We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Great Food”

My Big Fat Greek Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 785 Restaurants in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Really good food here! Although the waitress forgot our appetizer, the food came quickly enough that it wasn't a big deal. the food itself was really good. The wood burning pizza was excellent. Worth the visit if you like greek food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bhamjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Owner at My Big Fat Greek Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

bhamjeep,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we truly appreciate your feedback. We once again apologize about the inconvenience of not getting your appetizer. We know how that can negatively affect your experience. That being said, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed the rest of your meal! We hope to see you back again soon!

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 95 of 205 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This was the worst Greek food we have ever had.
The calamari was cold.
The saganaki was cheap and tasteless.
The 'award winning' gyros was processed fake mear that we could not eat.
The whole experience was terrible. The place wad empty but yet filthy. The waitress had no idea about the menu or drinks and was terrible at listening. Didn't even ask if they're was a problem when we left after 30 mins with all the food paid for, but left untouched.
If we could give it zero out of five with no stars we would.

Thank YasG_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Owner at My Big Fat Greek Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your review. That being said, we are very sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience with us. We pride our selves in serving only the best quality food and delivering hospitable service to every single customer. Hearing that you did not receive this is not okay. The description of your food and service you received is absolutely unacceptable to our standards. We take full responsibility and would like to make this right for you. Please check your inbox for our offer on how we can make this up to you.


We hope to hear from you soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This location is in beautiful South Mill Ave, at night it looks a lot like a Downtown Avenue in Buenos Aires, Argentina, with lots of well illuminated stores. The food is first rated, the meat lovers pizza with a Greek touch was super, the lamb gyro with salad the best we ever had with an incredible (and very thick) tzatziki sauce the way is supposed to be, not the liquid version that many places offer. The restaurant is very nicely decorated, there is also outdoor street seating, an indoor garden, a bar, nice music playing and attentive service. I really recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Valijaslistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Once in, I didn't know if it was a Greek restaurant or a college-town sports bar. The supposed charm of, say, the Greek islands is not there. Hard to find with a bunch of tvs. Well, there is Greek music. The service is fine. I ordered lamb souvlaki, which didn't have much flavor (had it back in Greece proper and it was great). Back to Tarpon Springs.....

Thank GarthG51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Owner at My Big Fat Greek Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Garth,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, we take all customer feed back very seriously. That being said we are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. Please message us your email so we can make this up to you, and prove to you we can exceed your expectations!

Look forward to hearing from you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our waitress was great and very attentive. Be aware, we all ordered mojitos and they were huge so if you don't want to drink much ask for smaller. The food was good, and well priced, overall it was a very good experience.

Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Owner at My Big Fat Greek Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Judith,

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us! We would like to see you again soon, please respond to this email to receive your special offer on your next visit! Also, if you are interested in joining our OPA Club we can send you exclusive offers and discounts once a month.

We look forward to hearing from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Big Fat Greek Restaurant also viewed

Tempe, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to My Big Fat Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing