We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly suprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Chantilly
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“pleasantly suprised”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for the night out before flight and was overall pleased. The outside looks dated and the rooms are a bit on the older side but lobby is very nice, staff were pleasant, and shuttle to the airport was prompt.

Had room service and it was good too.

Convenient to ASU also so will stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    155
    121
    53
    40
See reviews for
95
119
72
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Let me start off this whole review by saying that THE thing that saves this place is the restaurant and the STAFF.
The staff is always wonderful!!!!

I have written about this for a while now. I understand that this hotel is being upgraded. And I have been told, back as late as March of this past year, even promised, that the next time I came, I would be much happier.
One of the managers even had me booked in the club level for my next stay because of my unhappiness with the quality in the past going further and further downhill.

So, I get here to check in, and the club level is STILL under construction. I looked straight at the guy checking me in and said "Look the last time I stayed it was terribly noisy. Please put me where it is not AS noisy."
And he still put me in a room that was awful.
Kids running up and down till 11:30PM.

I want to like this place like I did when i first started coming here.
I have stayed here over and over for business and its not getting better.
I have talked to managers there (who have come and gone).
I have talked to the staff.
I have written reviews on the Sheraton site.
Nothing changes.


I just don't know what to say to the longer

Room Tip: Try to get a quiet room in the middle of the hotel...AWAY from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBBMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I'm really not a complainer, but... This is the worst Sheraton I've ever experienced. First, the positives. The staff were friendly and efficient and the restaurant pretty good. The problem is the condition of the facility. This place needs a complete overhaul. The outside grounds are shoddy. The halls are beyond worn. The room had seriously stained and threadbare carpet, ripped and dirty bed linen, and an air conditioner that was prehistoric (loud, rattling and ineffective). In sum, the place was downright depressing. Next time I'll stay at the nearby Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davarua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skyler M, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback, we appreciate the time you took to provide us this information. It is unfortunate to hear that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. I would like to note that we are currently undergoing a $3.5 million renovation to our guest rooms and floors. We would like to invite you back this fall or winter to experience our new rooms and we will ensure that you receive a proper Sheraton experience. If you have any questions or would like to speak further, please feel free to contact us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I was a bit worried about staying here after reading the reviews on here....... but I was pleasantly surprised!! I stayed here for 2 nights with my family (14 yr & 8 yr) and it was a great stay!!! Check in was easy and quick and the lady who helped me was very nice and helpful! The room was clean, the beds are GREAT!! We went swimming both days at 6:30am and the pool was wonderful! Most balconies are a good size, unfortunately I was in a corner room so ours was a little small!
We look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

After reading some of the negative reviews here & on other sites, I was concerned that our stay would be less than comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The staff we encountered were all very nice & helpful; from the front desk to the dining room.
I was traveling for business with some family along for fun also.
The room was clean yet a bit dated (they are working on a complete upgrade) Beds were comfortable & clean with comfy pillows. Room was a bit small for 2 adults with 2 kids.
The sliding door that lead onto the balcony was hard to move & the balcony was a bit "creepy" - in need of paint & upgrade to outdoor furniture, but in the Phoenix heat no-one really wanted to sit out there in the evening anyway.
The pool was more shallow than I expected & it was warm & cloudy but the kids enjoyed it - so that's all that mattered.
The outside area was quiet & I was expecting a good nights sleep, yet our neighbors were extremely noisy after midnight - suppose I should have called the desk to complain.
All in all, it was a very nice stay

Room Tip: 3rd floor was nice with no noise above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynthia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I had a recent stay there with my son and felt compelled to mention how pleasant it was. The rooms were very clean, food was very good and staff was very friendly. I was especially impressed with a young lady there ( I believe her name was spelled Tiece) that went far and beyond regular expectations. She was extremely helpful with my special needs, which made my stay more comfortable. I believe she deserves special recognition for her pleasant demeanor and willingness to go the extra mile.

Sincerely,

Elayne Caldwell-Johnson

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skyler M, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback, we appreciate our guests providing insight to their stays so we can recognize opportunities and bright spots. We are pleased to hear that you received such superb service from our staff! We have certainly recognized the aforementioned staff member and we appreciate that she left such an impressionable, warm feeling with you! We are currently undergoing a $3.5 million guest room renovation and we would like to invite you back this winter to experience our new product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stay at the Sheraton at least 6 times a year for business and travel to and from Phoenix. Although the property is about average the staff is fantastic and always take good care of me or us if I'm traveling with my wife. Polly in the restaurant always provides attentive service.

Room Tip: Best to stay away from the pool and on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariner53newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport Phoenix
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temp/Phoenix Airport
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Airport - Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe

Property: Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
Address: 1600 S 52nd St, Tempe, AZ 85281-6223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located to Sky Harbor International Airport, Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe is also near desirable attractions, including museums, world class dining, and Arizona State University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tempe
Tempe Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing