We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cockroaches and dirty sheets! Beware!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Scottsdale South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Scottsdale South
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cockroaches and dirty sheets! Beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is disgusting! We literally walked in, saw a cockroach in the bathroom and when I went to pull back the sheets there were d deity lays wrapped up in the sheets which turned them orange. Horrible and very dirty DO NOT stay here!!!!! We immediately got a refund and went elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dairyberrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
6
2
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vandalia, Ohio
Level Contributor
219 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The one positive for this motel 6 is the location. EZ access to interstate, close proximity to casinos, old Scottsdale, restaurants and trolley. Regrettably, the trade-off is an outdated, rundown facility. Customer service is nonexistent. The check-in representative was nasty and lacked any interest in providing service. The housekeeping staff did not service the room until after 6 PM on any day of our stay; and, then never left a full round of towels. Walls are so thin that noise from surrounding rooms is incessant.

Room Tip: you get what you pay for. if you are forced to stay here .. walk next door to Jim's Coney Islan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tempe hotels

El Cerrito, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I've stayed at a few Motel 6s as well as other cheap motels and I usually don't expect much from them but this was by far the worse. The guy at the front desk was cold and unfriendly. There was only ever one person working and every time we went in there was a long line that took 20-30 minutes. After finally getting my room I couldn't open the door. I thought I was given the wrong room number but after about the 10th try it opened. The room was full of infects, both living and smashed into the wall, and then during the night and morning there were cockroaches everywhere. It was disgusting. The labels were completely worn of of the air conditioner so there was not way of knowing what it was set at.

In the morning we were getting ready to leave and after realizing we forgot something tried to get back into our room. The door wouldn't open at all. We went to the office to get it re-magnetized twice but we still couldn't get in. The woman from the front desk had to let us in with the master key. We told her about the bugs and cockroaches and she assured us she would move us to a better room when we get back in the afternoon. Lies!

When we got back there was a different girl at the desk and she told us there was nothing she could do for us and we had to keep the same room. I told her there was no way we were going to stay in the room with cockroaches and she needed to move us. So she called the woman who we spoke with in the morning and she told us she couldn't move until the next day. These people expected us to stay in that disgusting room for another night knowing about the infestation. They knew about the issue since 7 that morning and should have put a room aside for us but failed to do so.

We were supposed to stay Friday, Saturday, and Sunday nights and thankfully they gave us a refund from Saturday and Sunday even though it should have been for all three nights. In order to get the refund the woman sent us to the back of the line after we had already waited for 20 minutes.

I strongly recommend avoiding this motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I chose this location because of previous reviews. However, upon check-in, I was given a "non-smoking" room that smelled musty with a faint cigarette odor. The bedding had cigarette burns. I went back to the front desk and the gentleman kindly changed my room. It was an improvement, but still smelled strange. I left early the next morning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
189 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Always a wonderful place. So many fast foods places to eat, located close to the Scottsdale 5th Ave area with shopping and all sorts of dining and bars. Very safe area. Wonderful grounds for walking the dog or sitting out front.
Want to stay here and say thanks to the Motel 6 system: pick up your dog's waste, turn off the lights and ac/heat when you leave. This is a Motel chain that allows free pet stays and you will have to pay for this at most other places.
Stayed here many times and will do so again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Amber is amazing! Perfect spot for our business, and we love the wood floors!
In a sea of mediocre motels... this one is a shining star.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbsummerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
189 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Met a great employee named Amber who worked with me on an early check in being that I had driven all night and had a little dog with me. To be able to stay at a motel where I do not have to pay $15-$30 extra for a pet, get a room for $30, relax in a small pool, have an ac that works well, shower in a clean bathroom, have a sink located outside the bathroom if I had been with family, and be within walking distance(a block or less) of a great bar and grill and various fast food restaurants has made me a Motel 6 user for over 5 years. I do not need a fancy room, just a clean room. I spend most of my time seeing the area, sights, and various places to shop and eat. THIS Motel 6 is located minutes from Old Scottsdale and all its shops, bars, and dining areas.
Since I travel with a small dog, the front area, about a 1/2 block long, is perfect for relaxing because of the extensive landscaping and lawn area. Having a room in the back makes street traffic all but unheard.
If you are in the area, I do not know what the rates are during high season in the winter, this is one of the best of all the area Motel 6. Sometimes you can find a Motel 6 where things do not work quite right or one that needs a little refreshing in appearance in the rooms. They seem to take good care of things here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelerWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tempe
2.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix / Tempe - ASU Area
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tempe Phoenix Airport
7.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Scottsdale South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Scottsdale South

Property: Motel 6 Scottsdale South
Address: 1612 N Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281-1512
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Scottsdale South 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Scottsdale South is located within 3 miles of ASU campus, Tempe Town Lake and the Phoenix Zoo. Enjoy our outdoor unheated pool, open all year. Wi-Fi is available in all modern guest rooms for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Motel-6, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Motel 6 Scottsdale South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing