Buttes. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeoye Falls, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Short drive from the Phoenix airport. Interesting grounds set in the side of the red rocks. Swimming pool at the distance is nice, however upon closer look - both the pool and hot tubs are rather outdated. The view from half of the guest rooms are of a very busy and noisy highway! I felt like I was sleeping beside the highway - the highway traffic noise was sadly noticeable and the view was definitely not at all acceptable. When I asked for a room with a view of the pool and garden area, I was told that there are very few - (4 rooms) that actually have a pool view! This was very disappointing and luckily we were only booked for a one-night stay! The spa services were nice, but massage therapist was far too rough. The next day I felt beat up and sore! Breakfast buffet was very good. And Marriott bed was extremely comfortable!

Room Tip: Request a room NOT with the city view rather a view of the pool or rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbIe1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our lovely resort. We take pride in being a small oasis in the middle of a very busy city. We do have rooms that are hit and miss with a view, however being built into the butte this is to be expected. We do our very best to provide rooms that will meet the needs of each guest. We have both resort side and city side rooms that can either be near the pool or farther away for those guests who would like more privacy and quietness. The uniqueness of the property speaks for itself and I am so sorry that you did not find it relaxing and convenient. We are always open for feedback to help us grow. Should you like please feel free to call the hotel and ask for me personally as I would gladly assist in personally booking a room that I think you would find very accommodating. Again sorry and thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tempe
South Mountain
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MOXY Phoenix Tempe
#12 of 52 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Property: Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes
Address: 2000 W Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282-1005 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tempe
#5 Family Hotel in Tempe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive Mountaintop Conference Resort with view of Phoenix & Valley of the Sun located in center of historic Twin Buttes area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buttes, a Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Buttes
Marriott Tempe
Tempe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing