We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Restaurant in Tempe”
Review of Caffe Boa

Caffe Boa
Reserve with OpenTable
Caffe Boa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 766 Restaurants in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 4th
Transit: Metro stop 1 block away, Tempe Town Lake, ASU
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Good Restaurant in Tempe”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The main drag in Tempe is filled with bars and fast food places. We should have gone to Boa both of our nights. We did go on a Sunday night. The restaurant was nearly empty, giving us a very nice, quiet and romantic experience with our table lite only by candles. We both had pasta dishes and truly appreciated getting freshly made pasta rather than the usual, dried and boxed stuff. The price seemed reasonable for the quality of food - and much better than the restaurant on the strip we had eaten at the night before for about the same amount. The service was excellent. This is definitely a classier place than the majority on Mill Rd. in Tempe.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    62
    21
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fewer stars than 2 years ago”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Though I had dined here 2 years ago--and at a branch/sister restaurant in Mesa, AZ that is now closed--I was less impressed this time around. As seven people were dining, we sampled a large part of the menu, drinks, and wine offerings.Though many items are organic, local sourced, and seafood is listed as sustainable, some dishes fell short of what we had experienced in the past. The drinks were interesting, but the wine list was overly expensive, with not many U.S. growers. A "special" Slovenian white wine was $40/bottle, which was about the least expensive on the menu. The calamari fritti was quite good, but why all the way from Rhode Island when the Pacific is so close by. The fish "special" was a seabass on a bed of quinoa and kale for $37. It was definitely past being fresh, and for that price was the most disappointing item. The Agnolotti Boa ravioli tasted very good, but was smothered in a sauce that was overly spiced (not mentioned as such on the menu). The service was good, but I would not return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cafe Boa, a great place for that special occasion or just because it's so good.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

From Cafe Boa's home pastas to their remarkable wines you will not be disappointed. Truly an experience to savor.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertLic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
489 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“For the price, average is all I can give...”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have eaten here on two occasions, and my feeling was the same both times. Quite expensive for what you receive. Boa has a nice atmosphere, decent service, but the food is just "OK". I think this is geared towards the business dinner crowd, which is OK, but perhaps they take advantage of the one-timers with food that is not really that spectacular. I had a dinner salad, which was above average (very fresh greens) and a lamb dish which was so-so. I cannot remember what I had last time, but remember feeling the same way. Luckily I was not paying, but the menu prices were a bit steep for the quality and lack-luster delivery. Service was not bad, but at times we had to wave our arms to get someone over to the table. My take on this place is that you will enjoy the food and atmosphere, but think you overpaid when the bill shows up on the credit card.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“A delightful restaurant”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The food was excellent, presentation lovely, service great and friendly. We had a leisurely lunch. There was no feeling we had to leave as soon as the meal was finished. The whole experience was great. Food was eclectic and enough variety for assorted diets.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N. D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Boa also viewed

Tempe, Central Arizona
 
Tempe, Central Arizona
Tempe, Central Arizona
 

Been to Caffe Boa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing