We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dirty hotel with terrible management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Tempe Near ASU
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“dirty hotel with terrible management”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

we stayed at this hotel on our baseball spring training trip in Mar. 2013. It was the worst experience we have ever had. The hotel is old, outdated and very dirty. The owner is rude and could care-less if his guests are happy or not. They over-booked and tried to put 6 of us in a king bed/sofa sleeper room. Finally a very nice female manager (wish I could remember her name) came to the desk and ended up finding a 2 double bed room for us. My brothers room was very dirty with stains on the wall (which he swore was blood). We will never stay here again! I would highly advise everyone to stay away, then maybe the owner will invest some money to clean up & update the hotel. I really wish I had taken some pictures.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandBsALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    50
    44
    53
    70
See reviews for
76
65
33
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

It’s a nice enough place. The rooms may be in need of a refurbishment, but they’re comfortable and certainly large enough. It’s definitely good value for money. There may not be any nice restaurants or bars within walking distance, but you’ll need a car anyways to get around. The action around Mill Avenue is only a 5min drive away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanDeVos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua Kona, Hi
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Grumpy man at desk when checking in. Rooms were dirty, furniture was falling apart, wallpaper peeling from walls, windows dirty, wi-fi was almost non-existant. Free coffee in lobby tasted at least 1 day old. Only good thing about this place was leaving.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffm4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here because of its central location, but it wasn't great. They charged for the breakfast, which was a typical hotel buffet. The bathtub/shower had black mold. And even though we had a non-smoking room, there were smokers right outside our door sitting on the patio smoking. Smokers need to be elsewhere from the guest rooms. It was nice to have 2 rooms--suite, but overall it wasn't great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doughgirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel was OK, clean enough and staff was friendly overall. But the room keys did not work well! We always had difficulty getting into our rooms even after we requested new key cards. The staff was nice enough to offer various "tips" for getting the keys to work, "pull the door toward you alittle, try putting the key in faster or slower". But none of these tips worked consistently. Several guests appeared to be having the same problem. Breakfast cost $3.50 per day for the same breakfast of plain scrambled eggs, little sausages and the usual array of breads and cereals you'd get with a free breakfast. Orange juice was really Tang. Housekeeping was adequate except that they did not consistenly clean the coffee pots and change the bag for ice. Not sure I'd repeat a stay here, but it was an inexpensive place to stay on the free trolley line. Took about 40 minutes on the trolley to get to Old Town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Where to begin. I travel a lot. This should be removed from Choice Hotels/Choice Privileges.
Wifi is non existent. Housekeeping non existent. Breakfast free everywhere else is an expense here for what is a continental breakfast (ripoff). Go to the Waffle House or Sunny's Diner. The shower curtain is bathing with you literally in the tub with you collecting mold. Nasty !
If you eat there the selection is buffet Indian food GROSS !
Needless to say I will never return here.

Room Tip: Get a room somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

THIS IS A PRE PAY HOTEL!!! This was not listed anywhere when we booked, so buyer beware! If you have any issues, too bad, they already have your money.

Centrally located, older hotel, but clean, carpet was OK, had one section of stain, not a big deal. Small pool and hot tub, fully wheel chair accessible if you need it. Good shower pressure, and a comfortable bed. The lamp shade in the living room was burnt almost 360 degrees around. One of the lamps in the bedroom did not work. and the garbage truck woke us up at 4:30 am 4 out of 5 days. The place was quiet except the garbage truck.

Has laundry facilities, and BBQs for the use of the hotel patrons.

I would have given it a better review except for the 6 dollar per night hidden fee. One fee was a 3 dollar occupancy tax. I would like to know what you think I am doing if not occupying the room and the second was a 3 dollar safe fee. I didn't want or need a safe, so to me this was a nickle and dime deal. For the petty costs they are charging I would have expected a better lamp shade. And does room service not even care enough to maybe say Umm, I should get this replaced? Breakfast was not free like the site said when we booked either.

I said average for room service and the restaurant as I never used them.

Staff was friendly, yes, but this hotel was way over priced. I may have felt better if it was not for the extra 30 bucks I was charged, that I had not accounted for. The manager was less than apolgetic for the extra costs. And it was not like I could have just walked away. Everywhere was booked.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
5.4 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
2.7 mi away
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
#33 of 52 in Tempe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn at ASU-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Tempe Near ASU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Tempe Near ASU

Property: Ramada Tempe Near ASU
Address: 1635 N Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-1565 (Formerly Quality Suites Tempe)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Tempe Near ASU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Ramada Tempe Near ASU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Tempe Hotel Tempe
Quality Inn Tempe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing