We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Affordable and convenience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Tempe
New York City, New York
1 review
“Affordable and convenience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

First time I doubt about this hotel by reading the reviews, but I did not have a choice.
This is the only hotel with my budget range. The room was fine, and clean. It was quite enough, so I could take rest. The front desk person was friendly and helpful to give me detail information about the direction. Overall I am satisfy with this hotel and nothing to complaint.

Rachael

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    9
    11
    13
See reviews for
21
18
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I was flying into Phoenix last minute and wanted to stay somewhere cheap. I had enough points through Choice Hotels to stay here for free. I rolled into the hotel (which is nowhere near the airport by the way) around 10:30pm. I walked into the reception area to a very strong smell of indian food. The staff was fast and efficient and I was in the room in minutes. The room was clean, but small. The AC unit was loud but not enough to keep me from sleeping. I woke up in the middle of the night with my alarm clock not working. Turns out that the power went out in most of the room. I had one light that worked and the tv still worked. Luckily I didn't need to be anywhere in the morning so not having the clock working wasn't that big a deal. The room looked to be in need of some renovations. It was clean, but old.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank todd m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tempe hotels

Holbrook, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

My mom,little sister,and I had booked a room for a night because of how cheap it was.But then we found a place that was cheaper.My mom had called in to cancel our reservation because it was charged to my card.The lady "Rashreed" had refused to cancel.She was asking all kinds of personal questions on why we wanted to cancel.Then my mom had asked to talk to her supervisor and wouldnt let her.And so my mom asked for a number she could call to make a complaint.But the lady wouldnt give it to her.She was extremely rude.So we ended up having to keep our reservations.We were very upset.So then we get to the hotel.....scope it out.There was absolutely no clock in the room,some of the outlets didnt work,there wasnt fresh toilet paper put it.and to top it off my mom was unable to sleep due to a guy above us stomping around and making loud noises.we were in room 118.We will never stay at Rodeway Inn ever again.It was simply a waste of money!

Room Tip: Its a cheap hotel.....so youre gonna get what you pay for.Due yourself a favor and pay 10 more dolla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
199 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Being a Choice Hotels member I was looking for the cheap rate for a couple of nights. For an even bigger discount I booked by first singing into my EBATES account which gave me another 3% off the low government rate of $40.00. So thats the cheap rate down. I had room 111 ground floor external doors only. The room was a good size with two double beds. It was very clean and looked like it had recently updated. I had a new fridge in the room which still had tape holding the shelfs in place from the manufacture. The fridge is always a good plus. Hotel was in a good location for what I wanted but was a treck across PHX but that would happen no matter where you stayed. Down side was fairly loud most of the time. I could hear the light rail which passes right by the hotel. I could hear the staff going room to room to clean. They start really early and feel the need to move some cart up and down and bangs on everything. The breakfast is worthless big sign saying take one item only. Any way it was worth the under $40 i will eventually pay after rebates.

Room Tip: 111 was newly updated and appeared clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roswellcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGF, MO
Level Contributor
238 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed here one night during Spring Training because our other hotel was not available, the Rodeway was cheaper and had better reviews than anything else in the ASU area, and there was access to the light rail system to hit the Mill St district and the Phoenix Municipal stadium for a ballgame.
The property is very basic with your vehicle parked 5 ft from your door like many motels. When we checked in on a Saturday night, there was some type Mexican fiesta with music, dancing and drinking at a nearby property with a vacant lot separating it from the Rodeway. We thought, "Great, this will go on all night" however they were pretty controlled and cut the music off at a reasonable hour so it ended up being kind of interesting while it lasted. I wouldn't call the area around the hotel particularly "sketchy" but we exercised prudence as you would in any large city.
Our double room was pretty small but had a fridge, desk and small bathroom. No problems with either hot water, pressure or drainage. The ventilation system was very adequate if not particularly quiet but typical of motels of that era. There was a pool but we didn't use it. There was some noise trainsmitted from the parking lot and rooms as late travelers checked in or late night revelers returned but there weren't any large disturbances. The walls are pretty thin here.
The room was neat, clean and basic. It was fine for one night but I wouldn't plan an extended stay here unless I was alone on business, wanted to spend as few bucks as possible and still have access via the rail system.
Speaking of bucks, everything seems to appreciate dramatically during Spring Training. I paid $80 for a room that was probably worth $25-40 normally but I guess you have to roll with the punches during events. Had it not had access to the light rail with a station about a quarter mile away, I wouldn't have chosen this motel.
Check-in & out was quick. The Indian couple owning or managing the property must live on-site as the lobby smelled strongly of curry & spices like they had been cooking. They were efficient if not particularly friendly but they kept the place up and we had no complaints with the experience.

Room Tip: Couldn't tell you as all rooms are along one side of the parking lot on two floors. No buffer fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShowMeVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed for two nights at the end of February. Though the hotel is in the middle of Tempe on a main road, there isn't anything nearby. The parking lot was visible from my window. There was a lock out door in the room, and sound went right through the door. Overall, I was satisfied and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sitruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Rodeway Tempe is great value for money. I stayed here while visiting some friends in the area. Room was very clean with a King bed which was quite comfortable. The desk people were very helpful and friendly. I was able to utilize the light rail across from this hotel quite often. It takes just 2 minutes to get to Mill Ave. entertainment district of Tempe. Overall I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
Motel 6 Tempe ASU
#24 of 49 in Tempe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn at ASU-Airport
4.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Tempe - Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn of Tempe
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University
4.8 mi away
Ramada Tempe/At Arizona Mills Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University

Property: Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University
Address: 2101 E Apache Blvd, Tempe, AZ 85281-4823 (Formerly AmeriLodge Tempe)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Near Az State University Hotel Tempe
Tempe Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing