We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Stay at a Choice Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Tempe Near ASU
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Boulder
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worst Stay at a Choice Hotels”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Extended Stay but no dishes? Internet never worked the entire time we were there. Front desk not accommodating. Said they were dog friendly but they aren't. Room old and tired. Breakfast was $3.50 and staff member was asleep at a table. Need I say more? We checked out after one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeRatings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    50
    44
    53
    70
See reviews for
76
65
33
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

this hotel is NOT near old town. it is a 45 minute- hour walk into old town. there is a bus stop right by the hotel and it's only 3.50 for a day pass, which you can get from the neighbouring grocery store. bus ride is only a 10 minute ride into old town. go to Los Olivos restaurant on 2nd. BEST FOOD EVER!!!!

hotel breakfast is NOT worth the $3.50. go to dunkin donuts right next door. much better.

wouldn't walk around at night unless my husband was with me. the hotel offers extended stay for people who can not afford rent, so some clientele is questionable.

because we pre paid for the hotel for a week thru orbits, we were NOT on the daily room cleaning for some reason. we had to repeatedly ask for more towels and cups.

neighbouring rooms were quiet. no problem with noise.

bed was comfy and room was clean upon arrival. shower was awesome!! great spray!!!

the pool is nice but you have to get your chair early because it gets busy by 10-11.

we would probably not stay here again, not because of the service or the hotel per se but because it's far from old town where we like to hang out.

will book thru orbitz tho. they were FANTASTIC!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myhusbandiselvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here in October 2012 for about a month and it was nice. Housekeeping was efficient and the rooms were nice. They also had a weekly rate for extended stays which was nice. The BBQ grills were all broken but that isn't a horrible issue. in December, they added Suburban Extended Stay to part of the hotel. I just stayed there again on Jan 25th and was there for 3 weeks. They did not allow me to stay in the Suburban side, because I have cats. I was told that the Suburban side was NOT pet-friendly. I counted 3 rooms where they had dogs on the Suburban side, so when I inquired I was told that guests sneak the dogs in and when they find out they just charge for the animal. Then I asked the manager, Misty, why I was seeing so many dogs in the Suburban side and she replied that "these rooms aren't in our system as Suburban so they get to have the pets" I asked for one of those rooms, only to be told they were sold out.
Housekeeping is DEPLORABLE!! They don't start until after 10AM and over the 3 weeks I stayed there, I received service a total of 8 days without begging for it. I had to call almost everyday and ask if I was going to get service and most of those days I didn't get it and had to chase down my own towels and linens. None of the housekeepers speak English and that makes it hard for them to understand you when you ask them for something.
The room we stayed in had tears in the couch fabric, holes in the floor and the comforter had burns holes in it. The wi-fi disconnects every 3 hours or so. On a positive note, the rooms are spacious, having a LR separate from the bedroom which is nice if you have children. The mattresses are way to soft which is not good when you have back problems.
Whoever bought this hotel in December should be ashamed of themselves for letting the place slip the way it did. Quality hotel that is now anything BUT. Don't waste your money here!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fyrchck302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
320 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

There was a time not that many years ago when this was a very nice place. But the surrounding neighborhood has gone downhill and the motel hasn't been kept up. Much of the infrastructure's still there - the large, well-designed layout and still impressive landscaping with lots of palm trees. Our room had a living room in the front with a sink and TV and a separate bedroom behind it. But the sofa had nasty stains and much of the place was in need of repairs. We didn't feel especially safe here either. There was the gate that was supposed to work with your room key, but the lock didn't work at all. We wondered aloud if our vehicle would be OK. We didn't have any problems, although there were some seedy-looking folks about. The location was handy enough, just a few miles south of Old Town Scottsdale, where we ate dinner. Ironically, we stayed in a Quality Inn in Winslow the night before we stayed here. That was a pretty average hotel, but at least it included breakfast. At this site, we were handed flyers saying breakfast was $5 each and when we went by the breakfast room the next morning, there were signs saying it was closed. We've definitely stayed in worse, but we wouldn't be interested in staying here again unless it underwent some major repairs and updates and seemed a bit more secure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmarkwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Despite some of the other reviews, we found our suite to be extremely clean, and the staff was very helpful. They easily accommodated our 2 hour early arrival, and pointed us to nearby restaurants. The price was extremely cheap, and the location is very close to the downtown Tempe area, which has something to offer everyone. The room was also very large, including a full living room with kitchenette and separate bedroom. Overall, this place was great place to use as you're passing through, especially for the cost.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was on my business trip, and wanted to stay near to my meeting place. The front desk was very friendly and answered all my questions and made me feekl at home. I would recommend to all my friends. Keep it up!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fagun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Nothing great but not as bad as many have made it out to be. You get what you pay for but for a suite it wasn't bad for the price. Stayed during ironman so hotel was full and their wasn't always hot water and toilet didn't work properly. Pool/ hot tub was great.... Overall pretty average.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TaylorHBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
5.4 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
2.7 mi away
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
#33 of 52 in Tempe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn at ASU-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Tempe Near ASU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Tempe Near ASU

Property: Ramada Tempe Near ASU
Address: 1635 N Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-1565 (Formerly Quality Suites Tempe)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Tempe Near ASU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Ramada Tempe Near ASU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Tempe Hotel Tempe
Quality Inn Tempe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing